We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort located on a stunning secluded beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We traveled with a group of 43 people for my wedding vacation and had nothing but positive feedback from the group. In my opinion the lengthy 1.5hrs bus ride from the airport was well worth the scenic secluded beach....just remember your gravol if you experience motion sickness.

El Portillo is a great choice for families with it's pleasant atmosphere. Most of the guests were Canadian, European and South American. The rooms were good, not the most modern but were very clean and well taken care of. The resort isn't too large, less than a 5 minute walk everywhere.

The staff were all amazing! Everyone was so friendly and catered to our needs well. Georgina, the wedding coordinator did a fantastic job and made our special day a success.

The restaurants were great and food was delicious. The buffet had a good variety. We had our private wedding dinner in the Seafood restaurant, perfect location and amazing food.

Our wedding was the only one during the entire week which made it seem a bit more special. The only thing I would recommend if you're picking this resort for a destination wedding to request the resort to invest in a steamer or bring one along for the brides dress. We had to iron mine, luckily I didn't have a delicate detailed dress. Also if you intend to use their spa to do your hair, request that the hairdresser is working the day of the wedding.

The beach was stunning and you could walk for miles. Only a few selected vendors were approved to enter the beach area so they weren't much of a bother. The coral was beautiful with so many brightly colored varieties of tropical fish. Don't forget to bring your snorkels. It was quite windy on the beach but there were never high waves due to the natural barrier.

Overall an awesome trip. I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank VanRaqS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Guest,

It is a real pleasure to us to get your comment. You can be sure that there is no biggest reward for us than to get a message like yours knowing you are really blissful with the product of our effort to do everything to make your wedding dream reality. We are glad that you have enjoyed your visit with us. We are delighted to share your comments with the rest of our staff.

Please do not hesitate on contacting us in our e-mail address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regard,


Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,283 - 2,287 of 6,148 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

After walking onto the bus out guide informed us that there was two road we could chose from. The regular road would take 90 minutes and a toll road would take roughly half. We started of the trip by collecting 35$ total from all the bus passengers to take the toll road. In my opinion it should be part of the package, it just seems a little disorganized to have all the passengers on the bus scurry for 35$.

We were told the hotel was running at 40% capacity but the staff was still plenty.

The location is truly amazing. One of the best beaches I've been to, very clean. Lots of corral reef. Only downside is vendors. You get interrupted pretty often. Perhaps 15-20 times a day. After saying no twice they leave.

Room was good, had room 14205, (building 14), fairly close to the beach, on second floor of the building with a nice raised ceiling.

Food was great, went to the French, Italian and Fish restaurants. Enjoyed the French one the most. The service is great very professional.

There was timeshare sales people in the lobby trying to send you for a free day at another hotel or for some timeshare. I found these guys harassing, aggressive salesmen. Also on some evenings they invite the beach vendors to set up in the hotel. Obviously just before the restaurants so that you have no choice but to pass by them. On a few nights we had to brush off both the timeshare people and the vendors just to get to the buffet.

All and all it was a pretty good trip, I ended up reading a lot on the beach and enjoyed the sun. The only major complaint is the vendors. I really just came down to relax not to fight off clever sales people.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Vidad_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a good review of your recent stay at Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo in our Tripadvisor web page and share with our fans your experience with us, we are totally agree with you, we are blessed with one of the most beautiful beach. We would love to welcome you back soon in the near future whenever you are planning to come back to visit us.

Please do not hesitate on contacting us in our e-mail address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We returned for the third time this past January. Met some fabulous new friends and enjoyed it even more then last time. LOTS of the staff remebered us and the service was top notch. The wait staff really don't mind if you tip or not. All the care about is making your time there memorable.

What made it especially great this time is that we came with 40 lbs of school supplies for Rosa Anderson School in El Limon and 40 lbs of medical supplies for the small hospital in El Limon. MUCH needed on both counts.

We are retuning next April for the 4th time :)

Not much more to say that wasn't already said in my other review.

Great for familys and couples.
On a side note:
I saw the pictures of the rouhg looking room in the travelers personal pictures. Not sure where this room was but we have stayed in villas #2, #7,#8. All superb and VERY CLEAN.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JoeFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Spent 3wks in April at El Portillo and we had the best time.Because of the smallness of the resort it was easy to meet people and form a fondness with the great staff.We were quite involved with the beach games and everything that they offered.Samana is most beautiful the the Country side took my breath away.The resort was good for us and we've been to other Bahia's.It was the beauty of the area,the beach was great for swimming,snorkeling,walking and just r&r.The staff works very hard to please everyone and it was a pleasure to TIP.The resort itself could use a few changes like the smell around the towel shack and the garbage fumes around the stage area.The a-la carts could use major changes starting with the menu's.The Gourmet was our favorite(chicken saved me for 3wks).The room was guite small but fine.We had a daily issues with towels but no big thing....they got it spot on the last 2days;-)The staff from the VIP office were very helpful regardless of the question.Thanks Keri&Georgie.The dining staff were wonderful including the omelet cook,pasta cook,the greeters gardeners and the fun entertaimment staff.We went into Las Terrenas and shopped a bit and enjoyed he bustling town. We also stopped at "one love" on my birthday and met Rachel and Terry.They are a great couple with great information on the area.Carlos the reception Manager at El Portillio was a very good person to deal with incase of any issues.He was most polite and professional.I am a picky eater but always found something good to eat.We did the falls on horse which was great fun and gorgeous views.Took a ride in the beautiful Country side and stopped at an organic farm and went to Playa Ricon beach.We hired our own driver and had the best time in a small group.I could go on about many things but I'll stop.Will we go back to this resort(yes)and mostly because it si such a beautiful area with great Dominican people including all the beach vendors and the sales people in the enrtry(they have a job to do).It will be hard to go to a different part of the Dominican after seeing Samana....fingers crossed I can try and convince my husband this is the place to be for New Years;-)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank LandryHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The best: attentive staff, bathroom area in the room.
The good: spacious and clean rooms.
The bad: cheap furniture and decoration, hard beds and pillows, noisy a/c unit, small TV set, "generic" alcohol drinks (your best option will be cold beer).

Went there for a long weekend with the whole family. A lot of "locals" which crowded the parking area (we were forced to park in a far-away area) and the pool area. Nevertheless the staff tried their best to please us. Our room was in the farthest building (No.11) and in the third floor (no elevators). A 10 minute walk to the main building were all the restaurants and the beach are. There was a small pool (relax pool they call it) close to our building. It is a good option for the guests from "far-away lands".

They offer shuttles from and to your building. You have to call in advance for them to pick you up. There are no regular circuits.

The rooms are quite spacious. What I liked most was the bathroom area: very large with tub + shower. Thus I would have liked more lighting in the sink area. The worst part was the furniture. Quite "cheap". Small drawers and with bad rolling systems. The beds mattress, pillows and sofa are quite hard. Plastic and simple furniture in the terrace. The a/c unit made a loud noise all night long

The pool area is OK. They have a special pool for small children. The beach in front of the hotel is OK, but there are so many good spots in the Samana area, that this is not the best option (like a 2 out of 5). There is one of the best spots in the area just half a mile (walking distance) to the West of the hotel. Be sure to walk there, it is worth the walk.

The food was OK and varied. They offer a buffet-like restaurant and 3 other a-la-carte restaurants that opened for dinner only. Did not try them. Watch out for the alcohol drinks. They are made with very bad "generic" options. The taste is horrible and will provide you with a very bad headeache. Be sure to ask for beer. That would be your best bet. They also offer a small variety of wine bottles for dinner (not included in the all-inclusive package).

The hotel is good, but definitively not as good for them to claim a 5-stars rating for it. I would say more likely to be a 3-4 star.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a low floor in a low numbered building (1 being closest to the main building, poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RickyFeris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
9.4 km away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
462 reviews
5.3 km away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
566 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
148 reviews
28.8 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
21.7 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#6 of 54 in Samana Province
4,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Address: Crta. las Terrenas - El Limon, km 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $179 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 582 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Junior Suite and Family Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing