We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,532)
Filter reviews
1,532 results
Traveller rating
955
407
114
28
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
955
407
114
28
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location frosted glass prahran market across the road chapel street room service restaurant downstairs junior penthouse dumplings funky hotel comfortable bed chinese restaurant small kitchenette great shower south yarra your doorstep around the corner
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 1,532 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Very convenient location just across the road from Prahran Market. Room had trendy decor and conveniently self-contained with proper kitchenette. Very comfortable stay. I'd definitely go back! Front desk service was excellent also.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank unachoi2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear 'unachoi2018',

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Warm regards,
Emily M
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Nice hotel - good utensils and kitchen for cooking (could use an extra pan though), nice table to sit at, good TV position

Bad -
The shower/bathroom floor was smooth tiled and slippery, the shower door could use a slightly larger gap as it swept up the floormat towel (but it can swing the other way so its ok).
The toilet roll was too low and behind in room 114 so it was hard to reach.
The room was quite dark - maybe provide at least one lamp/area thats a little brighter or have a slightly bigger bench in the bathroom for people to get ready on.
The beds seemed comfy but I couldnt sleep - I think different pillows should be provided (i.e. two firmer/bigger and two softer/smaller) because teh matress didnt seem uncomfortable. It wasnt just me who couldnt sleep, the rest of my 6 friends in other rooms had similar issues.
The cleaner didnt provide more tissues after we used the tissue box and threw the empty packet on the couch with out things. I dont know who it was that did that.

I'm only providing this criticism to bring teh hotel quality up. Apart from this it was a very good hotel. I just think it could be better.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kristinepigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley A, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear 'kristinepigeon',

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We have a 24 hour reception so please give us a call any time and we can assist you with things like providing a pillow menu. We hope you will choose to stay with us in the future.

Warm regards,
Hayley A
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

I am not sure this is a 5 star hotel, at least not for well traveled international travellers. I suspect it could be a 5 star for people who come to Melbourne for a weekend stay over. Because we arrived late on Saturday, all the nice rooms were taken and we were given a very noisy room despite our 6-nite stay. It was Saturday nite and a lot of partying going around. Fine, but could the hotel notice where the customer is coming from and how many sites they are staying? (6 in our case). The hotel kindly moved us the next morning. Still I had to go through one sleepless night that could have been avoided.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rachael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley A, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear 'Rachael K',

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Prahran can be a lively area on the weekends. I am glad to hear that we were able to move you to a quieter room for the remainder of your stay.

Warm regards,
Hayley A
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Two busy days in Melbourne meant we needed PT on standby and The Cullen is perfect for this. Trams, the train and buses on the doorstep meant easy trips to Melbourne Uni, CBD, the Arts Precinct and Chapel St. The room was clean, beds comfy, staff lovely and efficient. Have breakfast at Mama Marijas (yellow door, facing Commercial Rd) over the road at the lush and plentiful Prahran Market.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear 'Sally M',

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the easily accessible public transport!
I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff, it is much appreciated.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Ward Regards,
Emily M
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

Great hotel close to Chapel St and opposite Prahran Markets. Markets great for fresh produce, coffee, etc.
Room had balcony with views of city
Beds & pillows super comfy!
Staff very friendly and helpful
This was second stay
Will be back!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Norman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear 'Norman D',

Thank you for a lovely review.
We are so glad that you continue to enjoy staying with us and make the most of our prime location.
We can't wait to have you stay again, third time's a charm!
See you soon.

Warm Regards,
Emily M
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews