We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small Boutique Motel, with Friendly Staff”
Review of 3 Explorers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
3 Explorers Motel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We had 3 nights there with breakfast (cooked) provided to our rooms each morning. They had 7.20am as first delivery but as we were busy and on a schedule we were able to have ours at 7am, eager to oblige, The rooms were were lovely decor, quiet area, but so close to Echo Point and Katoomba RSL, Bed was very comfortable, and Air conditioning was welcoming and quiet.

Room Tip: All rooms were great, whether upstairs or downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Steph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2016

The motel is right near Echo Point in Katoomba.
The staff is very nice and friendly and helpful with advise to where things are when you arrive.
A short drive to the Katoomba shopping centre and not far from the cable car and other sites.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review, pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We booked two nights accommodation in their family room. It has a double bed, a single bed and a double decker bed. The beds were very comfortable and the room was quite spacious. The only inconvenience was that the toilet and bathroom were not separated.
Across the street is a Chocolate shop and you can have your craving fix here.
We like this motel as it is very near to the Three Sisters. Highly recommended for any family on vacation there. But do note that the family room is on the upper floor and this motel has no lift.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank erhu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review, pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We stayed here last year and had no hesitation coming back. Great location just a short walk to eco point to see the 3 sisters and information centre. Short drive to scenic world. The room was a good size and had a spa bath. Room 30 parking outside the room. The owner was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: all rooms seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the 3 Explorers Motel, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This motel is old and outdated. There cannot have been much refurbishment here for the last 10 years, and it doesn't look clean. The owners shows us some places on a map. He acts in a very unhelpful and unfriendly way. AUD 180 a night at a place like this feels like robbery even at Katoomba. The good thing: perfect location just a short walk from Echo Point.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnaDeNoruega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review, Obviously you appear unhappy with your stay, unfortunately we have no record of your visit or can place a Tariff of $180.00, however should this have been a one night accommodation on a Friday or Saturday, the Tariff would certainly be near our rate. As for the refurbishment comment, we feel quite justified in our extreme annoyance considering our Rooms have just been repainted within the last 3 months. Are you sure you stayed at our Motel ? also, we advise our Guests that to avoid further costs, it is now illegal to smoke anywhere near rooms & we would rather not have to charge if ignoring this fact.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.6 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
992 reviews
1.7 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
600 reviews
1 km away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
522 reviews
2.4 km away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
448 reviews
1.1 km away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Explorers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: $119 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Blue Mountains/Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing