We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Joyous Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Ranked #5 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Unfortunately for us, we were only in Nelson for one night, would have loved to stay a lot longer. Not only did Paulina feel like a kindred spirit, she provided us with a fantastic option to staying in a generic motel. We stayed in The Garden Studio which was so comfortable, clean and warm and it was hard to believe we were in Nelson City as it was unbelievably quiet, the only sound being beautiful birdsong in the morning. We recommend this Studio very highly for some relaxing R & R.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalytimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulina-Joya, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you for this welcome review. I am glad you did take the time to do this. The Garden Studio, is indeed quite special. Due to its location in the midst of the gardens. It is indeed quite a quiet, a bit upmarket area yet near enough to the heart of town. There are plenty of parks around as well, and two walkways, for those who like an early tramp up the hills.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope to meet again, because as these things go,
I liked meeting you as well. Kindred spirit indeed! Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2017

Joya Garden and Villa Studios is just magic. A great place to stay when you're looking for something a bit different. I'm not a foodie, but I would have to say that the breakfast was most likely the best I've ever had. Made with such care and attention to detail. The options where all incredibly wholesome and nourishing. A great way to start your day exploring in Nelson.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulina-Joya, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Always nice to notice that our - in fact quite simle - breakfast is appreciated that much. So, we'll continue doing our own baking and making sure that what's on the table has quality. Something that is not difficult to achieve in a place like Nelson where there is so much 'organic' going on:)
Hope to host you again, some day. Best wishes, Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

I was in Nelson for work but decided not to stay in a sterile hotel and found Joya online. It was a magical place. I felt instantly relaxed and so well looked after by Paulina. It felt a bit like staying in an Indonesian style villa with tiled floors and low beds. I even put the woodburner on just because I could! Breakfast was lovely and it was a nice 15 minute walk to town for dinner. I'm trying to come up with an excuse to come back and will bring my family next time as I think the children will love it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jessie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulina-Joya, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

You and your family will be more than welcome, Jessie!
Furniture is partially from Indonesia indeed as well as from India. The Trade Aid shop in Nelson is great in that respect, also with regards to quality bedding.
There is underfloor heating, (generally set to 22 degrees day time, 18 degrees during the night). Still had the wood burner installed for cosiness. Glad you enjoyed that.
Warm regards, Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We had a great 3 night stay at Joya. The Garden studio is beautiful with it's own deck overlooking the koi pond. Paulina was so friendly and welcoming, and keeps things spotless. We did not take the breakfast option as we were usually out early, so it was nice having the kitchenette. The property is an easy walk to town. I would definitely recommend this cottage for a multi-night stay in Nelson.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 68CJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Thank you for this recommendation. I am glad that you could make the place 'your own'.Just by its location the garden studio has become a favourite amongst quite a few of our guests who appreciate doing their own thing, in a peaceful, "green" environment.
Hope to ever meet again. Be well, Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

This is the second time I have stayed at Joya, both while on motorcycle rides around NZ. And I will continue staying there every time I'm in Nelson! We stayed in the garden cottage, behind the main house, and loved it. The cottage has everything you could reasonably need and is located in a stunning garden, complete with small waterfalls, koi ponds, drawbridge, etc. But, as with all B&Bs, the host makes the place what it is. And Paulina is great! Not only does she prepare a killer breakfast, but she is really fun to talk to (and tease!). And she has top-notch recommendations for restaurants and activities. We highly recommend the place . . . .

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulina2009, Owner at Joya Garden & Villa Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Glad that you liked it here both times, even though there were quite a few years in between. The cottage is indeed a good place to be with its its deck and the various water features. It is a goldfish pond though. They just have grown that much over various generations that they are often mistaken for koi fish. Thanks for recommending the place.
Until next time! Best, Paulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.7 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
714 reviews
1.5 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
4 km away
Ambleside Bed & Breakfast
2.5 km away
Wakefield Quay House
Wakefield Quay House
#8 of 55 in Nelson
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joya Garden & Villa Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joya Garden & Villa Studios

Address: 49 Brougham Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: $132 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Joya Garden & Villa Studios 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique property and ideal for the discerning, eco-minded traveller: Situated in a quiet, upmarket area of central Nelson, Joya comprises a ground floor studio apartment in a three story heritage villa and a log studio - with grass roof - set in gardens with various water features. Both studios are self-contained. An optional organic breakfast can be served in the villa or on its main deck,which has a view of the city. Extensive in-and outdoor living from both studios. All water to the property passes through a filtering system for chlorine free drinking and bathing. For those staying in the villa itself breakfast is included in the rates. The Villa Room - with balcony - as well as the Den - are on the top floor. They are good value for money rooms but do not have an ensuite. Joya has had consistent top ratings for several years. Great hospitality, great location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Joya Garden & Villa Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing