We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going to be hard pressed to find a backpacking hostel better than this one”
Review of Poplar Lodge

Poplar Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arrowtown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poplar Lodge
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Backpacking around the south island, i would put this one up there as one of the top 3 that I stayed in(so far!). This is one of the smaller type hostels which for me, as a mature solo traveller, i much preferred to the bigger hostels. The smaller ones always achieved the ability to make you feel like you were staying at someone's house. Very clean, large lounge room, lovely views of the little park next door, the highlight of this particular hostel (aside from every other thing that made it fantastic) was the location to town, a 5 minute stroll and you are in the thick of it. This is the sort of hostel i would recommend to people who have never stayed in a hostel before - i believe they are calling them these days 'flashpackers'. I stayed in a 4 room dorm.
11 out of 10 for this one.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed in Arrowtown for two nights. We had the self contained flat with bedroom, lounge/kitchen and bathroom. Very pleased with the accommodation. All you needed for self catering and a lovely quiet spot on the edge of historic Arrowtown. Would thoroughly recommend this location.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

This is now the only hostel in Arrowtown with the closure of Riverdown - but Adin and Jackie are keeping the standards high! The hostel is converted and enlarged from a house and is in an amazing position a minutes walk from the historic central street of Arrowtown, yet really quiet and peaceful. There's a rose garden and it is right next door to public open space. There's parking for about six cars.

We stayed in a standard double and I do recommend the upstairs room as you don't get elephantine footsteps. Showers and toilets are modern and clean with great shower pressure, and the kitchen is also good, nothing flash but all you need. The lounge is really comfortable and although there is a tv it isn't intrusive. There is wifi and a computer for use.

Adin is a great host and also runs tours of the area, and Jackie is really nice too.

I have been warned off even the better-rated Queenstown hostels due to the late night rowdiness (there's a five nights a week pub crawl) but Arrowtown was perfectly peaceful as it doesn't attract the party types. Book ahead.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fr0mtheb0rders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Poplar Lodge in Arrowtown was really a romantic place, with roses everywhere in the garden. We had an ensuite unit (of which they have two) which was outside of the main house, so although it was a backpacker hostel with dorms as well, we still had total privacy and our own mini terrace in front of our unit.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We ended up in this hostel as all of the ones in Wanaka were full up, and after arriving we were really pleased that was the case.
This is a fantastic hostel, to almost bed and breakfast standard, with lovely rooms and a fanastic atmosphere. I would recommend this to anyone, it was enjoyable to stay in Arrowtown after the crowds had left.
The hostel was comfortable and cosy, with great outdoor space and a clean kitchen and very helpful staff that dealt with any queries that were put to them.
Fantastic hostel

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chokbik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arrowtown hotels
1.4 km away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
1,057 reviews
0.9 km away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
0.7 km away
Arrowtown Holiday Park
Arrowtown Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Arrowtown
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
0.1 km away
Shades of Arrowtown
Shades of Arrowtown
#3 of 12 in Arrowtown
166 reviews
0.9 km away
The Arrow Private Hotel
The Arrow Private Hotel
#2 of 12 in Arrowtown
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplar Lodge

Address: 4 Merioneth Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Arrowtown
Price Range: $39 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poplar Lodge is now a holiday home, offering clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in historic Arrowtown. With 7 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms there is space for everyone! Central heating,electric blankets, large garden, BBQ. A minute walk from the town, the river and tracks to the hills. Poplar Lodge is the ideal base for summer or winter activities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing