We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Book - Terrible Staff and Hospitality”
Review of La Playita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Playita
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017

It doesn’t matter how nice a hotel is if the hospitality is decrepit. We were planning on staying in La Playita as our last night of our honeymoon in Puerto Rico, and were really excited about it because this hotel is right on the beach and we could thus sneak in an extra beach day. Unfortunately, hurricane Maria was threatening Puerto Rico in the days leading up, and so we had to make a few plans depending on if we could get a flight out in time. Coordinating with this hotel was an absolute nightmare. If you don’t speak Spanish, don’t bother. Even after 9 years of learning Spanish in high school and university and practicing medicine in a Spanish community, my husband and I dreaded calling them because they weren’t willing to speak slower over the phone. Compound that with the fact that they didn’t pick up the phone half the time we called them, this hotel gave us an incredible amount of stress when planning for the hurricane. In the end, we did get a flight out before the hurricane (thankfully), and so when we requested to cancel our reservation, they insisted on maintaining their cancellation fee even when a cat-5 hurricane was the reason… which is absurd. Every other hotel we had to cancel due to hurricane Irma waived their cancellation fees, and Irma didn’t even make a direct hit! Overall, this hotel might be beautiful, but our experience was a nightmare and we must caution others against booking with them.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

This Hotel is Quaint and Comfortable and is exactly what I expected with the added bonus of great food and drinks.

The Staff was very pleasant and helpful and the overall hotel was clean and inviting.

The continental breakfast was exactly what I expected

The location is Great and Only steps from the Beach!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

My husband and I stayed 9 nights in this wonderful little place and if we ever going to visit Puerto Rico again- THIS where we going to stay!
La Playita is a small, cozy, very clean hotel.
The building is old, but they working hard on improving it.
Room had all that we possibly could need and room service did a good job.
All the Staff makes you feel like you are part of the family.
Every morning I was looking forward to have breakfast with an ocean view on the deck of their restaurant. And in the evening you can enjoy delicious Mojito looking at the ocean and listening to the short tropical rain and Caribbean music.
To all these negative comments only one thing I can say : if you try to save your money on the hotel and generally trip- you get what you paying for. You should absolutely book yourself a room in Hilton or Ritz as those hotels perfect for your demands and pay twice as much price for it, or your can spend this amount to have fun in PR.
We were absolutely happy with what La Playita had to offer us, as we was looking for a great adventure, lots of exploring during the day and quite nights in our wonderful little place.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank olenaslyvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

The staff was pleasant but the actual hotel was nasty. No telephone to call for room service. No pool or immediate beach access even though its on the water. We paid the extra for an ocean view room. The view was of the ocean AND the roof... which took away from the view. Stains on the bed sheets, scuffed up furniture, the tub/shower stained and the shower faucet was broken and difficult to get hot water. Cheap shampoo and soap dispensers in the shower area. There were roaches around the bar....which is where the breakfast is served in the morning. The bar /restaurant closes down at 10pm even on friday and saturday night. It was creepy at night since everything there shut down so early.....and yes... it is located next door to a condemned building. Not recommended.....its over priced for the condition. Our friends stayed at the Courtyard Marriott for about $30 more per night and it was excellent there and worth the extra $$$.

Room Tip: Don't pay for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lbalanag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

My wife when we first got to the hotel said this looks like it is out of a movie!! Little did we know that a few weeks earlier there was a movie filmed there. Rooms are clean and quaint. The hotel staff is top notch. I felt like we made new friends with all the hotel staff from the valet guys to Corey who runs the restaurant. The restaurant was by far the best place we ate the entire time we were in PR. In fact we ate there several times for lunch and dinner....it was that good!! Location of hotel is perfect for day excursions to other parts of the island. Would definitely stay here again when we come back to PR.

Room Tip: Ocean view room is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TNTravelers20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Verde hotels
0.8 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
1.2 km away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#4 of 13 in Isla Verde
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 13 in Isla Verde
305 reviews
0.8 km away
Verdanza Hotel
Verdanza Hotel
#9 of 13 in Isla Verde
1,619 reviews
1.0 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playita

Address: 6 Calle Amapola, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7244, Puerto Rico (Formerly Hotel La Playa)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $243 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 15-room motel-style hotel, restaurant and bar in Isla Verde - only 5 minutes from San Juan's airport. Only 10 steps to the best beach in San Juan from our front door. La Playita restaurant and bar on ocean-front deck for fantastic views. New 'Miami-style' design and decor feature new beds, flat-panel cable TV, air conditioning, new bathrooms and complementary continental breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your La Playita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Playa Hotel
La Playa Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing