We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Rom
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Marina(Roses)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Carmen Hotel(Roses)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Prestige Hotel Mar y Sol Elit(Roses)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maritim(Roses)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ciutadella(Roses)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Montmar(Roses)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Casa del Mar Hotel(Roses)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vistabella(Roses)
US$169
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
44
74
30
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
74
30
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely atmospheresmall balconyone nightwifireception
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

First night we had the familly suit. Sticky and noisy. Moved to the new appartment. Fully equiped with pool. 10mins to beach. Fully recommended. Roses is very nice. Good restaurants around. Cheap or high class whatever needed.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
Thank JuergenSimoneAn... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Upon arrival our receptionist was very hospitable ,friendly, and helpful. Our rooms were very satisfactory. Our location was very close to the Boardwalk and to many restaurants, as well as markets. It was quiet at night. The breakfast was ample with yogurt, croissants, buns, cereals, meats and juices,as well as the ever present coffees. All in all a hotel worth staying at and not a disappointment .

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights, and would definitely stay again. While the hotel doesn't have things like a pool (the beach is less than 3 min's walk) it has a lovely atmosphere and all the staff are really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Simple,clean and reasonably priced, the Hostal Rom was a great last minute choice. Fifty yards from the sandy beach on a narrow back street the hotel's best points are not immediately apparent,however a short stay there soon proved that looks are not everything. The rooms are small but immaculately kept, fresh towels arrived daily and the room was made up to suit our coming and goings. Friendly staff and helpful management were always at hand. We were a party of six in three rooms spread across the hotel, if you have a choice opt for a room with a balcony, those without tend to get a little warmish given the less than state of the art air conditioning. To reflect the price, the rooms do not have a telephone or a television but wifi is free throughout the hotel.The clientele was mostly French and Spanish while we were there, a blessed relief from the usual noisy monoglot Brits we have often encountered in Spain. The bar closes promptly at midnight but there are loads of bars and restaurants nearby which open much later.If you hire a car there is free parking near the Ciutadella all week, bar Sunday, when cars have to be moved to make room for the extensive street market. By car or pre arranged excursion a trip to the beaches on the Cape de Creus and the fishing village of Cadaques is well worth doing and our friends recommended a 'Magic ' night time catamaran tour with food , drinks and diving.
We dined twice at the Hostal and the buffet choice was excellent, well presented and extremely tasty. If the weather gets a bit windy, which can happen in the area, blown sand can be a problem on the beach and the Hostal is prepared by virtue of having a small sun deck on the first floor well appointed with sun beds and a cooling shower.
On the negative side, we'd have preferred a better air-conditioning system and we were aware that the sound carried through the walls and doors from other rooms more than we'd have liked.
For a no-nonsense place to bed down you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms either to front or back are cooler.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhosBridin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Returned to the Hostal Rom after a gap of 53 years. Was delighted to find that it is now complete as it was still being built 53 years ago. It remains the same family run establishment and is quite delightful. The hotel is simple, fresh and clean. There was air conditioning in the room and an efficient ceiling fan. Our small balcony overlooked the narrow street at the front of building where it was pleasant to sit and watch the world go by. The breakfast was a very good buffet style with a good selection of bread, cheese and meat, plenty of fruit, juice, tea and coffee and there was both outside and inside seating available. Although we didn't go up, there is a roof terrace with sunbeds and, I understand, a shower to cool down. Hairdryers and toiletries are available from reception. Although we didn't have dinner at the Rom, the food smelled wonderful and the dining room seemed to be very popular. Free parking is available a short walk away after you have dropped off your luggage. WiFi is available but I'm unsure whether or not it's free. Although, for me, it was a massive gap between visits, I understand that many people return to the Hostal Rom on a regular basis and I am fairly sure that I will return in the fairly near future! If you require something a little more up market, then try the Hotel Carmen which is almost next door and owned and run by the same family but honestly, the Hostal Rom is an absolute delight and it was such a pleasure to revisit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Songara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews