We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
EtripUS$283
Trip.comUS$284
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Riu.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,401)
Filter reviews
6,401 results
Traveller rating
3,441
1,784
662
265
249
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,441
1,784
662
265
249
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkey bar fusion restaurant costa rica lobster jacuzzi bath specialty restaurants pool bar zip lining garden view pura vida papagayo restaurant water taxi animal sanctuary nightly shows lunch buffet horseback riding dark sand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 6,401 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2022 via mobile

The highlights of this hotel are the pool area, rooms, entertainment, feeding the capuchin monkeys every morning, cleanliness. The buffet food Restaurant is excellent.

I couldn’t rate it 5 stars because there were a few niggles. There were several days when there were no towels available for the sun beds.

Even though the al a carte restaurants are first come first served, they get full pretty quickly so we weren’t always able to eat in the a la carte restaurant each night.

I Would definitely recommend though as the highlights out weigh the niggles. I would recommend you take your own beach towel though in case the fresh ones aren’t available

Room tip: Take your own beach towel, take a thermo cool tumbler to keep your drinks cold around the pool. Do buy from the beach stalls. Good price
Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank benvalenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 March 2022

The good:
Team - Amazing staff, super helpful. Always available.
Grounds - The views, beach and pools were phenomenal. We enjoyed the water park and all our time outdoors.

The bad:
Rooms - Super strong mildew smell. I aired out the room completely, and the smell didn't go away, it's in the air ducts. All of our clothes smelled of mold when I came home, even after seven washes, the smell is still there. Cleaning staff said all rooms smell the same, so no use changing rooms.
Food - Nearly everything is overcooked - boiled eggs are green, toast is burnt, medium rare meet is well-done. High volume of food, but low quality.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank colleensT8806RE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2022

Dear ColleensT8806RE,

Thank you for your kind words about our staff! It is very much appreciated. We are really pleased to learn that you loved the views, pools and the gorgeous beach, that you had fun.

Nonetheless, it is disappointing to read that you felt the rooms were less than perfect, cleanness is one of our priorities. We also take into account your remarks about the food and we will notify the department in charge.

Warmest Regards,

Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2022

The staff are excellent and service in restaurants and round the pool is 5-star. The public areas are spotlessly clean and our room was cleaned thoroughly every day. The gardens were excellently maintained by a hard working staff. The optics and fridge drinks were replenished everyday .. excellent. We had a good holiday .. but ! .. and this is a major but ! The rooms are very poor. The first room we were given was an insult, and we'd paid extra for it .. dirty, musty smelling, cracked and broken tiles, awful furniture, sink plugs not working. We complained immediately and were given an "upgrade". The only upgraded aspect was the beautiful sea view. The room itself was only marginally better. The sinks couldn't hold water, the shower gel dispenser fell off the wall at first use and the shower floor had worn dangerously slippy. The furniture was sloppily painted in what looked like white emulsion .. dreadful. The whirlpool bath didn't work and had the cracked enamel merely painted over, again very poorly, with a white paint. The pillows were small and lumpy and were of the cheapest quality you can get. The room photos in the brochures and online are extremely flattering. We've been staying at RIU hotels all round the world for over ten years and the rooms here are the worst we've ever experienced. We've stayed in much better rooms in budget hotels. We stayed at the next door RIU Guanacaste three years ago and our advice is that if you wish to visit this beautiful part of Costa Rice, stay there. Wonderful wonderful staff here let down by lack of investment by RIU.

Room tip: Look at the reviews given by ourselves and other guests.
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trek816821
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2022

Dear Guest,

We value your loyalty to our brand and are thankful for your review regarding your experience during your recent visit.

It is good to hear that you had a good holiday, and highlighted our nice staff.

Otherwise, we are disappointed your guestroom did not meet your expectations and apologize for the experience. We are concerned by your feedback as it does not reflect the fantastic experience our guests typically enjoy.

Please know, your review has been escalated to the appropriate team for further review.

Although we could not convince you entirely this time, we hope you will give us another chance and we can see you again in the future.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2022

The first day we arrived the room smelled musty and the tables were dusty. Luckily I brought my own wipes and had to wipe the surfaces down. The rooms are in dire need of upgrading and improvements. We could not leave any kind of drink or food anywhere in the room without a ton of tiny ants appearing within seconds. I think they’re living in the wood from the table and dresser. The mattress and box spring looked dirty and yellow. I felt disgusted sleeping on them. Pillows were lumpy and pillow sheets and covers were rough.

Entertainment by the pool was lacking. The music could have been better. I felt like it was repetitive and the typical American theme music (boring). The servers by the pool were very attentive and working hard throughout the day.

Entertainment at night by the stage was okay. My favorite show was the Latin dancers and the Vegas theme night.

Food at the restaurants were good. Plenty of options especially at the buffet. It would have been nice to have a costa rican themed restaurant. Drinks were good. You do have to get to the restaurants at 6pm to make a reservation, otherwise you may not be able to be seated and they’re only open for 2 hours. The buffet and Italian restaurant stay open a little longer.

You’re able to book excursions with tour agents during the day that are located near the stage area and water excursions with Diego by the pool.

We really enjoyed our walk down the beach to the monkey bar where we were able to hang out, grab a drink and see a lot of white face monkeys. They love grapes, so make sure to bring some with you. There are local vendors by the beach area, but they are not pushy.

The beach itself was nice. If you’re looking for the aqua blue water and white sand, then this beach is not for you.

There is a nice spa and gym. I wish the gym would have stayed open a little longer past 8pm.

Besides the room situation, overall my experience was great. I hope to be returning soon to Costa Rica, but I don’t think I would be returning to this Riu resort again.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Windycitychic773
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed the wide range of food and drinks served in our restaurants.

However, it is disappointing to hear about your less than satisfactory experiences with your room. This is not typical of the experience we offer our guests.

We thank you for alerting us of these shortcomings, and are appreciative of your comments as we will use them as a learning opportunity to improve our guest experience.

It is our hope that you decide to stay with us again sometime soon.

Warm regards,

Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2022 via mobile

The reviews from others were pretty spot on. I almost decided to change hotels before our trip but decided to just stick with the hotel and see for ourselves.
The check was a bit frustrating as we had prepaid and once we checked in the front desk lady needed to see all these documents to prove it was me who paid only because we used virtual payment (Apple card). So beware, if you do, be prepared for that.
The rooms were ehh. I agree with other reviews that the rooms smell musty and the rooms need a little TLC. I can’t say the rooms are outdated, they are more worn out. Our room could used some new mirrors, a fresh layer of paint, the showers needed to be redone, etc.

We did have issues in our room with one sink being clogged, fan was making noise, AC was working the best but we made due with all these issues. We really were just in our room to sleep. We spent most of our time outdoors at the pool.

The grounds were kept up beautifully and the pools were nice and refreshing. Drinks were offered to us poolside all day long which was nice! However, the pool towel situation was a bit frustrating. Once you have your pool towels, you better hang on to them. We left the pool during the day and handed in our towels and we came back to swim in the afternoon and they did not have enough towels for our family so we had to swim without towels. The next morning we go down to the pool and try to get towels, still not towels. Told us to come back in about an hour. We eventually did get some towels but we learned our lesson to not hand them in! The pool also wasn’t overly crowded, not sure if it was the time that we went but we were always able to find lounge chairs!
We also tried the water park. It was fun for about an hour and then we headed back. It is a very small water park with about 8 smaller slides.

As for the food…the buffet was good. Everyone found something they liked. As for the a la carte restaurants, yes, you do need to be there before 6pm if you want to get seated in the first group otherwise you may not eat till 730-8pm.
The first night we got there, we were there at about 8pm and we got right into the Italian restaurant so it is all a hit and miss. We didn’t try the Japanese or the fusion restaurant.

The beach was nice to walk down to. We did not go in as it was pretty chilly and it definitely is not the clear water that we like going into. We still enjoyed strolling down the beach and just enjoying the waves.
There are a lot of people down by the beach selling stuff but once you said no thanks, they did leave you alone.

Overall it was a good experience but if they only ‘updated’ their rooms, this could be a much better hotel!

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Discover24974630121
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2022

Dear Discover24974630121,

Thank you for leaving your feedback about your stay. It is nice to read that overall it was a good experience, however, it saddens us to learn that we could not always meet your expectations.

Nevertheless, we take into consideration your comments about the rooms and will pass them on to the departments in charge. Furthermore, we apologize for the inconvenience the towels incident might have caused you, please be assured that we will share your impressions with the corresponding departments in order to make the appropriate adjustments.

We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you in the future.

Best regards,

Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews