We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Courtyard by Marriott Sydney-North Ryde(North Ryde)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$133
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Meriton Suites North Ryde(North Ryde)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$94
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Quest Macquarie Park(North Ryde)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Ranch Hotel(North Ryde)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$67
US$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Quest North Ryde(North Ryde)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$103
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
711 results
Traveller rating
89
214
178
126
104
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
214
178
126
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspacious apartmentquiet locationmajor shopping centrepleasant staypublic transporteasy accessstaff were friendlymacquarie universitypetsbushlandmotorwayhospital
Filter
Updating list...
678 - 683 of 711 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We recently stayed at the Medina North Ryde for 3 nights and had a wonderful time (Apartment 28). Since we are a family of 6 (2 adults and 4 children) we had a two bedroom apartment. We found the apartment clean, modern, new and comfortable with plenty of room for us all. The main bedroom upstairs was spacious with a lovely new bathroom while my eldest two children shared the twin bedroom upstairs with adjoining bathroom. The two youngest girls (aged 5 and 4 shared the sofa bed down stairs). The kitchen was fully equiped, the linen clean and fresh and the apartment was fully air conditioned. The beds were also very comfortable. We used the laundry to wash and dry our clothes and it also has an iron to iron shirts etc. The main bathroom has a good working hair dryer and each day our towels were renewed. The highlight for my children was using the lovely pool and spa a few doors down from our room. We found the room great value for money as I had researched 5 other places for us to stay, certainly not expensive. Staff was friendly and very helpful, will def come back again when we visit Sydney.
Regards the Jena family

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the lower side of the resort, very close to the pool. We found it very quiet and peaceful and close to the garage where our car was securely parked for free.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leoni1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear Leoni1972,

Thank you for staying with us at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, and for leaving your valuable comments.
The team and I are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!
The townhouse apartments certainly have enough space to cater for families with all the facilities available not only in the apartment, but also within the complex (which the family enjoyed!).
Leoni1972, thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Service Apartments North Ryde, during your next visit to Sydney.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The one bedroom units are spacious with a courtyard and all the amenities. Lovely area: quiet, leafy and lots of birdlife. Bathrooms are cramped, old and mouldy and don't have hair dryers. Spa doesn't work (noisy) and both pool and spa could be better maintained. Good for a one-night business trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Sharn-tey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Dear Sharn-tey R,

Thank you for staying with us at Medina Serviced Apartments, and for leaving your comments regarding your recent visit
I am pleased to read that you enjoy the property surrounds, as its setting is very popular being quite ‘green’ and quiet as the property backs onto Lane Cove National Park.
Thank you for also providing feedback regarding the bathrooms, and I am sorry that they did not meet your expectations.
I am surprised you found them cramped without hairdryers, as all the apartments do come with wall mounted hair dryers and feedback previously received is that the bathrooms are quite spacious. Nevertheless, I will have our housekeeping conduct an audit on the bathrooms and review the cleanliness and facilities we offer.
Sharn-tey R, thank you again for staying with us at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the property on your next business trip to the Macquarie Business Park.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This apartment is good for family and business alike. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. There is kitchen provided. Location also near to Macquarrie shopping centre and station. Only downside is wifi is not complimentary.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erico2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Erico2709,

Thank you staying with us at Medina Executive North Ryde, and for leaving your valuable comments.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay us and enjoyed the facilities, apartment space and location that we have on offer!

Thank you for also providing the feedback regarding the internet service. Unfortunately this service is provided through a third party, therefore we are unable to stipulate the pricing on the service. You would be pleased to know that discounts are offered through internet packages for extended long stays, or alternatively, Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, located at 81 Talavera Road has an internet kiosk available in the lobby for public use.

Erico2709, thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive North Ryde in the future.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My twins, partner and I stayed here on 15 and 16 November 2012, checking out on 17 November 2012.

Despite some average reviews on this website, i must say i was impressed. I was toying between giving it a 3 or 4 rating. However, i think a rating of 4 is justified.

We stayed in a 2-bedroom, split level apartment (Unit 14). For our purpose, it had everything we needed to make our trip to Sydney comfortable.

Pros:

* Not too far from the CBD at all - 30 mins with traffic, and about 10 mins without (by car). I can't comment on the public transport, as i did not use it. However Macquarie University is literally just up the road, so i'm guessing public transport would be very good.

* loved the fact the apartment was split into kitchen/lounge downstairs, and bedrooms/bathrooms upstairs. We asked for 2 cots to be provided (only cost $5 each to rent, which was very cheap compared to some places we've stayed at) and put them in one of the upstairs bedrooms. So we found we could easily put the twins down for naps/sleep upstairs, and not worry about waking them with noise from the tv or kitchen downstairs.

* furniture basic but modern. TVs were LCD and worked without any problems - provided in both the lounge and main bedroom areas.

* we had an ensuite bathroom.

* quiet surrounding streets - no noisy roads to keep you awake at night.

* very close to Macquarie Shopping Centre (with its ice skate rink) and Top Ryde shopping centre (which i personally preferred). Easy access to a variety of shops.

* local restaurants close by (literally a 5 minute drive away) - we went to 11 Talavera Rd, Ryde where they had a selection of different restaurants and cuisines. Try Ribs and Rumps (i think that's what it was called)... great food. Family friendly.

* apartment kitchen was quite good. The usual microwave, stove top, oven, cutlery, glasses etc. Appeared quite clean upon our arrival.

Cons:

* some towels had stains on them, despite having being washed (time for upgrade i think)

* the bathrooms could have been better cleaned. We had a young girl who came to the door with towels on our first morning; i told her we were about to leave, and that we'd be out of her way very shortly. She said she was only going to change the towels today. She did not clean the apartment, her reasoning being, that, as we were staying there another night, a proper (she called it, "full") clean was not required?....quite poor house keeping service in my opinion.

* there was a lovely personal courtyard to the apartment. However, it has leaves everywhere, and needed a good tidy. A table and chair (cheaply bought even from Ikea) would make it possible for visitors to enjoy it on warm nights when staying in. With the way it's set up currently however, its a wasted space completely. It exists, but one cannot make any real use of it....

* balcony "security door" had wheels which weren't working properly, and i doubt very much it would be an effective security door to would-be thieves.

* my biggest grip would be the carpet in the lounge area. It's in need of a DESPERATE clean. Upon arrival i put my twins on the carpet in front of the tv while i unpacked our belongings. Within a matter of minutes, my sons legs were black, and my daughters white tights were grey. A very dirty carpet (my main reason for not giving this establishment a 5 rating).

* my partner used the ensuite (i used the main bathroom) so i can only comment on that room with what he told me. He found that that the ensuite looked dated and was somewhat cramped for him. Not much room for your personal belongings at all. I agree that the main bathroom too looked dated. But as we were there really only the 2 days, i think it suited our purposes quite well. My partner also found the shower head in the ensuite too low.

Overall however, i enjoyed this apartment very much. In my personal experience, it is the most comfortable apartment we've stayed at. Initially i was annoyed that we weren't staying in a CBD apartment. However, as we had the car, it posed no problem at all, and we had the best of both worlds - close enough to the city when we wanted to go there, and yet the cheaper rates made it attractive to stay slightly out of town. Would definitely recommend to people as an option when traveling to Sydney, and they need something more convenient than just a hotel room. House keeping and carpet need to be looked at though.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savy_Sydney_Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Savy_Sydney_Lily,

Thank you staying with us at Medina Executive North Ryde, and for leaving your valuable comments.
I am pleased that to see that overall your enjoyed the space, comfort and price that we have on offer – ‘the most comfortable apartment we’ve stayed in’ – WOW, what an honour! As you mentioned, it certainly is more economical for those who want the space of an apartment, without the city prices – also keeping in mind that there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel that stops right in the heart of Sydney City!
Thank you for also providing the areas on which we can improve on, this information certainly helps us improve the product and services we offer our guests.
You would be pleased to know that we are currently in the process of arranging brand new courtyard furniture! The order is in production, and we hope for it to arrive early in the new year.
As for the apartment inconsistencies, thank you for bringing these to our attention as I have also raised these items with the relevant departments to ensure a higher standard is delivered to our future guests.
Savy_Sydney_Lily, thank you again for your comments as we look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive North Ryde on your next visit to Sydney.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney North
11
Reviewed 5 November 2012

There was no reference to having the main bathroom locked and unavailable for our stay. We only had access to the onsuite. To have a bath using the main bathroom would cost an extra $20 per night. Very poor. No downstairs toilet at all. When friends arrived they had to go through our bedroom to access a toilet.
Apart from this the appartment was tidy and well kept. Entertainment system both upstairs and in lounge room. The utensils were more than adequate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Medina Executive North Ryde, and for leaving your comments.
Unfortunately we do sell our one bedroom apartments based on one bedroom and one bathroom set up, however please note that we are reviewing the configuration of the one bedroom apartments, and grant access to the main bathroom only, simply for that very reason you mention.
I am also pleased to read that you found the apartment well equipped, as it is very important that guests find the apartments as comfortable and homely as possible, because at Medina, we like to offer ‘A Home away from home’.
Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive North Ryde.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews