We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for Easter weekend”
Review of North Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
North Pier Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Reviewed 19 April 2017

TO start with there is no message where to collect keys after closing hours. We arrived at 19:45 to find reception closed and the phone went unanswered. The contact number on the answering machine is wrong number. We are supposed to figure out ourselves to collect the keys from neighboring restaurant. We got keys and managed our way to the right room in dark to be welcomed by smelly room. I booked for ocean view room and got one on ground floor. Not enough tissue rolls in the bathroom. Service is abysmal. Receptionist did not even care to take down our feedback.

only pro is the location and beautiful views.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms as the ocean view is obstructed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph_triumphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2017

Stayed 2 nights over Easter. Location is very good as across beach and short walk to Cowes Main Street. All downhill from there. Opened fridge in first 5mins and found a dead fish in plastic bag. Plumbing is noisy and unreliable. Older hotel and smells that way.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stenardw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel was a building site during our stay in Feb 2017.
This works involved daily felling/ trimming trees with chain saws, painting every thing that didn't move!
Result, noisy and smelly environment, preventing use pool, patio of our room for two mornings when the floor was painted. Each day we had to leave to get some peace and quiet. (The purpose of our hotel stay was to enjoy hotel pool side to relax)
On 22/2/17 the toilets blocked, on 22/23rd hotel external paint was being jet washed, on morning of 24/2/17 there was no running cold water, night of 25/2/17 water was running from above dripping all night into our bathroom.
In my view this hotel should have been closed for the well overdue refurbishment not have guests staying in effect a construction site.
A real shame as location was perfect.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GlynnWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We stayed here for World Superbikes and although it appears that they are beginning to make some changes to the place we found it quite ok for the money.
The service was good and the room facilities were ok.
My only issue was that the parking is very tight due to it being multi story I guess but when we were there they had cut down trees with my guess that they intend to extend the car park.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

The new owners seem to be doing a great job of upgrading this place. We have s newly refurbished room with a view of by water which is lovely, although it is a little like a building site. Fantastic location, across from the front beach and around the corner from restaurants and shops. I was a little worried about the reviews before coming, but it really is fine.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank travellinglady73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.2 km away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
235 reviews
0.3 km away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
0.3 km away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 11 in Cowes
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
0.3 km away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
0.7 km away
Tropicana Motor Inn
Tropicana Motor Inn
#2 of 11 in Cowes
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Pier Hotel

Address: 5 The Esplanade, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia (Formerly The Continental Hotel Phillip Island)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cowes
Price Range: $50 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Pier Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your North Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Cowes
North Pier Hotel Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing