We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, lovely people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kingston SE
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We booked one of the balcony rooms and I'm so glad we did. The views out over the water are great. Room was a good size, serviced each day and had all the usual tea/coffee facilities/iron/hairdryer/safe.
Family who run it are friendly and can't do enough for you - happy to chat even though they always seem busy. They have recently taken it over and are looking to improve - I'd love to see what they do over the next couple of years and look forward to going back at some point.
Food was good and the restaurant was busy with locals, so that's a good sign.
Close to shops, jetty, boat ramp and lighthouse.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room if you want a view out over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windywendywombot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alecia G, Manager at Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Many thanks for your review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay & look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Perched overlooking the water, this modest motel deserves all the support possible!! Great location, walk to everything but most importantly, the family who own and run the Lacepede are just terrific.

Supporting family owned businesses is so important and we had nothing but great service from these people, just several months in from taking over. Plans are afoot to do some work, lift the menu (brother is Chef) and really position this motel as THE place to stay in Kingston SE - it does after all have the best position opposite the beach.

We'll be back for sure and recommend.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Intrepidtraveller333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alecia G, Manager at Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Many thanks for your review! You'll be pleased to hear Ben, our Chef has launched his new menu & the feedback has been fantastic!! It won't be long before we start updating some of the rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to our motel!!! Cheers Alecia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Under new management. Young lady manager is chatty and helpful with local info. Very nice again as we have stayed a few times now. Always stay a few days. Centre of Kingston, on the beach at the jetty. Next door to the Old Wool Store Restaurant and the Royal Hotel. Always ask for a room with a balcony and ocean views. Normal hotel type room but with a great balcony area with lounge chairs. Plenty of parking, very quiet, helpful chatty staff. We didn't have breakfast this trip, slept in every morning and missed breakfast. The two story part of the hotel is getting a bit old but if very comfortable. Will stay again next trip.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a balcony and ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alcatraz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alecia G, Manager at Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Thank you for your review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay!! We are planning on updating the upstairs rooms & balcony area soon. Hopefully we will be finished before your next visit. Looking forward to seeing you again!!! Many thanks, Alecia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

We called in last minute to stay overnight. Staff were more than happy to book us in late. The room was a good size, clean and well suited for our family of 4 plus it is directly opposite the pool. Which the boys loved.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alecia G, Manager at Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Many thanks for your review Megan! We're glad you enjoyed your stay!!

Kind Regards,
Alecia Gibbs
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Lovely location but the smell was terrible because of the bad weather and the beach piled high with rotting weed.
Room very basic Bathroom disgusting with mould on the walls and rust ++ on door jambs. I know it is on the beach front but management need to make some improvements. It was one of the most expensive motels on our travels.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alecia G, Manager at Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Many thanks for your review Joan!
You'll be happy to hear our local council has had all the seaweed removed & our beach is looking rather lovely now.
Thank you for bringing the mould & rust problems to our attention. Our maintenance team have attended & all issues have been taken care of.
Have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston SE
1.1 km away
Kingston Lobster Motel
Kingston Lobster Motel
#2 of 2 in Kingston SE
59 reviews
0.6 km away
Crown Inn Hotel
Crown Inn Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingston SE
21 reviews
38.4 km away
Harbour View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.3 km away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
38.6 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
384 reviews
38.3 km away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant

Address: 1 Marine Pde, Kingston SE, South Australia 5275, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kingston SE
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kingston SE
Price Range: $100 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for peaceful accommodation and scenic views? Come and stay with us at the Lacepede Bay Motel. We're more than just a room! Situated opposite the Kingston Jetty and Foreshore in the heart of the Limestone Coast. Within walking distance to shops, cafes, hotel, restaurant, park and beach. Featuring a swimming pool, bbq area, guest laundry and conference/function facilities. Offering free Wifi, free onsite parking and free pick up from the Kingston Airport. With 30 rooms to choose from (Standard, Deluxe, Ocean View, Family & Spa), we're certain you will find accommodation to suit your budget and needs. All rooms include air conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen TV and an ensuite bathroom. You can enjoy breakfast cooked to order daily in our Restaurant or in the comfort of your room. Our Restaurant can be available for dinner for large group bookings (minimum 20 people). Looking for somewhere to hold your next function or meeting? We have a fully furnished Conference room which can be personalised to suit any occasion. Ask us about our function packages! We're standing by to offer you the lowest rates & helpful local information, call us now on (08) 8767 2444! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lacepede Bay Hotel Kingston Se
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Se Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing