We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$212
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peppers Airlie Beach(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
at Marina Shores(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
at Boathaven Spa Resort(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$116
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Sea Resort(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$208
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whitsunday on the Beach(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Discovery Parks - Airlie Beach(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Backpackers by the Bay(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
93
26
8
3
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
26
8
3
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suiteindoor poolmassage chairking suiteamazing viewsrooms sharingmain deckliving roomcook your own foodmodern kitchenresort stylecomfortable bedprivate balconystayed for two nightsfantastic stayhamilton islandspa bath
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Only booked the day before while on a roadtrip through Queensland. Stayed here for 2 nights and was not disappointed....Views were spectacular from the lush rainforest inspired hillside surrounds, Service from our friendly host Peter was incredible..

As has been noted in other reviews, a really unique building with indoor pool, billiard table, easy parking... sort of like a classy backpacker retreat and I mean that in a good way... very comfortable place to stay.....I definitely advise adding this accommodation to your Airlie Beach stay list.... Was a fantastic stopover in a very picturesque seaside town...

Room Tip: Ask for the Honeymoon suite, great value for such a majestic space.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amsman2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete H, Manager at Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thanks guys for such a wonderful Review. We're so pleased you had a great stay. Yes, we are so lucky to have such a unique property and love sharing the experience with our guests. Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. Take care. Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

This place was the best choice to visit Airlie Beach and Whitsunday area. We have the opportunity to visit the rooms in the Villas and the Honeymoon Suite wich is amazing. The views from there and from the main house where you find the pool are incredible, really beatifull views to the bay and the islands.
The staff and service is unbeatable, Pete gave us the best advice and choice for a best trip around the islands.
The location is really good, close to Cannonvale with shopping centre and everything you need and just a couple of kms from Airlie Beach, we walked to Airlie Beach and is a beatiful path.
100% recommendable, we will definnently come back, you feel like at home in this place.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite is amazing, the views from there are incredibles The Villas are good if you come with more friends.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete H, Manager at Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks guys for such a wonderful review. We really are lucky having such a beautiful property with such incredible views. Enjoy the rest of your trip. I hope to see you again one day. Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in March. Words do not do the place justice. Absolutely incredible views and a really unique place to stay. Only a few minutes drive from the main strip of Airlie Beach it is worth staying a little extra out of town for this place. Beach and rainforest views all at once. Pete was so accommodating and included a room upgrade for us, so made our trip even more spectacular. He was so helpful with everything including organising tours and recommendation of local walks. The drive way can be a bit steep, and would be better to stay here if you have a vehicle but the walk around the accomodation is a must in itself. Can’t recommend highly enough. Thanks so much to Pete for making our stay in the Whitsundays so amazing, will be back! Also anyone staying here would highly recommend the ocean rafting tour and a walk down to the local pub.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Siobhonegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete H, Manager at Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thanks Siobhon for such a wonderful Review. So pleased you had such a great stay. We are very lucky having such an incredible place to share with everyone. See you again soon. Pete & Jules

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

We booked in early January
to stay here in late February. One week before our holiday the Rainforest Retreat gave my booking to someone else who wanted to extend their stay. Over the phone, Pete told me that cancelling my booking, giving preference to somebody else, was the same as if there was an explosion and the building was gone all together and I didn’t really have any choice. Seriously? What a stupid argument! ‘I’m trying to help you’ was his reply. If you were trying to help me, you wouldn’t have giving preferential treatment to someone else and cancelled our booking. From the photos and from the other reviews on here it looks like your establishment is quite nice, and that’s why we chose to stay there, but your customer service and professionalism are woeful at best.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete H, Manager at Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hi Ben. Your Review and Score do not truly reflect our conversation. My approach with you has been professional at all times. I received a request by a group of Tradesmen doing repairs on our Islands to extend their 12 rooms by another 2 weeks (possibly up to 6 weeks) due to a much greater damage to the islands than first uncovered. I called you immediately. Ben, You are staying one night in one room of their 4 bedroom Lodge. I gave you over 1 weeks notice of the change to another hotel (the same as guests can cancel 1 week from arrival) and you flew off the handle being both personal and subjective. As you said "I had told you I was trying to help you" by looking to help relocate you. Ben, I had apologised to you when we spoke and I apologise again now. I always do the best I can for my guests as other guest Reviews confirm and I have tried my best to help you now. Hanging up mid call so you can write such a "Pathetic" review does not help either you or me. If there was a web page that reviewed Guests I would have probably given you a score of Zero as your Understanding & Patience was very far from Professional. Having over a weeks notice to obtain another room, I'm confident you are now covered and I hope you enjoy your experience in the Whitsundays. If you are having any problems, please feel free to contact me anytime. All the best Ben. Regards Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

We booked this place on a short notice over the xmas period due to unforeseen circumstances with another accommodation and I'm so so glad we did. Peter was the nicest owner and host, nothing to much trouble for him. Within 30 mins of requesting to book he had come to pick us up, made us feel super relaxed and sorted us a room for a week (booking.com hadn't even sent him the booking as of this point) the room was lovely (villa 3, room 1) and spacious. The views are absolutely stunning. Communal kitchen/BBQ and living areas. Peter went the extra mile and even picked us up from the local coles so we wouldn't have to walk home with all of our shopping! Public bus a 10 min walk away but very hilly area - especially on way home. But the massive walk up the hill is very worth it when you get to the top and see the views. Would totally recommend a trip here - it will make your holiday. Thank you for having us - you made our first Ozzie Christmas one to remember!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank feenypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews