We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Castle Villa by the Sea
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
43
18
12
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
18
12
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstissue boxromantic roomgarden suitecomfortable bedoutdoor spaphilip islandharleyjennyprivacyhostsbedroomrelaxationluxurycouch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

Beautiful room beautiful service the owners were lovely made us feel good about the place. It was a great distance to walk to the beach and shops. Will definitely come back again. Our room was beautifully set out when we arrived had a beautiful outdoor seating area good little kitchen and really comfortable bed

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank chris1760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2015

Thank you Chris - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay
Harley and Jenni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

Nice place for a weekend. Well appointed rooms and great place to relax. Seats about so you can sit outside and lounge is available for guests. Books and DVDs available. Also run an honesty system for an evening drink, although we did not partake. Off street parking and easy walk to beachfront and cafes. Warm welcome and local advice provided. Only element missing -- owners did not give us their names when they spoke!!!

Stayed: October 2015
2  Thank drtgfnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2015

Hi Tanya - thanks for your nice review - Sorry about not introducing ourselves - it's Jenni and Harley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

It was a difficult task choosing our accommodation at Cowes with so many lovely places on offer. Having finally selected The Castle Villa was a master stroke. From the moment of checking in, the tone of our short getaway was seriously 'no-fuss'. The room was beautiful, luxurious but not pretentious. The spa was fabulous. Small touches made our large room feel homely and we really could not have wanted for more. The basic supplies provided are also great quality, with a little more to sustain us, we could have existed in the room the entire weekend. A very short walk found us at the beach and a bit further the esplanade for lovely restaurants and cafes. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pixiesaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2015

You must have heard that there is a always a free bottle of french champagne to greet you on return visits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

We stopped here on the off-chance of a room for the night (and also because we were intrigued by the reviews!). We found it perfectly charming and delightful, as well as good value. The rooms are beautifully decorated (and very well equipped), the lady who booked us in was lovely and the gardens are amazing. We had to park on the street but that wasn't a problem (why is it such an issue for some people?). The hotel is centrally located in Cowes and we walked in for shopping (after a walk along the beach) and then again later in the evening for dinner.

We'll definitely come again next time we are in Phillip Island.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank EdKelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2015

Thank you for your nice review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2015

It was my partner's and I 1 year anniversary so we wanted to stay at a very nice relaxing place and we got just that, very quiet and relaxing, spa was wonderful, bed was very comfortable, with the air-condition in the room which was very good especially the warm weather we had. the only down side is the small kitchen not enough room to put stuff on counters and all that. In conclusion we had a lovely time and definitely recommend it for anyone wanting to get away and relax.

Thank you once again :)

Room Tip: My partner and I stayed in the suite which was very nice and romantic.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Gabby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2015

Thanks for the nice review - I think you left some romance in the room .....!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews