We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,726)
Filter reviews
1,726 results
Traveller rating
475
716
320
108
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
716
320
108
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree busanimation teamresidential areasplash poolrocky coveblock ckids clubcrispschildren and adultsmini discobar stafffishfrench guestswater poloevening entertainmentfootball pitchtable tennis
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 1,726 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Hotel was lovely, rooms were spotless, kids splash pool was ok big pool was ok but not clean. The food was absolutely terrible, with such a small option for kids. This is meant to be a family hotel,the food says otherwise. The drinks included in the all inclusive were "cheap + nasty" also the entertainment was beyond atrocious! For a "family hotel" this place is discraceful. Not cheap either! We found ourselves eating out most times as the food was that bad. They served squid for kids. Wat 4 year old would eat bloody squid! Will defo not be back here, even if we were given a free holiday.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank MarkT3426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepe P, Director at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your observations with us, they really help us to improve.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

A nice hotel that really lets itself down. The rooms are nice and the pool set up really works well for the age of our little one.
I emailed before arriving to request a quiet room as we have a toddler who goes to bed early. Our room is on a high floor but faces the hotel next door, who's entertainment blasts until midnight every night. It would actually be better to hear our own hotels noise, as at least it finishes at 11pm.

Read online that kiddies dinner is made available from 5.30pm so the little ones dont need to wait until 7pm when the restaurant opens. On enquiring about this was told they no longer do this as there arent enough children in the resort. This is absolute NONSENSE as there are so many children and the restaurant simply cant cope with the numbers. Foodwise, you will always find something to eat but all the queuing is a bit undignified and feels a bit prison like.

The couttesy bus has also been restricted. Tried to book to go to Palma tomorrow and was told the bus is fully booked, only one journey tomorrow and no more until Saturday, when we leave. The buses run to Arenal, and the other beach trip others mentioned simply doesnt happen. So, unless you like an insanely busy beach like Arenal you are stuck in a hotel with very little else around.

It's a nice place, but service wise it feels like they have just given up.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Clarashaharra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepe P, Director at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your observations with us, they really help us to improve.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

I have been to this hotel maybe 5 times now, and it never disappoints. I usually come here with my partner for 4 or 5 nights but this time I came with friends and I must say it has been our best experience yet. I always book Ola hotels, however I think this may be one of my favourite.

The area: very quiet, no pubs or clubs. Golf course and water park near by. Supermarket and pharmacy, one or two quiet restaurants. And the most beautiful coast maybe a 15min walk away. (Just beware, it is a very very steep hill, and walking it in 30 degree heat is quite the challenge). There are free buses to arneal daily and a taxi at night cost us €15, less than 10mins. However for a short family holiday there isn't really any need to leave the hotel at all.

Grounds: spotlessly clean everywhere. You could see the managers walking the grounds a few times a day to make sure everything was perfect. More than enough loungers. Two pools, one quiet, one lively, and an amazing kids splash pool. Tennis courts, (there was mini golf before, but I didn't see it this time around but I'm not sure) onsite launderette and gym.

Staff: nothing is ever an issue, always smiling, always helpful. Animation team for both kids and adults are fantastic, always something to do. Great fun! As far as evening entertainment goes, it's your basic holiday entertainment, you'll see the same in every hotel but that doesn't mean when you're sitting down with a few drinks you won't enjoy it, it's easy going and light entertainment. Perfect.

Food and drink: amazing selection at buffets, very good quality. Yes people complain about the food but it is AI after all, there's a different meal every evening. I am not picky and really enjoyed every meal. If you are not willing to try something new of course it will end up very "samesy". But there are rows and rows to choose from. I have seen better snack bars but we made loads of toasties for ourselves and there was always something different so maybe pizza or quiche. The drinks are basic, no fancy cocktails but anything you can image - they have. Queues move very quickly too. All perfect.

Over all this a beautiful hotel, fantastic staff, great food. Very quiet area, can pop to town easily if you want. I will most definitely be back time and time again and will continue to recommend to family and friends for a quiet relaxing holiday where everything is taken care of from start to finish.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Emily Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepe P, Director at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear guest
Thank you very much for sharing your observations with us, they really help us to improve. We are glad you had a nice experience in Ola hotel Maioris and we hope you to be our guest again in the near future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Stayed together with my girlfriend and (almost) 2 year old daughter in this hotel from september 2nd until september 9th.
The arrival was a bit of a bummer as at the reception we were being told there wasn't a room for us during the first night of our stay. Because of this we had to sleep in the Best Delta hotel just next to the hotel. Not a big drama but it would have been nice if the hotel informed us upfront, that way we could have prepared a separate small suitcase for 1 night.
As 'compensation' we were offered use of the safe on our room for free but we refused as we didn't need the safe.

Room: very clean, refurbished room, no remarks at all, worth 4 stars for sure. Would have been even slightly better when the minibar was filled with water/soft drinks (like in Best Delta ;) ).
Swimming pools: our daughter had the time of her life in the 'splash pool', great place for all children, open from 10AM until 6PM, was perfect now but an earlier opening might be nice when it's really hot outside in the summer months. The large pool is open from 9AM until 7PM.
The area around the pools is cleaned at the end of each day which is not often enough to keep everything clean during the whole day.
Food: breakfast has everything you can imagine, definitely worth 4 stars. During lunch and dinner the buffet offers a lot of different options but in my opinion some finesse is missing, the food in general isn't warm enough, tepid slices of pizza, the icecream is half-melted when opening the cups, etc. The person who is keeping an eye on everything should see this and take action. I talked with other visitors and in general 3 stars seem more appropriate when it comes to the food.
Drinks: coca-cola (+light), fanta, sprite, Estrella Dam (+non-alcoholic) beer and cocktails are all included in the all-in.
Animation: our little girl enjoyed the minidisco :-) There is some sort of separate animation program for the French visitors (FRAM), it's probably better to combine everything into 1 excellent animation program in stead of 2 different programs. Kristof definitely tried very hard to create a good atmosphere.
Surroundings: not much to see nearby. There is a supermarket and a few small shops (bakery, pharmacist,...) but for more shops and a promenade you can take the free hotel bus to the very lively El Arenal (only 15 minutes away).

In general: decent hotel, too bad they make overbookings (we where not the only ones!!), improving some small details would justify the 4 stars even more.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepe P, Director at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your observations with us, they really help us to improve.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Right... first things first... literally ignore all of the bad reviews it's just people being nit picky because they are looking for bad things to say and what to have a bloody good moan!

This is the best hotel that we have stayed at abroad and we have already talked about booking for 2 weeks next year and recommended this place to all our family. We went for 1 week and we wished we had gone for 2!

I'll go through the points and if there are any negatives I will say.

HOTEL
The hotel was very clean when we stayed and clearly cleaned regularly. Yes the lifts were sometimes a bit questionable as sometimes there was a slight drop from the lift floor and the floor level so this could pose as a problem for wheelchair users. BUT I did read a review that someone gave the hotel 2/5 as this was the case. They were put on the top floor, but for the wheel chair user the lift dropped a bit. They had asked to go to the bottom for a roo... No matter what room you have you still need to use the lift or stairs as there are no rooms on ground floor but level 1 upwards. So no matter where you are you still need the lift so again people just moaning! ANYWAYS we were put on the top floor and the view was stunning. The room was very clean and polished. The bed wasn't the comfiest but you can't beat your own bed. REMEMBER THE AC WON'T WORK IF THE BALCONY DOOR IS OPEN IT MUST BE CLOSED. The hotel does turn the AC off after the 15th September they do outline this on their page but everyone seems to still moan that they refuse to turn it back on in October...

STAFF
The staff are absolutely amazing, multi lingual is an understatement as every member of staff that I saw could at least speak 2 languages, we were kindly greeted at reception by a man and woman both of which were switching from German, Spanish, French and English so quickly catering to each individual as best as they could. We felt very welcome.
The Fram team (which no one seems to mention) are a credit to the hotel they are mainly French speaking, and sort all of the evening entertainment out and make the day even more fun. Lounging by the pool tbh can get mega boring but there was never a moment of boredom here. There was music all day, and every hour or so we would see a Fram team member go around and ask if we wanted to participate in an activity like darts, aqua gym, cocktail games and what not. They are enthusiastic and fun (again speaking different languages) we will miss them!
We were greeted by members of staff upon arrival to the food area (again, VERY clean) and they said goodbye afterwards. The bar staff were fantastic and welcoming too.

FOOD
I'll quickly get to the food as there were quite a few negative reviews on on this.
The food was amazing there was so much variety, I don't know what people are talking about it was all the same and stale... the only thing is the chips served in the morning and lunch were clearly used from the evening before and reheated. They were fine, just a bit chewy but still edible and if that's your thing then great. We had different food on different days and we had different themes.
Going on to drinks, I literally saw like 3 wasps at the hotel by the drink taps... not loads like other reviews said. Besides it's a place where sugary drinks get spilled all the time it's going to attract wildlife... (Ps we went to katmandu and had the same thing, saw a wasp by the drink taps, it's a wasp thing not a hotel thing)

ENTERTAINMENT
The entertainment was fabulous! Everyone is welcome and NO ONE WAS MADE TO FEEL UNWELCOME there was no separate French and English entertainment and no one had different colour wristbands due to nationality either... (very petty reviews!) green wrist bands for over 18 and red/orange for under 18 it's to help staff distinguish incase an under 18 decides to try and get lucky with the wine! Lol
Anyways we had flamenco dancing, a musical, an exotic show with different animals, a magic show and a mini disco at the start of every evening with different songs originating from different countries like Germany, morrocco, UK, Spain. And the children loved it... again all were welcome.

THOMAS COOK REP
We had Sophie as our Thomas cook rep we booked our excursions with her and she was warm and welcoming. She had been thrown in the deep end as she was coving our actual rep because she had been taken unwell. Sophie didn't know the area as well as our original rep samamtha, but you wouldn't think it she did great. She wasn't given everything she needed for the excursions as we booked palma aquarium and were told we got free travel there. We didn't and we had to pay but when we got back to the hotel she sorted it immediately and we were refunded. We were meant to be given a bus ticket upon booking but she wasn't given the ticket book when she arrived to cover for the week.

Like I said at the start we will definitely be coming back next year, longer next time and with all our family! Hope this detailed review helps, sorry it's so long!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepe P, Director at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear guest
Thank you very much for sharing your observations with us, they really help us to improve. We are glad you had a nice experience in Ola hotel Maioris and we hope you to be our guest again in the near future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews