We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tropicana Motor Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Seahorse Motel(Cowes)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Resort Kaloha(Cowes)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arthur Phillip Motor Inn(Cowes)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waves Apartments(Cowes)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$34
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$72
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Break Cottages(Cowes)(Great Value!)
US$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
The Castle Villa by the Sea(Cowes)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$150
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
96
125
24
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
125
24
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspenguin paradecontinental breakfast isphillip islandsmall poolquiet locationfamily roomspacious roomgreat place to stayelectric blanketsbacon and eggsshops and restaurantsstayed for one nightwould stay againspa suitevery pleasant staygreat roomfriendly reception
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2018

We had a lovely weekend away. The room was very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. Attention to detail was evident. The grounds and pool ideal for relaxing. It was close to the shops and restaurant. The staff were friendly and it had a lovely family atmosphere. I would reccomend it.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicana I, Owner at Tropicana Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hi Helen

We are happy to hear that you had a relaxing time with us this is what a weekend away is all about, we hope you come us and see us again when you need to unwind again.

Thanks
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Situated in a quiet street in Cowes, the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Lots of space for luggage storage and the spa was quite relaxing after a day of sightseeing. A continental style breakfast was included. The owners were very welcoming and always ready to give you some sightseeing tips.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wazza244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicana I, Owner at Tropicana Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for your review we are glad you found our Motel comfortable and enjoyed the sights of Phillip Island

Cheers
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

We stayed here as hubby was working at a race meeting at the local racetrack (crew chief). The motel is a little dated but don’t let that turn you away. The rooms were quite OK and clean, the beds were comfortable and the small kitchenette was a bonus for us to make breakfast before hubby’s early start.
The pool was very welcome during the recent hot weather and it was very nice to use the garden furniture and sit with friends over a cold beverage at the end of the day. There is a BBQ next to the pool that was in full use by many of the guests.

Overall it was close to Cowes and very handy to shops, cafes, the beach and local restaurants. The staff were super friendly and helpful as well.

One of our travellers was wheelchair bound and his room while not fully disabled friendly, did the job with ramps and a larger than normal bathroom so he was overall happy.

Room Tip: There is a corner, family room that has a balcony with chairs that overlooks the pool.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicana I, Owner at Tropicana Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hi Catherine

Thanks for the review we are glad that you enjoyed your stay over the Island Classic weekend and I think other travellers will find your feedback useful so thank you again we hope to see you on your next Phillip Island trip.

Thanks
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

The motel facilities are ok, clean enough but not spotless. A little bit dirty around the taps; the grout in the shower is dark. The bedding was clean and well presented and the beds are ok. Not great, just ok. Sort of firm enough, yet we had sore backs in the morning. You can hear the toilet flush and the TV in the room next door.

The room service man began around an hour before checkout. We were using the little verandah outside our room; we were the only people outside. Yet he parked his trolley right near us and kept walking away to service other rooms, returning several times. It did seem that he was interested in our conversation and we weren’t comfortable with the ‘space invasion’.

Everything in the place and the place across the road - also managed by Tropicana - is at least 30+ years behind the times. The breakfast included in the holiday (Cowes standard rip-off) price was awful. All the breakfast foods were processed packet ‘foods’ and were loaded with sugar. There was nothing fresh at all. And does anyone eat white bread anymore? If you don’t care about your health or weight, then this is the place for you.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank CharmedLife11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicana I, Owner at Tropicana Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Hi Therese,
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with some feedback, as this is how we can better ourselves and make our guests stay more enjoyable. We don’t ever want someone to not enjoy their time with us.

We are a family run business and have been short staffed this summer. This is not your problem I understand but we get out into the rooms as soon as people start to leave, which can be before the 10am check out time. This ensures our arriving guests can check in on time. We are sorry that this bothered you and you were made to feel like we were invading your space, this was not our intention at all.

I am also sorry to hear that you don’t enjoy the character of our property that is at least 70 years old. We feel for the buildings age it is in pretty good condition but like all things old it has its quirks. We feel that for the 3.5 star rating, our pricing is very competitive at all times of the year being the only Motel that offers a Free Continental Breakfast during peak times to some guests. Our free breakfast included Muesli, Corn Flakes, Nutrigrain, Weetbix, Rice Bubbles & Coco Pops. We had to smile when you mentioned everything we serve has sugar in it, but you allowed your grandson to eat Co Cops when you could have opted to give him Muesli or Wheet Bix. We also offer a selection on 4 breads including white (because yes people still eat white bread), wholemeal, multi grain, and fruit bead with butter and a selection of spreads. On top of cereal and bread we have 3 yogurt flavours 2 juice flavours 6 different types of teas as well as coffee and a choice of full cream milk and skim milk.

I feel that your comments relating to the price is unfair and unwarranted. My family and I work very hard to give our guests value for money, but yes it is more expensive to stay in peak time which is when you choose to come and visit beautiful Phillip Island, if businesses did not up the rates at this time of year we would not be able survive through the quieter winter months.

Once again we are sorry you did not enjoy your time with us and felt you couldn’t come to us and provide us with an opportunity to fix any issues you had.

Thanks
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Cannot fault this place at all.
Staff are very friendly and go out of their way for you. Stayed in the family room opposite the pool. Very comfortable beds and overall a great room. Breakfast (which was included) was great too.
Close proximity to beach, restaurants & cafes, shops and supermarkets - all within walking distance.
My family and I would stay there again when travelling to Phillip Island.
Thank you for making our stay a memorable one.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Elpi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicana I, Owner at Tropicana Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you for your review we are happy to hear that you had a good time with us. We hope to see you again some time.

Thanks
Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews