We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
312
147
38
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
147
38
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe chinese fishing netsfamily cottageeco resortle petitsister hotelthe cottagesback watersbeautiful placeair conditionerrooms are beautifullocal fishermensituated rightkerala tripprawnsarabian sealunch and dinnerindia
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We spent one night in the family cottage. Rooms are clean. Place is well kept. It is small, quaint and quiet with 'boutique' written all over it!
Expect something different to the traditional multiroom resort to really enjoy the experience.
Initially was skeptical when we walked in at lunch time and found that there were only 2 vegetarian options on the menu. Even a little upset that the front desk and had not been clear about vegetarian options even though we called 3 times before and after booking. However, this was one of the most memorable experiences by the time we left the next day. This is a place where one needs to slow down and relax and allow the ambience to get to you!!
Would recommend that you talk to manager directly to get a clear idea if your needs will be met.Mr. Emil, the manager was gracious and attentive.
The chef prepares all the food individually and they cook and bake french style menu items on site. The chef CREATED veg options for us and the food was definitely one the BEST that we had in our 7 day Kerala trip. Don't expect a buffet breakfast. You will thoroughly enjoy the individually cooked food instead. Although breakfast was free, having to PAY for 'speciality items' such as crepes and cappuccino at breakfast could be avoided by the management in my opinion.
Rooms are clean, AC in family cottage cools one room but not the other. The 'boutique' fans are noisy!! The rooms have traditional thatch roofs that are replaced every year.
The evening boat ride is a must. The boatman took us around the Chinese fishing nets. At our request, he even took us onto a working one. Amazing first hand experience for the family. We spent about 15 mins there. The fisherman refused the amount I wanted to give, truly remarkable in this day and age.
Went kayaking the next morning, my teenage son loved it.
There is a clean rocky beach (only 5 Mts of sand) within 5 minutes walk, where one can get soaked by the sea!!
Overall, would say that this is a satisfying place for those who have the patience to enjoy outdoor quiet, good food, and look for opportunities.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SanjayaV5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

We recently stayed here for a couple of nights and overall it was a good stay. It is very peaceful and relaxing in a great spot in Cherai.

The surrounding area is full of lovely village people and the beach is nearby; just a 5 minute walk. It is right on the backwaters which offers really beautiful views.

The room was very small and a little dark as it was dark wood but it was very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the wifi did not really reach our room.

We liked the ethos of the resort being eco friendly, this is something that more places in India could adopt.

The food is really good and they cooked according to my allergies. The Paneer Butter Masala was my favourite! The breakfast was also really good and filling.

The staff were really friendly and great apart from being told some wrong information about our ongoing travel which nearly made us miss our coach! Looking the receptionist called the bus company and got them to wait so we just made it.

There is no swimming pool but their sister property 10 minutes walk down the road has a pool you can use which is good.

Overall a good stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeS5752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

nothing like on the website pictures
it is dirty, I discover on property that I paid much more than others ( and I made the reservation directly with them), my room with view on the water, was a view on the garbage floating, the inside little water river is full with debris, should be ashamed
the massages are a disaster, and your naked body will give "dinner" to mosquitos. the "spa" is a room on the top of the kitchen, no window, you will have the noise and the smell and the mosquitos
the food is repetitive and soooooooo expensive, but the hotel is far from everything so no choice.
all the recommandation from reception appears to be wrong in timing , cost , distance
it was not a good experience

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Makstoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

We spent three nights in this beautiful resort. Rooms spacious,very clean with ceiling fans and some rooms with air conditioning (not necessary at night). Beautiful setting with views over the backwater and chinese fishing nets. We woke to lovely sunrise,lots of birds ,watching the local fishermen and coffee served on our private terrasse . Good breakfast choice and the lunch and dinner menus change every day. All the food we had was delicious and very reasonably priced. All the staff are so helpful and friendly, they do everything to make sure you have a great experience.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank hilary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Situated on the edge of the backwaters and within a short walk from the beach. This hotel was ideal after a busy few days in Cochin. We liked the fact that it was far enough away from the main resort area but close enough for a lovely walk along the almost deserted beach to the hub of the resort. The hotel provided a decent breakfast and a varied dinner menu. We used the pool at their sister hotel Petit Elephants just a short walk away.

Room Tip: The heritage building annexe are all new.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews