We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A more upscale restaurant”
Review of The Lantern Inn

The Lantern Inn
Ranked #4 of 46 Restaurants in Kempsey
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Lantern Inn Restaurant is located in the reception area of the Kempsey Powerhouse Motel. It is very comfortable and spacious. A warm welcome is offered to all motel guests and those folk from the town that wish to enjoy quality, generous portions of Australian food. Chef regularly puts on specials additional to the standing menu. All our meals are family affordable and we welcome children of all ages. Special occasions can be catered for by simply calling Tracy or Martin to discuss your special evening. We specialize in buffet style for larger groups. There is a dance floor in the middle of the dining room which can be lit up if required and a fully licenced bar as well. The fireplace adds that homely feel in the cold months and during summer there is air-conditioning. There is plenty of parking and also wheelchair access if required.
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

We went for an evening meal. My wife had a dozen oysters, which were fresh from Port Macquarie. The interior is well appointed, the lighting is subdued, and it is quiet, even with several tables occupied.

Thank P511AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
power465, Owner at The Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Thanks for taking the time to say a few words. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal and overall dining experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2017

We have only eaten at the Lantern Inn a couple of times on overnight visits to the motel, but have not been able to fault the meals either time. Good hearty, homestyle meals and good service too.

1  Thank Nvios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
power465, Owner at The Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thankyou for taking the time to comment. We are pleased you enjoyed your meals with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

An all round great evening at the Lantern Inn. Service, ambients, meals and prices,all very good.Allthough we didn't have a booking, we were made welcome to have our meal.For next time we`ll make a booking..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ingrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
power465, Owner at The Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thankyou for taking the time to comment. We are pleased you enjoyed your meals at the Lantern Inn. We try hard to make our restaurant a pleasant experience all round. Catering to an individuals special occasion is always a pleasure. All our kitchen staff cater to dining room and room service guests primarily however we always try to make town guests welcome. Making a booking is recommended to ensure you don't arrive only to find our room guests have all been fed and we have advised chef to shut down. Meals cooked are homely and wholesome and prices are family affordable. Happy birthday to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

The chef at the Latern Inn Kempsey Powerhouse motel does amazing meals and we were very satisfied with the size of meals and presentation too. Highly recommend them! Keep up the great work!

Thank MummaNPappaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
power465, Owner at The Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thanks mummanpappabear. Marty and I are pleased you enjoyed your meals here at the Lantern Inn restaurant. We will pass on your compliment to kitchen staff. We also hope we can accommodate you again on future travels. Travel safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We were on the way north, stopped at the Powerhouse motel (Golden Chain - we have a card), and were pleasantly surprised that it had a restaurant. Not just any restaurant - a wonderful one with great food, great hospitality, and great service!! Thanks, Guys!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank petesylz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
power465, Owner at The Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Always pleasing to read favourable comments petesylz. Great to see you use your free Golden chain card to receive your discount when booking a room. Our restaurant is open mon to sat evenings with the exception of public hols. Our kitchen and wait staff work hard to ensure they provide the very best of service and food. I will pass on your comments to them. Again thankyou and travel safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lantern Inn also viewed

 
Kempsey, New South Wales
 

Been to The Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing