We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing 2 weeks in this glorious setting!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Las Terrenas, Samana Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Russian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Zoxil
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing 2 weeks in this glorious setting!”
Reviewed 10 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the duplex at Ribera Mar, last week of December, first week of January ('18). The place is as gorgeous as it appears. Comfortable, spacious, clean. LR, Kitchen, Dining area on upper floor along with MBR Ste and an additional half bath.... and great terrace with pool and hot tub and beach views. Downstairs two bedrooms each with their own bathrooms with showers (no tub in the unit), and access to the gym, which is shared with other units. A/C units in each of the bedrooms, which did help at night with the humidity. Our sons (and their various visitors) loved the privacy and independence. Beach access is indeed less then 5 minutes through beautiful landscaped resort (and you have access to the larger resort pool though we preferred the beach).

Perhaps best feature here is the Concierge, Stephanie. Like everyone else who has worked with her, we too can only sing her praises! She is perpetually available to deal with things, arranging everything from fishing trips, dinners, ATV rentals, you name it. We also loved Las Terrenas in general.

Our boys (now 16 and 21) loved having access to ATV's... not sure the driving age but they were fine driving through town, getting themselves to clubs and back... Beach felt safe and I was less worried about stuff getting stolen there than in Miami! Yes, you pay a guy 100 pesos (about $2) for a beach chair for the day but that also meant someone was keeping an eye on things.

My only caveats would be that because you spend most of your time outdoors, or with all the doors open, you are subject to the sounds of your neighbors, which can mean screaming children or loud music from the bar at the beach, or from your neighbor upstairs. Not terrible but you should be aware.

There are two "western style" grocery stores in town. They may lack the local flavor of the bodegas but you aren't gouged on prices as you can be at the bodegas. Supermercado Pola seems to attract more locals and is worth a visit, also excellent fish counter... but we found ourselves drawn to Supermercado Lindo, which is built for the Euro-expat crowd. Lindo has excellent french baked goods, various french cheeses and decent wine selection, etc. Frankly wish they would open a branch in Indiana!!!

Restaurants we preferred were Thalassa, El Lugar, and when all the rich seafood was getting overwhelming we really loved the thin crust pizza right up the beach at Pizza Beach Diego.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwin M
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 21 December 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had the most amazing stay at this location! truly indescribable place, breathtaking views, and the staff was super friendly. I can't wait to come back.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy R
Paterson, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Amazing is an understatement, I couldn't thank Stephanie enough for her exceptional service, she always made sure we were comfortable and anything we needed she would go above and beyond to get it for us. We were a group of 5 and unfortunately we had someone that fell off a four wheeler and needed medical assistant everyone was extremely helpful, Stephanie even took us to the clinic, she was very attentive making sure he had a great recovery. The villa was beautiful and clean, the workers were also very helpful Tony and Franco. The area was also beautiful and safe, we also loved our driver Guirito he was beyond helpful he didn't mind taking us out in the town, and showing us around. I recommend this villa 100% I will be returning !!!! Thank you again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for your positive review.
We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards
Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillFlo
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations!”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I had the pleasure of staying here with 6 of my girlfriends for 6 nights. Each of us had a great time!

The unit itself is spacious and fit all of us comfortably. The decor is tasteful and luxurious and each AC'd bedroom had comfortable beds and pillows. There's actually 3 full bathrooms and another 2 1/2 baths! The outdoor space is so awesome! It opens to the kitchen, and has a jacuzzi, pool, recliner, and a view of the ocean. We spent most of our time out there. Also, the location was perfect. Literally a 3 minute walk to the beach that has many restaurants near by. And a 2 minute walk to the pool. The town was a 10 minuteish taxi ride away.

Lastly, it was Stephanie, Michael, Franco, Danny, and Santa that made our stay truly memorable. Stephanie and Michael are very attentive, knowledgable, kind, and so easy to work with! Franco was sweet and available for all of our requests - from more bottled water to more Presidente! And Danny and Santa cooked us 4 of the best and freshest meals ever! Ceviche, lobster, chicken, salads, desserts! And even let us order off menu :)

I would highly recommend this place for your stay! Thank you Ribera Mar for the amazing vacation and I hope to be back soon!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melsa C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an AWESOME place!!! Prepare to be AMAZED!!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Everything was absolutely wonderful!!! From the time we arrived until the time we (tearfully) departed, WE WERE BLOWN AWAY!!!

THE PROPERTY – The Duplex was absolutely beautiful. It has an open and airy floor plan which was great for both relaxing and entertaining. The bedrooms are all spacious and beautifully furnished; each with a private bathroom. The kitchen had updated appliances and came stocked with delicious fruit. The kitchen window opens to the private pool and Jacuzzi. There is plenty of seating room in the living room and dining room. The living room has floor-to-ceiling windows that give access to the patio. We watched the sun rise and set from our large private balcony/patio which also has plenty of seating and another dining area. We also had access to a private gym. I could go on and on…. Simply magnificent.

LOCATION/AMENITIES - It is in a secured location just steps away from the beautiful beach. The grounds are beautifully manicured. It is also a short walk from many food/drink stands along the beach and a short ride to a strip of restaurants and nightlife spots. We had around the clock access to our concierge, free Wi-Fi, and daily housekeeping service.

STAFF/SERVICE – All of the staff provided top-notch customer service and made the booking and planning process super easy.
***Booking Agent - Before arriving to Villa Ribera Mar, I communicated with Emma who was a pleasure to work with. She responded quickly and ensured that everything was smooth upon checking-in.
***Concierge – We were welcomed by our delightful Concierge, Stephani. She gave us a tour of the house (it looks just like the pictures but even better). She gave us a mobile phone to contact her to coordinate any additional requests (i.e. taxis, ordering pizza, grocery shopping, etc.). Stephani arranged a tour to the waterfall (you have to go!), delicious home cooked meals with the Chef (Don), set up messages right in the comfort our vacation home. The Concierge, Stephani, was very responsive to our calls no matter the time of the day.
***Housekeeping staff - provided daily full services and were very friendly and polite. They always checked with us before cleaning to ensure they were not disturbing or interrupting us. They also checked every room before we departed to ensure we didn’t leave anything behind (i.e. chargers, laptops, clothing, etc.)
***Driver/Transportation – There’s really no need to rent a car. Our driver, Willito, was very friendly, prompt, and professional. We arranged for an airport shuttle and to transport us around Las Terrenas. We also rented the ATVs to get around. One of the Staff members (Franco) was nice enough to give us a block on instruction on the ATVs.

By far, this was the trip of a life-time. I’m so glad we stumbled across the hidden jewel. Thanks to the Staff at Villa Ribera Mar for making this such a wonderful experience. If you are planning on visiting the Dominican Republic, you MUST stay at the Villa Ribera Mar Las Terrenas!!! There is no other choice. I will definitely be back. I promise, this is the closest you will ever come to PARADISE!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing