We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weird place”

Pemberton Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pemberton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pemberton Backpackers
Reviewed 16 October 2016

It's not clear from the other reviews, but this isn't a standard YHA hostel. There are two parts - one bigger building next to the office, with dorm rooms housing people working on nearby farms, and a house up a side street with one dorm room and two double rooms for visitors. The latter is where you'll be staying if you're on a tourist trip. It's a regular house from Pemberton's logging days, which may sound quaint, but that means it has a tiny kitchen (a problem if there are more than a couple of people staying there), and high ceilings that keep it very cold.

There's basically no heat except for a wood stove, which is hard to justify firing up when you're only going to be in the kitchen or living room for an hour or two before getting in bed. The rooms have space heaters but they're not capable of increasing the temperature at all, given the size of the room, high ceiling, and drafty windows. It was pretty cold when I stayed there (down close to freezing at night, and only up to about 13C during the day), and that made me want to leave as soon as possible. The people at reception were hard to get hold of but helpful when they were around, and were able to give me a refund for the nights I had booked but decided not to stay.

It was clean, almost eerily so. Maybe they had a full change-out based on some of the other reviews, but it was completely spotless with what looked like brand new dishes and cookware in the kitchen (I was the only person there my first night). It was kind of creepy seeing that kind of stuff in what's supposed to be a backpacker hostel, where people often don't clean very well. They apparently have professional cleaners come every day to take care of the kitchen.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2016

I stayed at the cottage and it was lovely. There was plenty of room, a well appointed kitchen, dining and eating area and close to the supermarket. My only criticism, is there is only 1 toilet and bathroom, As this hostel potentially holds 14 people- I don't believe that's enough, however it wasn't full during my stay, so it was manageable.I would come back here again. The other hostel is near the railway line and that is where you check in and collect your key.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank Lysia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

terrible place ever. spend there couple of night and i never seen a place so dirty like this hostel!!!Muld everywhere,poor showers and i arrived at 11 am and the reception was colse like everyday since 5...????? what you should do in the middle in a small place like pemberton ?

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thefreeswallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Hygienic is disgusting. Worms, bugs in the kitchen, probably because of the fridge and the lockers that arent watched by the management and the open door. The bed smells like piss, you must buy your own pans and pots to cook, shower and toilets are freezin. Open door without any heating.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Sven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

The cottage is a fantastic, very clean and homely. Booked 2 double rooms in the cottage and enjoyed utilising the well equipped kitchen (which is spotless) and the BBQ on the back deck. Pemberton was an ideal stop for us coming from Albany enroute to Dunsbourgh.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pemberton hotels
0.9 km away
Gloucester Motel & Restaurant
15.5 km away
Karri Valley Resort
Karri Valley Resort
#2 of 6 in Pemberton
499 reviews
2.4 km away
Forest Lodge Resort
Forest Lodge Resort
#1 of 6 in Pemberton
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Karri Forest Motel
Karri Forest Motel
#4 of 6 in Pemberton
214 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Pemberton Hotel
5.0 km away
Big Brook Cottages
Big Brook Cottages
#3 of 28 in Pemberton
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pemberton Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pemberton Backpackers

Address: 7 Brockman St, Pemberton, Western Australia 6260, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Pemberton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Pemberton
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing