We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Glory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Element on Coolum Beach
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The parking at Element was generous and well thought out. The rooms were also generous in size, with quality fixtures and fittings.The location was spot on as well. I have no doubt that when the resort was first constructed it was five star. Unfortunately I would not consider this to be the case at the moment. My reasons are as follows

We booked a 3 bedroom suite. In the main bedroom there was a king size bed. However in the other two rooms there were only twin singles and a double respectively. Unfortunately, when one is 6 foot tall or over, when you sleep in such beds and stretch out your feet will almost hang over the bottom of the bed.
I would have thought at least a queen size bed in place of the double, and at least twin long singles in place of the doubles would have been more appropriate for a five star establishment. The mattresses were only cheap and not very comfortable either.

The window coverings in the bedrooms had large mildew spots on them.

In the room with the double bed (which I slept on, on an angle on account of how short it was) and my wife therefore had to sleep on the lounge suite in the living room.

I had to roll my bed away from the bed head an re position it it against another wall. This was because the drapes did not exclude entirely the bright courtyard lighting, as in the bed's original position bright shafts of light played over my face and I could not sleep.

The shower leaked between the gap in the door at the hinge and the fixed glass screen. This necessitated water having to be mopped up after each shower, and as we were allocated only one towel each, I had to go to reception for extra towels.

And in relation to reception, I find that a closing time of 5pm on weekdays and hours of 9-11am on weekends are most definitely not in keeping with what a five star resort should be offering. I would point out we made do OK without the need for contacting reception outside of those hours, however if you want to call yourself five star you should at least attempt to conform to the basic services such resorts offer.

I considered the toiletries offered were very basic, and although adequate, again they were not of the quality one would consider to be five star.

One thing that really irked me was the message affixed in the kitchen area which warned us that if we did not take our rubbish with us and dispose of it we may be charged by Element for said disposal. Again it was not a major imposition for us to empty the handy tidy in the kitchen and bathrooms, however I thought the idea of having a break from home was not to conduct menial chores such as taking out the rubbish, particularly on the pain of a potential penalty. I have never been asked to to such a thing at any holiday accommodation of any star rating previous to this.

In my view all element really has to do i to lift their game is to refurbish their rooms, and offer a slightly higher level of service. Our stay there was OK, but it would have been so much better if Element had lived up to their hype.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Element on C, Reception at Element on Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Peter H,
Thank you for taking the time to review us following your recent 2 night stay at Element on Coolum Beach.
We welcome all feedback however, we feel it is important to point out, that we do not advertise ourselves as a 5 star resort. To rate us poorly based on your assumption that we are a 5 star resort, seems as unfair as rating a cocktail bar poorly for not being a restaurant, but we note that this was also on one of your TripAdvisor reviews.
Lastly, if anybody is able to find a 5 star property on the coast which charges the nightly rate that we charge for a 2 night stay, please let us know, as we would love to stay there too.
Kind regards,
Lizzy | Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017

I thought the room was excellent. Very clean and had everything included that we didn't even realise we needed !
Great space and excellent layout.
Absolutely loved it! Nice and close to all that Coolum offers and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jheffernan2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Element on C, Reception at Element on Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear jheffernan2017,
Thank you for taking the time to review us at Element on Coolum Beach.
We really appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Lizzy | Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights, just loved it. Great location. Easy walk to beach, shops and restaurants. Brilliant shower!! Security features in and around the unit complex made you feel very safe. We will visit again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank millie632016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Element on C, Reception at Element on Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Hi Millie632016,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here.

I must assume that you stayed in our 1-bedroom superior poolside apartment, as it has an amazing double feature shower.

This apartment is incredibly popular with couples, especially those here for a wedding or other special occasion.

We hope to welcome you back to Element on Coolum Beach again very soon.

Please call us on 07 5455 1777 for our best rates and to discuss available apartments for your dates.

Kind regards,

Lizzy | Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile


We booked out a 3 bedroom penthouse overlooking the ocean on the 4th floor for a Friday and Saturday night.  We were attending a wedding nearby and chose to share the room with 2 other couples. We were very happy with the room quality, size of the penthouse and location overall for the price. We got in early so got a good price for the room which also included parking. The penthouse had a full kitchen, laundry, lounge with large TV, dinning and balcony as well as two ensuites and one separate bathroom. It would be a great family or  a boys/girls weekend away room. As it was winter we did not use the pool but it looked very inviting. The hotel is very secure with the grounds, parking and entrance to stairwells (up to rooms) only accessible through a swipe key.

The hotel is situated in the prefect location for families, groups or couples to spend time in Coolum or the surrounding areas. Central to Coolum the hotel is surrounded by a multitude of small stores, larger shops (such as Coles and Dan Murphies), boutiques and places to eat. Everything is a short walking distance away, including the beach which is just across the road. With no extra charge to come and go from the car parking area I would really see this as a great spot to explore the Sunshine Coast in general.

The room itself was fitted with modern styled amenities with a comfortable bed, good block out blinds, large bathrooms, extras such as an iron, clothes rack and everything you need. They also had plastic plates for the pool area. The hotel does not supply soaps ect so bring your own. The only complaint I would have is that the bath was a bit small and the shower head a bit small also. Otherwise the water pressure and everything you need for a great weekend away.

Request an ocean view room if you can as the views are great.
If your coming up from Brisbane Friday and fighting the traffic organise out of hours key pick up

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mcaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Element on C, Reception at Element on Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Hi mcaus,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us at Element on Coolum Beach, and what a lovely review it is.

The wedding group you were part of took up a large proportion of our apartments that weekend and you were all great guests.

In fact you were all so quiet that one of our long- stay guests didn't believe me when I told him we were full all weekend!

We are so happy that you had a great time and made use of our location within Coolum.

We hope that you will come and stay with us again.

Please call reception on 07 5455 1777 for our best rates and to discuss available apartments for your dates.

Kind regards,
Lizzy | Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

We have been coming to Element on Coolum Beach now for 9 years and find everything that we require close by with the apartments being cosy and comfortable.
Also, close to all shops , beach, clubs and restuarants

Room Tip: Access lift from car park and rooms directly at lift access - 2 rooms per floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Irene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Element on C, Reception at Element on Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Hi Irene,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us at Element on Coolum Beach.
As one of our most frequent guests you will know how ideal our location is, and we are happy to be able to accommodate you in one of your favourite apartments on each visit.
As you know, all of our apartments are privately owned, so the furnishings and decor vary between apartments, meaning we can cater for all tastes.
We look forward to your next visit,
Kind regards,
Lizzy | Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolum Beach
1.5 km away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#2 of 4 in Coolum Beach
296 reviews
0.4 km away
Coolum at the Beach
Coolum at the Beach
#3 of 4 in Coolum Beach
167 reviews
0.4 km away
Coolum Beach Resort
Coolum Beach Resort
#4 of 4 in Coolum Beach
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31 km away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
16.9 km away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
14 km away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Element on Coolum Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element on Coolum Beach

Address: 1808 David Low Way, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Price Range: $173 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Element on Coolum Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element on Coolum Beach is the ultimate in Luxurious Accommodation. The Resort features 49 spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments including 5 Sub Penthouses. All of the apartments have at least one balcony. Fully Self Contained Full Laundry Facilities Air Conditioned Wi Fi Foxtel channels BBQ Facilities Day Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Element on Coolum Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element On Coolum Beach Hotel Coolum Beach
Element Coolum Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing