We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Millbrook Resort(Arrowtown)(Great Value!)
US$206
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arrowtown House(Arrowtown)
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Arrow Hotel(Arrowtown)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arrowtown Lodge(Arrowtown)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Settlers Cottage Motel(Arrowtown)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arrowtown Holiday Park(Arrowtown)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel(Arrowtown)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arrowtown Motel Apartments(Arrowtown)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Purple House(Arrowtown)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$115
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
23
6
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
6
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed in Arrowtown for two nights. We had the self contained flat with bedroom, lounge/kitchen and bathroom. Very pleased with the accommodation. All you needed for self catering and a lovely quiet spot on the edge of historic Arrowtown. Would thoroughly recommend this location.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

This is now the only hostel in Arrowtown with the closure of Riverdown - but Adin and Jackie are keeping the standards high! The hostel is converted and enlarged from a house and is in an amazing position a minutes walk from the historic central street of Arrowtown, yet really quiet and peaceful. There's a rose garden and it is right next door to public open space. There's parking for about six cars.

We stayed in a standard double and I do recommend the upstairs room as you don't get elephantine footsteps. Showers and toilets are modern and clean with great shower pressure, and the kitchen is also good, nothing flash but all you need. The lounge is really comfortable and although there is a tv it isn't intrusive. There is wifi and a computer for use.

Adin is a great host and also runs tours of the area, and Jackie is really nice too.

I have been warned off even the better-rated Queenstown hostels due to the late night rowdiness (there's a five nights a week pub crawl) but Arrowtown was perfectly peaceful as it doesn't attract the party types. Book ahead.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fr0mtheb0rders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Poplar Lodge in Arrowtown was really a romantic place, with roses everywhere in the garden. We had an ensuite unit (of which they have two) which was outside of the main house, so although it was a backpacker hostel with dorms as well, we still had total privacy and our own mini terrace in front of our unit.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We ended up in this hostel as all of the ones in Wanaka were full up, and after arriving we were really pleased that was the case.
This is a fantastic hostel, to almost bed and breakfast standard, with lovely rooms and a fanastic atmosphere. I would recommend this to anyone, it was enjoyable to stay in Arrowtown after the crowds had left.
The hostel was comfortable and cosy, with great outdoor space and a clean kitchen and very helpful staff that dealt with any queries that were put to them.
Fantastic hostel

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chokbik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Poplar lodge is probably the cleanest place i stayed at while in NZ. Its conveniently close to everything (well, its arrowtown,so everything is close to everything..). Was able to sit in the backyard and listen to the Jazz festival concerts in town..
Adin is a great host - go on one of his Adventure Tours!
No complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadiaH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews