We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Millbrook Resort(Arrowtown)(Great Value!)
US$207
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arrowtown House(Arrowtown)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arrowtown Lodge(Arrowtown)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Arrow Hotel(Arrowtown)
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arrowtown Holiday Park(Arrowtown)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Arrowtown Motel Apartments(Arrowtown)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Settlers Cottage Motel(Arrowtown)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel(Arrowtown)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Purple House(Arrowtown)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
23
6
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
6
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Great location! Amazing treks just a few minutes away. Friendly staff! Clean & affordable!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Couldn't believe this place when we checked in. We stayed in one of the en-suite rooms in the cottage, so not really "backpackers" accommodation or anything like it. The room was spotless, the bathroom recently remodelled and the room had its own mini-kitchen including microwave & fridge. All for $99 just 1 block away from the centre of Arrowtown.
I'm sure the website doesn't do justice to what they are offering here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmr1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Backpacking around the south island, i would put this one up there as one of the top 3 that I stayed in(so far!). This is one of the smaller type hostels which for me, as a mature solo traveller, i much preferred to the bigger hostels. The smaller ones always achieved the ability to make you feel like you were staying at someone's house. Very clean, large lounge room, lovely views of the little park next door, the highlight of this particular hostel (aside from every other thing that made it fantastic) was the location to town, a 5 minute stroll and you are in the thick of it. This is the sort of hostel i would recommend to people who have never stayed in a hostel before - i believe they are calling them these days 'flashpackers'. I stayed in a 4 room dorm.
11 out of 10 for this one.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed in Arrowtown for two nights. We had the self contained flat with bedroom, lounge/kitchen and bathroom. Very pleased with the accommodation. All you needed for self catering and a lovely quiet spot on the edge of historic Arrowtown. Would thoroughly recommend this location.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

This is now the only hostel in Arrowtown with the closure of Riverdown - but Adin and Jackie are keeping the standards high! The hostel is converted and enlarged from a house and is in an amazing position a minutes walk from the historic central street of Arrowtown, yet really quiet and peaceful. There's a rose garden and it is right next door to public open space. There's parking for about six cars.

We stayed in a standard double and I do recommend the upstairs room as you don't get elephantine footsteps. Showers and toilets are modern and clean with great shower pressure, and the kitchen is also good, nothing flash but all you need. The lounge is really comfortable and although there is a tv it isn't intrusive. There is wifi and a computer for use.

Adin is a great host and also runs tours of the area, and Jackie is really nice too.

I have been warned off even the better-rated Queenstown hostels due to the late night rowdiness (there's a five nights a week pub crawl) but Arrowtown was perfectly peaceful as it doesn't attract the party types. Book ahead.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fr0mtheb0rders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews