We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant ever!”
Review of Tropicana

Tropicana
Ranked #1 of 295 Restaurants in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Description: Tropicana Cafe Taberna will find a pleasant and modern space to make your visit an experience excellent.En this new stage reborn Tropicana Cafe Taberna dedicated to good food and principles that we consider fundamental: excellent grilled meats cooked with great affection and accompanied by quality ingredients, as your satisfaction is our main compromise.Con our biodynamic organic meat can taste meat from animals whose diet was controlled at 100% and efficiently, with carefully both the environment in which he grew animal as their welfare and development of a healthy and peaceful life of it. Thereby, we offer free products of chemical fertilizers, herbicides mor medication.
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Last wednesday we heard from a girl of Gibraltar about Tropicana. She told us that Tropicana is the best restaurant of Ronda. And she was right! The food is fresh, special and delicious! The owner speaks a lot of languages. We defenitaly come back!

1  Thank Floorica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Very delicious food. The artichokes and mushrooms were amazing. The entrecote was tender as it should be. Although the prices were definitely high, compared to other good restaurants in town. (We payed €90 for 2 persons, starters + main and 2 drinks / person).

2  Thank berenburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TROPICANA-taberna, Propietario at Tropicana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hello good Morning,

Firstly, thank you for your appreciation and your visit to Tropicana.

They are very kind to spend a few minutes of your time.

continuation will detail the dishes and prices.

Prices will be as follows.

* 2 waters 2,5€ × 2uds
*Heineken beer 2.5€
*Local organic Beer 4€ × 2uds
*Artichokes 12€
*Boletus edulis with truffle 14€
*Bull's tail crunchy 3,5€
*Beef steak matured and ecological 20€ × 2uds
*Bread for two people and service 1,5€ × 2uds
*Italian Cafe Lavazza 1,5

Total 88'50 € vat included.

They could have asked for just one entree or just an Entrecot to share and it would have cost them half.

Each person asks what he wants and he spends what he wants, we do not force anyone to order several dishes, remember it's your choice and the prices are marked on the menu.

That said I would like to thank you for your rating and your opinion on tripadvisor.

A cordial greeting

TROPICANA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

My parents and I visited this restaurant for lunch. It was the closest restaurant to where we parked the car but we then found out it was also the no 1 rated restaurant on Tripadvisor in Ronda, so naturally we expected it to be of a very high standard.
I ordered the gourmet burger, my father ordered the lamb tagine and my mother ordered the Iberian pork.
I had asked for my burger to be cooked medium and it was served raw in the middle. My father's lamb was very dry and should have been served on mashed potatoes but was instead served on french fries.
My mother's pork was also undercooked.

Looking around the restaurant everybody seemed to be ordering burgers because it was the cheapest item on the menu at €14.
My mother had ordered a gin and tonic and the gin measure was very small. Most restaurants in Spain never even measure spirits.
The quality of the food was average at best and considering the location, extremely overpriced.
For three lunches and two drinks each it cost us €90 which is actually extortionate!
Even the prices of food in the centre of Ronda aren't this expensive.

Very disappointed!

5  Thank lmt032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TROPICANA-taberna, Propietario at Tropicana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

This comment is reported to Tripadvisor.

We do not value his words because his criticism is destructive and devoid of interest, besides being a blackmailer.

If you can not afford this food stay in your house, it is cheaper.

For other customers please ask for prices so that this does not happen again and do not have this cheap excuse.

We've been in this for 30 years, third generation.

The best food and best service in town.

See you never!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We shared the ox tail as a starter and it was really good. Then my girlfriend had the dish of the day which was lamb risotto while I had the "entrecote" steak.

Our waiter was very kind and even a shot on thw house! We are pleased with the experience and would recommend 100%!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TROPICANA-taberna, Propietario at Tropicana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your good words and your excellent comment.

You described everything perfect and you are an honest person.

Thank you.

Receive a warm greeting from my family.

Thank you.

TROPICANA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

The best food we've had in Spain. The food was excellent: antichoke salad, Galician octopus, salmon sashimi. The waiter was very helpful and speaks very good English.

1  Thank Magda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TROPICANA-taberna, Propietario at Tropicana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your kind words and excellent commentary.

It was a pleasure to serve you.

They were very kind.

We send you a warm greeting from the family.

Thank you.

TROPICANA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropicana also viewed

Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing