We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week On Isla Verde”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental San Juan
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We had a relaxing week in San Juan. We like staying on the beach on Isla Verde avenue because of proximity to shops and restaurants. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Only complaint is the pool area mess. We stayed here a couple of years ago and it was great. This time was also very nice but not great. The grounds were not kept up as well and the lack of cleanliness at the pool was a problem. The pool had leaves and other debris in it constantly and there were used cans, bottles and cups all around the pool. This was true every day and throughout the day; morning, noon or night. And once I even saw a plastic cup inside the pool. It was obvious that the cleaning or pool area staff was not instructed or supervised to keep the pool and surrounding area clean. It was annoying to be on vacation somewhere that you think is higher end only to realize that the staff cares so little about cleaning. I bet I would not see this on most hotels on the island. I would stay here again because the overall value was good but I would talk to managers about the pool.

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevators are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank robjv2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you for your positive comments about our staff and for bringing your concern to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay at the pool area, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 2,719 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Wonderful hotel and service was excellent. Heartily recommend!! The staff was especially accommodating and helpful!! We loved eating at Ruth Chris which is located in the hotel property ---always great!! We could easily walk to shops and local restaurants. Old San Juan is short Uber drive from hotel!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank eskrmetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel's management was awesome Kudos to Mr Herman , general manager and host.. Thank you for taking such good care of your guest The preparation and contingency plans were flawless.
Not only a beautiful hotel but superbly run.
You can feel the love... so impressed! Thank you! So grateful!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
5  Thank Marilyn1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you for such a great review about your recent experience with us. We greatly appreciate the trust we received from you as our guest and the commitment of our General Manager and all the associates that volunteered to work during the emergency to make our customers feel secure and comfortable during Hurricane Irma’s path through the Island.

We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel upgraded us to a two room suite, but we chose to downgrade to the ocean view suite instead! Great move! Food amazing, room spotless, bed comfy, people friendly! We enjoyed it totally!
The only issue I had was there were a lot of people there on the beach (probably bc the weekend) that were obviously there for a party! Lots of g strings, partying, tattoos
And younger crowd. If you like that kind of atmosphere the beach would be good.
We had a great time gambling at the Ritz! The area was kinda dirty, but we chose simple activities. The spa was great and my massage was amazing! I wouldn't recommend a "beach" massage....you are literally on the public beach with the crowds and loud music all around!:( go to the spa and relax!:)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank tiffanybrafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

I love the location and the staff. also the beach
but the rooms are so old and water dripping from the ac . the toilets are so old like a hotel in the 1960.
they should renovate this hotel .I have been staying here for the least 10 years

Room Tip: don't stay on the top floor water is dripping in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 639mendels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations this time, and we sincerely regret that your experience was not to your entire satisfaction. Your concerns have been shared with our management team, which always welcomes suggestions for improvement.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us and we sincerely hope you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.1 km away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.7 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
0.4 km away
Verdanza Hotel
Verdanza Hotel
#9 of 13 in Isla Verde
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-5720, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $313 - $803 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place - immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing