We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Resort Kaloha(Cowes)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arthur Phillip Motor Inn(Cowes)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seahorse Motel(Cowes)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
US$69
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropicana Motor Inn(Cowes)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$83
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$53/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$65
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waves Apartments(Cowes)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Cowes Foreshore Tourist Park(Cowes)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Phillip Island Apartments(Cowes)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$148
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
43
18
12
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
18
12
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstissue boxromantic roomgarden suitecomfortable bedoutdoor spaphilip islandharleyjennyprivacyhostsbedroomrelaxationluxurycouch
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Stayed here recently for two nights. Really nice place close to the beach and the City centre. The room was very spacious but the balcony even bigger! Great to relax with a glas of wine. Boutique accommodation as it should be. Unfortunately no Internet available in the room and no Food Service.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
1  Thank AndreMueller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

thank you for choosing Castle Villa - the internet always wavers around on Phillip Island and we had such a massive amount of visitors on the Island in January - a record apparently. However you are always able to access it here and if any problem go out of bedroom to the lounge areas or your private outside balcony or the conservatory area and you can always connect - eventually. No, there is no food service as chef retired 10 years ago - however if you book again and want some treat to greet please advise and we can always order in for you. Happy travelling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Impressed from the moment we arrived. Friendly greeting, beautiful gardens, and even more stunning hotel/apartment. Attention to detail was just amazing. Everything we needed, was provided. Only one downfall was that we couldn't stay long enough. We will certainly be staying there again, hopefully very soon.
Natalie & Shane

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

hello Natalie and Shane - thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and sweet review - we dont do too bad a job do we? Words such as yours give us a real lift and the inspiration to keep on keeping on. We have the champagne on ice for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

This "villa" is in a great location. The large room, was comfortable but in need of an update!
The bed was not comfortable and there was no internet available in the room! I think at this price there should be more to offer. It felt like we were staying in a B & B but without breakfast!

Stayed: January 2016
2  Thank RaquelToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2016

Yes our villa is in a great location. Many thanks for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights at The Castle Villa by the Sea and found the Yakatoon room limited in space, but with delightful decor and a comfortable bed. Artwork in all areas by the owner was wonderful and varied. The communal upstairs lounge area works well and light food preparation possible. Coffee, tea and biscuits are provided and good supply of crockery and cutlery. The location of this accommodation is excellent being close to the main street and not far from the sea. We did not see the owners during our stay and left our keys in a bowl as requested on departure. An honesty drinks bar mentioned in reviews was not visable to us over our stay. The establishment is really a B and B without the Breakfast. Pleasant but highly priced. Make sure to hang out your "Make up my room" sign or your room will miss servicing. This is house policy.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2016

thank you Sue S for staying here for a 2 day holiday in one of our deluxe bedrooms with private balcony. We do like to be discreet and once guests are welcomed on arrival there is very little contact unless guests need help or advice. Regarding keys on departure, we place a silver platter for keys when guests are leaving as each guest has their own agenda - some leave v.early to drive to Melb.airport etc., some do not like to break the spell of being in holiday mode and find it quite acceptable to not think about what to do with keys and like the tray near the front door. Our bar is quite visible. Guests can contact us via mobile or by ringing our very loud reception doorbell should they need assistance for anything including the whereabouts of our bar (I think you are the first guest not to find it) Yes we do not serve breakfast these days - there are so many breakfast and brunch cafes now on the Island. Re your parting comment about the sign to place on door for service was really silly; - as you have realised we dont like to bother guests and those who wish to have room service all hang out their signs. That is our policy as you have mentioned. All the best and hope you can visit again with a happy heart. yours kindly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We were given our holiday as a Christmas gift as the original guests were unable to attend. We stayed in the Broadwater suite.

We were running late to arrive but jenni and Harley were fantastic about it. They were more than happy for us to arrive a few hours after check in time, and were very polite and hospitable when we arrived.
My husband is disabled, and to get tone our room required going up a flight of stairs. Jenni was fantastic and offered to help my hubby up the stairs. It should be noted for people booking that stairs are involved to get to certain rooms, so best to ring up and enquire before booking if this is an issue.

Upon arriving in our room we were very impressed with how beautiful it was. The decor and artwork were amazing. A major letdown for us was that the bed was on an angle, due to the floor of the room being on a slight angle. This meant that the bed had a concave in the middle of it, which my husband found impossible to sleep in due to his back issues. However this is not the fault of the hosts as we believe it is wear and tear on the building, but would suggest this be looked into for the comfort of the guests.

PowerPoint access is good around the bed if you are bringing electronics. there is also free wifi which is reliable and speedy. They also offer an in house dvd collection which originally looked really good based on th list of movies in the compendium, but this list is unfortunately a bit out of date.

Everything from the key used to enter your room to the choice of flowers was a perfected match and made you feel like you were in a home away from home. Although there are areas of improvement I would come back here again, and recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable and relaxing room which is very close to food, shops and the beach.

Thank you so much jenni and Harvey for your flexibility and amazing hospitality!!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sporte2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2016

thank you sportiv2016 and glad you had an enjoyable time, but we cannot work out what happened - we have put a spirit level on the floor and the bed - all is fine. May we suggest though that if in future you have an issue at the time of staying, please let us know before it becomes an issue and we will do all in our power to make it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews