We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in New Zealand !”
Review of Te Puna Wai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Ranked #6 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Absolutely lovely restored home, incredibly comfortable, amazing views, quiet luxury, and to cap it off Richard and James are delightful hosts ! You couldn't ask for more!! But then breakfast is delicious and our hosts had great suggestions for things to see and do in Nelson. Most highly recommended!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed two nights here during our honeymoon. I wish we could have stayed longer.

We had a water view room with a private terrace and garden which would have been lovely to sit out on if it didn't rain so much! The first night we arrived we were greeted by Richard who showed us the room which included a kitchen, laundry, bathroom and studio bedroom with couch and table overlooking the water. He gave us a bottle of sparkling on arrival and the fridge was stocked with beer and cider, all of which was complimentary. Yes, I know it's built into the room price, but it's these kinds of details that make a difference.

The breakfast was lavish and generous: fruit salad, yogurt, bread, cereal and Danishes, followed by bacon and eggs. Tea and coffee and fruit juice of course. My only complaint is that it would be nice to have a full cooked breakfast, but that is a minor quibble.

The hosts Richard and James were welcoming and friendly and are incredibly knowledgable about Nelson. Richard suggested a restaurant for dinner on the first night and made a booking for us. It was excellent.

In summary, we enjoyed our stay very much. If we are ever in Nelson again we'd definitely stay at Te Puna Wai.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Had an absolutely delightful stay in the studio apartment. Spacious and comfortable with amazing view. Richard was such an engaging and gracious host; I didn't get a chance to meet James. Location is close to waterfront restaurants, and easy downhill walk into Nelson center (and short cab ride back). Only question I had for Richard at the time of my departure was how far in advance do I need to reserve for my next stay??

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dg4471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We stayed in the studio apartment. It was the perfect size with a good sized bathroom and kitchen. It was great to have our own facilities ie washing machine, after a few weeks travelling. It was a very homely apartment ie we felt instantly at home and had a lovely patio with a view to the sea. Richard and James were great and very helpful - booking restaurants for us within walking distance. Both restaurants were very good recommendations and we had great meals. It was a very relaxed place to stay. We are only sorry that we had to leave so early for a ferry we missed the lovely breakfast on the second morning.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bellatravelscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Our experience of two nights at the Te Puna Wai Lodge was nothing short of fantastic! The hosts, James and Richard, are inviting, warm, interesting and clearly knowledgeable about their wonderful country. Our room on the ground floor was huge and beautiful, and has a stunning view of the harbor. The minute we walked in the door we were offered a glass of wine and/or drink (how nice was that!) and enjoyed a lovely chat with Richard on the deck adjacent to our room. There's a kitchen, washer/dryer, TV - honestly if we could move in I'd never leave NZ! Breakfast was delicious, with fresh fruits, cooked eggs, healthy cereals, etc. The location is great, walking distance to a few restaurants or easy drive in town. This is what hospitality is all about. Thank you again from Mira & Andy.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.7 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.9 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
714 reviews
1.7 km away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Wakefield Quay House
Wakefield Quay House
#5 of 55 in Nelson
222 reviews
0.2 km away
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
2.5 km away
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Puna Wai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Puna Wai Lodge

Address: 24 Richardson Street | Britannia Heights, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: S$160 - S$378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Puna Wai Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, historic (1857) home - in Nelson's premier location - with a magical view encompassing the harbour entrance and Tasman Bay. In the west 2 mountain ranges contribute to dramatic sunsets. Three elegant rooms: Haulashore Apartment has a designer kitchen (with laundry appliances), veranda & terrace; adjacent Wakatu Room (doesn't get a direct view but often paired with Haulashore); top-floor Fifeshire Suite with unparalleled view. All have luxurious marble-tiled bathrooms. WIFI is complimentary. Relaxed, affable hosts. Four minutes to town or 4 the other way to the city beach (Tahunanui). Richard speaks German, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish. Te Puna Wai's guests are helping keep a special part of NZ early architecture alive & humming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Te Puna Wai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Puna Wai Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing