We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation in Katoomba”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Pros:
Breakfast was good.
Yana was responsive to customer concerns.
Cons:
We were not greeted with a complimentary tea or coffee in Café Royale as advertised.
Kettle coil was rustic (but was replaced by Yana).
Carpet was partially wet.
No slippers were provided.
No complimentary bottled water was provided.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank melriver365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palais R, Guest Relations Manager at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay and appreciate your feedback. Our staff usually informs guests about the complimentary drinks upon arrival and guests can then choose when they wish their drinks to be served. Kettles get discoloured occasionally but are regularly cleaned and therefore we do apologise for your finding. Blue Mountains tap water is potable, however should guests wish to purchase bottled water, it is available at the reception. Your suggestion about slippers and bottled water has been brought up to the management's attention.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Palais Royale team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

Spent two nights here.Our room on the ground floor had just been re-carpeted and had a new bed.Bathroom need a heater and possible re-furb.
Ron was very welcoming and helpful.
We opted to pay and extra $10 pp for a cooked breakfast,glad we did as the continental was very sparse.
Lovely lounge areas to sit with a coffee and read after a day of taking in the beautiful sights of this incredible area.
Would go back

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CEC939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palais R, Guest Relations Manager at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback which has been passed onto the management team for consideration and mainly your compliments on our staff. Our team members are very welcoming and try to be as helpful as possible. We always like to see our guests in the lounge room, enjoying a refreshing drink after a day well spent in the beautiful Blue Mountains while sharing their enjoyable moments with our staff.
Hopefully we'll see you here at Palais Royale soon!

Palais Royale team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Stayed here for two nights recently. Very clean, comfortable bed and large room and enormous bathroom. We had asked for a walk in shower and were put in a disabled room, therefore the large bathroom. The breakfast, continental, was quite expensive for what we got. The manager was most friendly and amenable. He listened to our comments and gave the four of us a glass of port.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ghostsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palais R, Guest Relations Manager at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your compliments on our clean and comfortable rooms, and friendly Manager.

We regret that the continental breakfast selection was a disappointment to you, and have referred your feedback on to our management team.

Please return to Katoomba and Palais Royale in future - we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Palais Royale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

The room was large with a modern bathroom with a great shower.They could have included a shower cap in the bathroom as most hotels do. Although the air conditioner was good they should have had electric blankets on the beds as Katoomba is a cold town and was Zero degrees outside during our stay.The receptionist was pleasant and helpful. As we arrived late with no booking we paid a hefty price for the last available room.Not many power point as we had to use the bathroom to charge the phone and boil the jug.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RossCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palais R, Guest Relations Manager at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for your compliments on Palais Royale's olde world charm, and our friendly staff.

All of our rooms have individual controls over their ducted heating; with extra woolen blankets in the wardrobe. We have taken your suggestion of electric blankets onboard for consideration.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Palais Royale in the future.

Sincerely

Palais Royale Management


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Enjoyed my stay in this hotel with historic character. Nice common lounge areas on ground floor. Friendly reception. Room (deluxe single) basic but comfortable with large bed, bedside tables, table with drawers near door, closet, TV on cupboard with fridge, small table with 2 chairs under window with a nice view over Katoomba and Blue Mountains sandstone plateaus in the distance. Coffee/tea making facilities and supplies. Bathroom clean and with shower/tub combination. Decent towels. Hair dryer. Only toiletries provided are soap, shampoo, shower/bath gel and tissues. The plastic bathroom sink and bathtub don't quite go with the classy boutique style of the hotel. Also some of the furniture was very worn and had seen better days. Lamps above bed allowed for reading. Air con was good but at times room cooled down. Free Wi-Fi.

Can purchase drinks in one of the lounges. Breakfast is available in a nice large dining area. Room prices okay for Katoomba (though only basic room facilities and standards with no little extra touches) but look around for deals.

Located on the main street within walking distance to Katoomba train station and shops. If you like walking it is also possible to walk to Eco Point (site of the Three Sisters).

Room Tip: Ask for a view if possible. Larger room might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wingecarribee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palais R, Guest Relations Manager at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you appreciated the historic character of our beautiful hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again in future.

Sincerely

Palais Royale Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.6 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
992 reviews
0.8 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
600 reviews
5.5 km away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
1.2 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 km away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Royale Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Royale Boutique Hotel

Address: 230 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Palais Royale Blue Mountains)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range: $146 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palais Royale Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming Heritage hotel in the main street of Katoomba, so leave your car and walk to dozens of restaurants and attractions. Make sure to visit us in our lounge café where we serve locally produce best coffee and selective locally grown organic wines and beers. ENJOY OUR NEW FREE WIFI FROM ALL ROOMS!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais Royale Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Royale Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Palais Royale Blue Mountains Katoomba
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel Blue Mountains/Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing