We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
21
58
49
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
58
49
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine glasses and corkscrew downstairs room top floor short walk into town lovely town basic amenities would stay here again quiet at night split system fish and chips hear the waves tv reception amazing views free wifi electric blankets the main road ocean
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2018

I know Apollo Bay very well & it was great to be back. The room, beds & bathroom were clean but with door to bathroom closed it was really cold so maybe management could supply a heater which would have made the stay more enjoyable. The split system heating/cooling was positioned near front door so heat was concentrated in one half of room, it was great on those very chilly mornings. There was tea & coffee & biscuits supplied, strange that there was a toaster but no cutlery or plates (we had to buy some plastic ones). Maybe trival to some but we brought some bread etc for breakfast as it is not offered at this motel for your information. The view was lovely and walking tracks available nearby, not far from shops! TV reception was not so good but we took streaming device which worked with free Wifi :) Overall management might consider supplying heater for bathroom in winter and the exhaust fan worked but noisy! Room 5 I think. :)

Room Tip: I think view from upper floor would be even better
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamelarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

My partner surprised me for a weekend away. Stayed in room #23 which was perfect For a view of the ocean you have to be on the top floor. Our room looked as if it had some cosmetic updates, freshly painted. Beautiful view to wake up to, one queen size bed and single bed.However I found it strange where the single bed, tv and the couch were positioned, I would have swapped them back to their original positions and have the couch facing the beach view and move the single bed away from the balcony door. Minor change. Friendly staff on arrival, free car park, wifi was hopeless and lagging and tv had awful reception cause of the wind outside that you could only watch one channel. Heating was perfect. Tea and coffee and biscuits provided. Very clean. The steps and door and corridor leading to our top room got us worried as it’s run down and old that we were worried what was on the other side of our door, pleasantly surprised and located to a short drive into town. Balconies very close together. Car park downstairs

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ilw8foru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Thank you Mary for your fantastic and exceptional service.

Rooms are nice with a fantastic view. However bed was uncomfortable and bathroom needs an upgrade.

Service was great and Mary was helpful and fantastic to deal with

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Agreed, the only great thing about this motel is the view, as the whole premises needs refurbishment.
Repairs to the ceiling in the bathroom was laughable. Light didn't work above the area where the fridge/kettle/toaster was kept. Toaster provided but no knives and plates. Wine glasses and corkscrew were provided on the table next to the window - where you can enjoy a glass whilst looking at the great view. The glasses were full of dust and the corkscrew was of such poor quality we broke two trying to open our bottle. The dirt/dust/crumbs under the lounge cusions was horrific (I removed to retrieve something dropped between the cushions). No sink plug provided in bathroom.
We were moved from a downstairs room to first floor. This was due to an air-conditioner being installed in the room we booked. We were not charged the extra $30 night for the 'better' room - just as well, as it wasn't much better. Staff were helpful but didn't speak much English.
I would not recommend or stay at this motel again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have slightly better view but not worth the extra money
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

The only great thing about this motel is the view! We arrived to an ice cold room where the aircon didn't work and took ages to get moved to a room where the aircon worked - well kind of - it warmed the room but rattled, wheezed and clattered it's way through the night making sleep very hard - it also has such a bright blue light that the room was always lit. Add to this no picture on the TV, no microwave, a constantly dripping tap, an uncomfortable double bed, bedside lights not working, it was not the place to be prior to running the Great Ocean Road Marathon. The staff tried to be helpful but had no knowledge of how things worked and couldn't speak English. The whole premises is very run down and the steep stairs up to the unit are open to the elements so we got wet climbing the stairs.Although the motel is only one kilometer from town, there are no street lights, so walking back after dark was pretty dangerous.We spent as little time there as possible - and certainly not worth the AUD$760 it cost us for the weekend! A big disappointment and we won't be going back ever!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V1070EXcanA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews