We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big variety.”
Review of Red Heifer

Red Heifer
Ranked #9 of 62 Restaurants in Mudgee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Lawson Park Hotel, Mudgee. Home of the Award Winning famous Red Heifer Bistro and AHA Award winning Country pub Chef of the Year. A Classic Aussie Pub, with Charming Country Hospitality and Service… Since the 1860’s. A must visit on any regional road trip and loved by the locals. For lunch, dinner and pub kitchen open hours please see trading hours. The pub is open daily from 10am until late, however the Red Heifer Bistro opens for lunch and dinner.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Visited as a group of 12. No problems booking a table (but did ring 3 weeks before to make sure). Great variety on menu. Favourite here is with steak you get to choose two sides from a huge list. It would be good if there was a chicken or fish option with choice of sides too. I had salmon, which was very good. Lots of steaks around the table. Everyone was happy with their meals which were all served promptly.

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank Happycampa26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2021 via mobile

Booked a table over the phone 5 days prior. They happily took the booking. We turned up about 15 minutes prior to see if table was available. Went up to the girl who was clearly the allocated staff member to show diners their table. Had to say “Excuse me” 3 times before she even deigned to look at us. Gave her our names and she seemed to know exactly where we were to be seated without having to check the book. When we saw the table we understood exactly why that might have been the case. It was literally right next to the door of the female toilets - with absolutely nothing separating us from it. Any woman needing to use it would have to brush up against our table to get to the loo. We simply walked out. Restaurant/bistro owners should never ever think it acceptable to seat patrons that close to a toilet. Take one less booking if you have to and don’t position the table there if you haven’t got room anywhere else but no one wants to pay money to have a meal right next to a public lavatories. Can’t comment on the food.

Date of visit: March 2021
2  Thank devsamra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2021

We came for the steak and boy we were not disappointed! The dry aged rib eye was delish, didn't even need sauce. The sides however weren't of note. A little exxy in price, in comparison to other steak restaurants i have been too, but happy to treat myself once in a while. Would love to come back when they have the butter aged steak and give that a crack. Good selection of Mudgee wines also

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ashlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2021 via mobile

Not really sure what all the fuss is about this place. Its a pub with pub food. Granted, my wife’s Thai Beef Salad was apparently very nice but my Chicken Burger was one of the worst I’ve had. It wasn’t all bad, the staff worked hard to fit us in and we did score some free food when a food order arrived from someone they’d just kicked out! But still just a pub meal, and average overall

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank agarda2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2021 via mobile

What a wonderful pub to have lunch their steaks are to die for Great to see lots of people out enjoying Would recommend any of their steaks we had the 300gm eye fillet & the 400gm rib eye on the bone

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank brucem277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Heifer also viewed

Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 
Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 

Been to Red Heifer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.