We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$162
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hananui Lodge Motel(Russell)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$77
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Russell(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$63
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell Cottages(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore's Lodge(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Clendon(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagles Nest(Russell)
US$725
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$345
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,243)
Filter reviews
1,243 results
Traveller rating
783
330
89
20
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
783
330
89
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslambwaterfront roomseafood chowderold world charmoldest hotelwedding receptionsmall roomnew zealandwine listopen fireoverlooking the baylovely locationwaters edgewatching the sunsetstayed two nightslovely roommarlborough
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 1,243 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

On our journey through the North Island we stayed over in the very picturesque town of Russel.
Looking to eat that night we saw the Duke of Marlborough. Head of house found us the one remaining table for two. Looking at the menu we could see we were in for a treat the picture says it all the most delicious pork dish which I would give 5* all beautifully cooked local ingredients washed down with a glass of local wine. Relaxing atmospheric and wonderful Hospitality go there but book we were very lucky to get a seat an hour in it was completely full

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank K B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Great spot for lunch dinner or just a drink. The oldest licensed Hotel in NZ.
Has a great offering of seafood and drinks in the ideal location right on the waterfront of Russel Harbour. The old capital of NZ this hotel has heaps of charm and a good vibe food is good and wine and beer are cheap. Well worth the visit if you are up in the bay of islands. Go for the oysters and the pippies brilliant.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aexcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Quick little trip across the Bay to Russell...lovely eclectic selection of heritage houses/ Restaurants & craft market in hall (bought a few little things here) with the cherry on top being the amazing Duke of Marlborough Hotel operating legally since 1840...Russell was formally known as”Hell Hole” due to its dubious past...was a great day ...finished off with a delicious lunch at The Duke ...

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Just hearing the story of this hotel made me want to stay in it. In retrospective I would rather go in for a drink than stay in it full time. While there are no ghosts, I do feel like it is a little overpriced and the service was not as friendly as in other places we went to in New Zealand.

Breakfast is normally not includes, while it does look better than the pictures I saw online it is also on the expensive side as you will have to pay extra for drinks.

I would recommend this more for a special occasion than for a normal or even budget traveller.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor with sea view have a balcony (not separated) that is perfect for having a glass of wine while watching the sunset.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocoloco24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Just had a beer and world famous fish and chip at the Duke of Marlborough Hotel in Russell NZ
The Ambience, History and location is amazing
The food and service is very good
A great half day off the Cruise Ship

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alang004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews