We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
43
18
12
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
18
12
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tissue box phillip island bed was very comfortable jenny balcony couch
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

The location was very good, close to shops and restaurants, and parking the car on premise was fine. The room was more than good and we way too big for the 2 of us. Don't know what was on the day we arrived, but our welcome wasn't that great. We just got the key, and were pointed out to our room, that was it. The goodbye was pretty much the same.
The lack of WiFi and also the lack of clean towels made me decide to give this one a low rating. Sorry, but for this money I expect better.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
5  Thank AlexMeester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

Mr.Alex Meester from Denmark - you were given a novel welcome on arriving in the early evening for your 2-day stay at The Castle - an upgrade in a beautiful self-entering apartment with private balcony, garden views both front and rear and extras such as chocolates by the bed, your own coffee making machine with free coffee, free WiFi - and of course plenty of clean towels. We also have room service signs to place on your door for attention. Incidentally we are here in person for our guests to contact us at any time during their stay, but at no time were we contacted by you with your concerns or to offer us a thank you for the upgrade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

We have stayed in Phillip Island 3 and Castle Villa id definitely the best. We stayed in a suite at the back of the property. It was quiet overlooking the garden and extremely comfortable. Highlight is the spa bath on the balcony overlooking the garden!! The whole property is spacious with many sitting out areas, including a lovely outdoor terrace. Jenny the host is lovely!! The place is 2 minutes from the sea front where you can the boats for seal watching and also a minutes walk from shops and restaurants. We loved it and will return again and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Phillip Island. Also the price is very competitive for the accommodation quality.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongKongSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to thank us with your enthusiastic review HongKong Susie. We really enjoy being able to share our Castle with guests who come with a positive attitude and understand how to have a magic holiday. In your case you spread good cheer and it was a pleasure to have you stay. Many thanks and come back again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We stayed in 2 bedroom self contained 'townhouse for 2 nights'

Good - location - very close to the Cowes beach and high street.

Bad - we did not get what we paid for. Property advertised as a townhouse but actually an apartment, with no wifi at all (our booking confirmation indicated that we would have free wifi). Most of the pictures on booking website were of the main property, which is seemingly quite nice. We found this apartment to be dated, and mostly furnished with Ikea-type furniture. Not worth 275 dollars per night that we paid!

Room Tip: Read the fine print when you go for this property
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank saadaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

This person booked through an agent and booked for 1 couple and arrived as a family group. The property has two bedrooms but one is closed off if only 1 bedroom is booked - hence the disclosure to us by phone after they booked in, to come there and open other bedroom. Then some story was concocted as to why they only booked 1-bedroom (forgot they had children ?) there is too much to tell about this - suffice to say that they had told lots of tales - it is a night we dont wish to remember. Please take this "review" off as this is about a couple who had committed deception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Stayed here recently for two nights. Really nice place close to the beach and the City centre. The room was very spacious but the balcony even bigger! Great to relax with a glas of wine. Boutique accommodation as it should be. Unfortunately no Internet available in the room and no Food Service.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
1  Thank AndreMueller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

thank you for choosing Castle Villa - the internet always wavers around on Phillip Island and we had such a massive amount of visitors on the Island in January - a record apparently. However you are always able to access it here and if any problem go out of bedroom to the lounge areas or your private outside balcony or the conservatory area and you can always connect - eventually. No, there is no food service as chef retired 10 years ago - however if you book again and want some treat to greet please advise and we can always order in for you. Happy travelling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Impressed from the moment we arrived. Friendly greeting, beautiful gardens, and even more stunning hotel/apartment. Attention to detail was just amazing. Everything we needed, was provided. Only one downfall was that we couldn't stay long enough. We will certainly be staying there again, hopefully very soon.
Natalie & Shane

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

hello Natalie and Shane - thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and sweet review - we dont do too bad a job do we? Words such as yours give us a real lift and the inspiration to keep on keeping on. We have the champagne on ice for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews