We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Castle Villa by the Sea
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We stayed in 2 bedroom self contained 'townhouse for 2 nights'

Good - location - very close to the Cowes beach and high street.

Bad - we did not get what we paid for. Property advertised as a townhouse but actually an apartment, with no wifi at all (our booking confirmation indicated that we would have free wifi). Most of the pictures on booking website were of the main property, which is seemingly quite nice. We found this apartment to be dated, and mostly furnished with Ikea-type furniture. Not worth 275 dollars per night that we paid!

Room Tip: Read the fine print when you go for this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank saadaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

This person booked through an agent and booked for 1 couple and arrived as a family group. The property has two bedrooms but one is closed off if only 1 bedroom is booked - hence the disclosure to us by phone after they booked in, to come there and open other bedroom. Then some story was concocted as to why they only booked 1-bedroom (forgot they had children ?) there is too much to tell about this - suffice to say that they had told lots of tales - it is a night we dont wish to remember. Please take this "review" off as this is about a couple who had committed deception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2016

Stayed here recently for two nights. Really nice place close to the beach and the City centre. The room was very spacious but the balcony even bigger! Great to relax with a glas of wine. Boutique accommodation as it should be. Unfortunately no Internet available in the room and no Food Service.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
1  Thank AndreMueller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

thank you for choosing Castle Villa - the internet always wavers around on Phillip Island and we had such a massive amount of visitors on the Island in January - a record apparently. However you are always able to access it here and if any problem go out of bedroom to the lounge areas or your private outside balcony or the conservatory area and you can always connect - eventually. No, there is no food service as chef retired 10 years ago - however if you book again and want some treat to greet please advise and we can always order in for you. Happy travelling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Impressed from the moment we arrived. Friendly greeting, beautiful gardens, and even more stunning hotel/apartment. Attention to detail was just amazing. Everything we needed, was provided. Only one downfall was that we couldn't stay long enough. We will certainly be staying there again, hopefully very soon.
Natalie & Shane

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

hello Natalie and Shane - thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and sweet review - we dont do too bad a job do we? Words such as yours give us a real lift and the inspiration to keep on keeping on. We have the champagne on ice for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

This "villa" is in a great location. The large room, was comfortable but in need of an update!
The bed was not comfortable and there was no internet available in the room! I think at this price there should be more to offer. It felt like we were staying in a B & B but without breakfast!

Stayed: January 2016
2  Thank RaquelToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2016

Yes our villa is in a great location. Many thanks for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights at The Castle Villa by the Sea and found the Yakatoon room limited in space, but with delightful decor and a comfortable bed. Artwork in all areas by the owner was wonderful and varied. The communal upstairs lounge area works well and light food preparation possible. Coffee, tea and biscuits are provided and good supply of crockery and cutlery. The location of this accommodation is excellent being close to the main street and not far from the sea. We did not see the owners during our stay and left our keys in a bowl as requested on departure. An honesty drinks bar mentioned in reviews was not visable to us over our stay. The establishment is really a B and B without the Breakfast. Pleasant but highly priced. Make sure to hang out your "Make up my room" sign or your room will miss servicing. This is house policy.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2016

thank you Sue S for staying here for a 2 day holiday in one of our deluxe bedrooms with private balcony. We do like to be discreet and once guests are welcomed on arrival there is very little contact unless guests need help or advice. Regarding keys on departure, we place a silver platter for keys when guests are leaving as each guest has their own agenda - some leave v.early to drive to Melb.airport etc., some do not like to break the spell of being in holiday mode and find it quite acceptable to not think about what to do with keys and like the tray near the front door. Our bar is quite visible. Guests can contact us via mobile or by ringing our very loud reception doorbell should they need assistance for anything including the whereabouts of our bar (I think you are the first guest not to find it) Yes we do not serve breakfast these days - there are so many breakfast and brunch cafes now on the Island. Re your parting comment about the sign to place on door for service was really silly; - as you have realised we dont like to bother guests and those who wish to have room service all hang out their signs. That is our policy as you have mentioned. All the best and hope you can visit again with a happy heart. yours kindly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.1 km away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
238 reviews
0.3 km away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 11 in Cowes
180 reviews
30.7 km away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
0.1 km away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
0.9 km away
Tropicana Motor Inn
Tropicana Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Cowes
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Villa by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Villa by the Sea

Address: 7-9 Steele St | Phillip Island, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cowes
#3 Spa Hotel in Cowes
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cowes
Price Range: $218 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Castle Villa by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Luxury Villa offers you your own island oasis and perfect carefree holiday accommodation, footsteps from the beach-front and hidden away in a magical garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Castle Villa by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Cowes
The Castle Villa By The Sea Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing