We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining experience”
Review of Flemish Flavours

Flemish Flavours
Ranked #3 of 42 Restaurants in Leura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, European, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Leura's best kept secret. Snack menu and Belgian beer garden 5pm - 6pm Thursday to Monday, full restaurant menu available in the evenings and on the weekends during lunch. Great beer, fabulous food, gorgeous setting...
Reviewed 18 April 2018

My husband and I had dinner here with our adult daughters whilst staying the weekend in Leura. The restaurant is beautiful inside, charming and cosy. Food was delicious and we all enjoyed our meals. One of our daughters is vegan and they had an excellent option on the menu. Lovely friendly service. Thank you to the owners and staff for a wonderful evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trudy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Flemish Flavours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Trudy ,

thank you for your kind review . really appreciate it !

Kind regards

Wim, Claire and the FF team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Every one was happy with their meal. It was a lovely old house kept in its original form ( pretty much). Were there for dinner and though it would be nice to go for lunch to sit outside and enjoy the garden

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AuntyMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Flemish Flavours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mia,

Thank you for your review .
Hope to see you an other time soon.

Kind regards

Wim, Claire and the FF team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived at sunset and admired the exquisite ivy covered heritage listed building the restaurant is housed in. Staff greeted us with smiles and showed us to our balcony seats - the evening was wonderfully mild, so this was perfect!

The waitress helped me choose the perfect Belgian beer to suit my taste (Duvel).

Then to decide what to eat! Everything sounded amazing! We ended up with one cured salmon starter and one liver parfait. Both were sensational!

Then for mains, I chose lamb & my husband chose the pork knuckle. Wow. Is all I can say. The lamb was cooked to absolute perfection!! As the photo will attest.... 3 generous melt in your mouth medium rare slices. And the pork knuckle, absolutely succulent too!

As an additional side we ordered chips with mayonnaise, they were snaffled in short order too!

With our meals we enjoyed a beautiful bottle of Logan Shiraz Viognier.

For dessert we shared a crème brûlée - and each mouthful was a delight! Oh and I also splurged on an Irish Coffee (ok I know it is a Belgian restaurant!!) - but seriously that was divine too!

Yup - it was a fabulous culinary experience! The staff were divine, and as a couple of the dishes were served by co owner Claire, it was awesome to be able to ask about the history of the restaurant and building too.

Can highly recommend and we hope to be back again soon!

P.S. just a footnote - in front of the restaurant there is a play park... we arrived at dusk, so the few kids that were playing and screaming thankfully left when the sun set. So not sure if lunch times could get noisy with kids playing. Worth a mention if screeching kids is not your bag. But great if you have kids I guess!!

1  Thank SonyaMuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Flemish Flavours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sonya ,

Thank you for your time writing your great review , we really appreciate this .

it was a pleasure having you over and we hope to see you again .

Kind regards

Wim, Claire and the FF team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Got to the venue and all looked wonderful. Lovely setting and the staff were SO nice. However the food was nothing short of a letdown. Small portion and not great. And at $11 for Belgian fries (nothing Belgian about these) I’d expect them to be cooked to perfection but these were burnt and inedible. Shame as this could have been a wonderful experience.

1  Thank redroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Flemish Flavours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear,

Thank you for your time writing your review. So sorry to hear about your fries, on your next visit just mention this to us and you get a perfectly cook Belgian chips on the house ;) of course with a side of mayonnaise as we do in Belgium ;)

Kind regards

Wim, Claire and the FF team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The food is horrendous. The so called 'rib steak' was nothing but fatty muck on a bone. The fat duck chips were so burnt they loooked like copper pegs. Do yourself a favour and miss this hot mess!!

3  Thank FoodHonesty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Flemish Flavours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear FoodHonesty,

Wish we could have done something about your complaint on the night you dined with us. Can you please next make one of our lovely staff aware of this and we can do something about it . Unfortunately some beef ribs have more fat then others. we do our best to render the fat as most as possible when the ribs are smoked and sous vide cooked.

Kind regards

Wim , Claire and the FF team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flemish Flavours also viewed

Leura, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Leura, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Flemish Flavours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing