We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amber Court Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tudor Lodge Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$74/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Paradiso Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Gate Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Prince Albert Backpackers(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$44
US$33
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
321
14
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
321
14
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floornew zealanddownstairs apartmenttasman baythird floorfabulous viewsb bswonderful hostsvictorian housebreakfast was delicioushaulashore islandyogurtfresh flowersfrench doorswithin walking distanceeach morningtwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2017

We based ourselves here for our 35th wedding anniversary and very much enjoyed it. The place is cosy & quiet with great views; the house and gardens are treat on their own.

We very much enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to all.

Many thanks... Clark & Megan

Room Tip: Top room is the best. :)
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ClarkMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Te Puna Wai Lodge in April for 3 nights. It's a gorgeous Victorian house on a hillside that has been carefully restored. We stayed on the third floor and had amazing views!!! The bedroom and adjoining bath were really comfy and nicely done with heated bathroom floors and fresh, fragrant flowers on the nightstand.

Richard was the perfect host! He helped us find restaurants, made reservations for us, helped us decide what to do, provided maps, etc. His breakfasts were delicious with muesli, yogurt, fresh fruit, pastries, bacon eggs to order and a beautiful table set with fresh flowers every morning. Getting to know Richard was definitely a highlight of our trip. What a knowledgeable and delightful man! Don't go through Nelson without a stop at Te Puna Wai Lodge!
(Pictures from left: view from 3rd floor bedroom, entry, view from bedroom)

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

We loved our stay, and felt instantly welcomed by the warm and caring Richard and James. We stayed in the downstairs apartment that was beautifully appointed and had great views back over the bay. The breakfast was tasty and generous and we enjoyed meeting the other interesting guests each morning. Thanks for the great hospitality guys, Alex and Bex.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shot639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

I will begin by saying that Richard was very polite and accommodating, however, this is quite possibly, the worst ‘B&B’ we have ever stayed at. We had no sleep during our stay due to constant traffic noise and renovations. This place is on a major thoroughfare with dangerous on-street parking and surrounded by tradesmen carrying out renovations and council roadworks. It is also on a direct flight path, with planes that fly in constantly towards the house from early in the morning.
After several days of road travel and still adjusting to a different country time zone, we were craving a decent night’s sleep. Upon arrival, we were told that we had been ‘upgraded’ to the downstairs apartment, which we thought we had actually already booked. We were then told that due to the owners having their own private guests arriving, that in return for this supposed ‘upgrade’ we were expected to make our own breakfast after the first day. This was fine by us, however, after the first day we were given leftovers consisting of 2 containers of sticky ‘cereal’, mouldy fruit in a plastic supermarket container, which did nothing but attract ants, some leftover eggs, two day old bread, a tub of supermarket yoghurt, and two pieces of fatty bacon rind, all of which was supposed to last us the remaining three mornings. Add to that, the fact of no privacy – owners had builders there renovating and wanting to paint under the kitchen window while we were there. Note to owners: this is invasive and not what guests are paying for.
In addition, there was a snide remark made by one of the owners, when we were having breakfast outside one morning, suggesting that it was ‘lunch time’. I hardly call 10am lunchtime, and a reminder to that person, that we were still adjusting from a time zone which was, by the way, 2 hours behind NZ time. Totally inappropriate and very rude. Also, whilst we don’t mind dogs, it was extremely annoying having a dog barking outside our room in the hallway at 5am while we were trying to sleep, and nobody bothering to attend to it. There was no blind on the bathroom window –very unnerving, especially with workmen wandering around, and no window coverings on the kitchen, which meant the light streamed in early in the morning.
While the house itself is beautiful, this is very questionably described as a ‘B&B”, and we feel that the owners need to do some research into what the term means to travellers and their consequent expectations.
Needless to say, we cannot recommend this place to other travellers and will not be returning.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank SRMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Te Puna Wai Lodge provided an amazing start to our NZ vacation! The restored home is stunning inside and out. Our room was beautifully appointed and there were lovely gardens and sitting areas outside, along with breathtaking views from the yard! My husband and I arrived in Nelson for the first two nights of our vacation and our time there was a real highlight! Richard and James attend to every detail and are helpful, warm and engaging! When we arrived before check-in, Richard graciously welcomed us to relax and wait on the front porch to enjoy a cold drink and take in the views. During our stay, we had great conversations with Richard and learned so much about NZ and the local area. The location is just a short walk to some wonderful restaurants, too. Our hosts attended to every detail. We were served an unexpected cold beverage as we sat in the yard one afternoon, and James even provided bug spray and sun screen when we headed to Abel Tasman for the day. What really took my breath away each morning was the beautiful table setting and scrumptious breakfast! Richard was a wonderful host who greeted us when we arrived. When we departed, he was the new friend who hugged us farewell. Te Puna Wai Lodge is five star all the way around!

Room Tip: Our lower level room had garden view rather than ocean yet it was still wonderful!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisbou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews