We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Castle Villa by the Sea
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

We have spent 2 nights in this wonderful hotel.
Great location. Great room. The view on the garden is very nice.
Spacious suite . Bathroom with jacuzzi. Very clean and you will simply feel spoilt.
Jennie is amazing. She will let you feel at home.
It was a pity to leave just after 2 days. Thank you Jenni! We will for sure come back!!!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Augusta Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

The location was very good, close to shops and restaurants, and parking the car on premise was fine. The room was more than good and we way too big for the 2 of us. Don't know what was on the day we arrived, but our welcome wasn't that great. We just got the key, and were pointed out to our room, that was it. The goodbye was pretty much the same.
The lack of WiFi and also the lack of clean towels made me decide to give this one a low rating. Sorry, but for this money I expect better.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank AlexMeester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

Mr.Alex Meester from Denmark - you were given a novel welcome on arriving in the early evening for your 2-day stay at The Castle - an upgrade in a beautiful self-entering apartment with private balcony, garden views both front and rear and extras such as chocolates by the bed, your own coffee making machine with free coffee, free WiFi - and of course plenty of clean towels. We also have room service signs to place on your door for attention. Incidentally we are here in person for our guests to contact us at any time during their stay, but at no time were we contacted by you with your concerns or to offer us a thank you for the upgrade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

We have stayed in Phillip Island 3 and Castle Villa id definitely the best. We stayed in a suite at the back of the property. It was quiet overlooking the garden and extremely comfortable. Highlight is the spa bath on the balcony overlooking the garden!! The whole property is spacious with many sitting out areas, including a lovely outdoor terrace. Jenny the host is lovely!! The place is 2 minutes from the sea front where you can the boats for seal watching and also a minutes walk from shops and restaurants. We loved it and will return again and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Phillip Island. Also the price is very competitive for the accommodation quality.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongKongSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to thank us with your enthusiastic review HongKong Susie. We really enjoy being able to share our Castle with guests who come with a positive attitude and understand how to have a magic holiday. In your case you spread good cheer and it was a pleasure to have you stay. Many thanks and come back again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We stayed in 2 bedroom self contained 'townhouse for 2 nights'

Good - location - very close to the Cowes beach and high street.

Bad - we did not get what we paid for. Property advertised as a townhouse but actually an apartment, with no wifi at all (our booking confirmation indicated that we would have free wifi). Most of the pictures on booking website were of the main property, which is seemingly quite nice. We found this apartment to be dated, and mostly furnished with Ikea-type furniture. Not worth 275 dollars per night that we paid!

Room Tip: Read the fine print when you go for this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank saadaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

This person booked through an agent and booked for 1 couple and arrived as a family group. The property has two bedrooms but one is closed off if only 1 bedroom is booked - hence the disclosure to us by phone after they booked in, to come there and open other bedroom. Then some story was concocted as to why they only booked 1-bedroom (forgot they had children ?) there is too much to tell about this - suffice to say that they had told lots of tales - it is a night we dont wish to remember. Please take this "review" off as this is about a couple who had committed deception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Stayed here recently for two nights. Really nice place close to the beach and the City centre. The room was very spacious but the balcony even bigger! Great to relax with a glas of wine. Boutique accommodation as it should be. Unfortunately no Internet available in the room and no Food Service.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
1  Thank AndreMueller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

thank you for choosing Castle Villa - the internet always wavers around on Phillip Island and we had such a massive amount of visitors on the Island in January - a record apparently. However you are always able to access it here and if any problem go out of bedroom to the lounge areas or your private outside balcony or the conservatory area and you can always connect - eventually. No, there is no food service as chef retired 10 years ago - however if you book again and want some treat to greet please advise and we can always order in for you. Happy travelling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.1 km away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
235 reviews
0.3 km away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 11 in Cowes
180 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
0.9 km away
Tropicana Motor Inn
Tropicana Motor Inn
#2 of 11 in Cowes
233 reviews
15.4 km away
Silverwater Resort
Silverwater Resort
#1 of 3 in San Remo
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Villa by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Villa by the Sea

Address: 7-9 Steele St | Phillip Island, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cowes
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cowes
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cowes
Price Range: $212 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Castle Villa by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Luxury Villa offers you your own island oasis and perfect carefree holiday accommodation, footsteps from the beach-front and hidden away in a magical garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Castle Villa by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Cowes
The Castle Villa By The Sea Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing