We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amber Court Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tudor Lodge Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$86
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradiso Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Prince Albert Backpackers(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$44
US$33
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Gate Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
US$188
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
221
23
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
23
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic breakfastthe main househummusginger teapeaceful oasiswonderful gardenshared bathroomsmall pondfelt instantlyan excellent hostrelaxing stayhome mademueslisingle bedlocation is ideallovely homeb bs
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Joya Garden and Villa Studios is just magic. A great place to stay when you're looking for something a bit different. I'm not a foodie, but I would have to say that the breakfast was most likely the best I've ever had. Made with such care and attention to detail. The options where all incredibly wholesome and nourishing. A great way to start your day exploring in Nelson.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden studio
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulina-Joya, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Always nice to notice that our - in fact quite simle - breakfast is appreciated that much. So, we'll continue doing our own baking and making sure that what's on the table has quality. Something that is not difficult to achieve in a place like Nelson where there is so much 'organic' going on:)
Hope to host you again, some day. Best wishes, Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

I was in Nelson for work but decided not to stay in a sterile hotel and found Joya online. It was a magical place. I felt instantly relaxed and so well looked after by Paulina. It felt a bit like staying in an Indonesian style villa with tiled floors and low beds. I even put the woodburner on just because I could! Breakfast was lovely and it was a nice 15 minute walk to town for dinner. I'm trying to come up with an excuse to come back and will bring my family next time as I think the children will love it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jessie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulina-Joya, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

You and your family will be more than welcome, Jessie!
Furniture is partially from Indonesia indeed as well as from India. The Trade Aid shop in Nelson is great in that respect, also with regards to quality bedding.
There is underfloor heating, (generally set to 22 degrees day time, 18 degrees during the night). Still had the wood burner installed for cosiness. Glad you enjoyed that.
Warm regards, Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We had a great 3 night stay at Joya. The Garden studio is beautiful with it's own deck overlooking the koi pond. Paulina was so friendly and welcoming, and keeps things spotless. We did not take the breakfast option as we were usually out early, so it was nice having the kitchenette. The property is an easy walk to town. I would definitely recommend this cottage for a multi-night stay in Nelson.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 68CJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Thank you for this recommendation. I am glad that you could make the place 'your own'.Just by its location the garden studio has become a favourite amongst quite a few of our guests who appreciate doing their own thing, in a peaceful, "green" environment.
Hope to ever meet again. Be well, Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

This is the second time I have stayed at Joya, both while on motorcycle rides around NZ. And I will continue staying there every time I'm in Nelson! We stayed in the garden cottage, behind the main house, and loved it. The cottage has everything you could reasonably need and is located in a stunning garden, complete with small waterfalls, koi ponds, drawbridge, etc. But, as with all B&Bs, the host makes the place what it is. And Paulina is great! Not only does she prepare a killer breakfast, but she is really fun to talk to (and tease!). And she has top-notch recommendations for restaurants and activities. We highly recommend the place . . . .

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Glad that you liked it here both times, even though there were quite a few years in between. The cottage is indeed a good place to be with its its deck and the various water features. It is a goldfish pond though. They just have grown that much over various generations that they are often mistaken for koi fish. Thanks for recommending the place.
Until next time! Best, Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We struggled to find somewhere in Nelson and luckily found Joya Garden & Villa Studios.
The breakfast was up there as one of the best I've had at a B&B. Simple food but prepared with love. Home made muesli, tea, fruits, breads, omelette, coffee :)
Very reasonable price for what you get. Comfortable bed, great location and a beautiful character building.
Paulina was an excellent host. We had plenty of space and we really enjoyed her company at breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DoogMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thank you for your appreciation. I am glad you liked the food and Joya's ambiance and furnishings. We had just had a cancellation so I 'm glad you did find us:-). It's interesting and maybe good to note that 'the season' is no longer just January and February bu really stretches much further and even into April. Good for the independent traveller to be aware of. It certainly isn't necessary to always book ahead, but sometimes, and especially in a town like Nelson where you'd best be close to the centre, it may be worth the while to book ahead of time, even if it's still for a few days.
Thanks again for this review and enjoy the remainder of your journey. Best, Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews