We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and Magical Place”
Review of Brier Island Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brier Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westport
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We just spent 3 days at this lovely lodge. The owner and staff (especially Virginia) are personable and helpful regarding local activities and wildlife; the food idelicious; and the wildlife sublime! We watched whales from the dining room during our first breakfast - a great way to start our day and visit to Brier Island. We also saw an eagle that morning in front of the lodge from our room! The zodiac whale watching that day was terrific. We followed a mother and calf and saw another whale as well as birds (including a few puffins), seals and dolphins. We returned to the Brier Island Lodge for an amazing dinner including mussels, scallops and more! The following day we watched a whale incredibly close to our zodiac for many close up views! I strongly recommend Brier Island and the Brier Island Lodge to whale watchers, bird enthusiasts and hikers.

Room Tip: Room with a view of lighthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elizabethhaberkorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

Briar Island Lodge's restaurant is a must for those travelling to Briar Island for whale watching, hiking, etc. The food was out of this world! In a very simplistic lodge setting, the presentation of the meals to the quality was worthy of a Michelin star. I would say this is one of the best restaurants in Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kellymF7184IV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We stayed two nights during our whale watching experience. The rooms are clean, but simple. No TV. When the sun goes down, read a book or sleep. As there is nowhere else to eat, the hotel restaurant was the only option. The food was good, but staff seemed overwhelmed at both breakfast and supper. The restaurant had a spectacular view, but most room did not.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave2496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We were on the 4:30pm whale-watching cruise out of Brier Island and boy was I glad to have booked a room at the Brier Island Lodge. After returning about 7:30pm and 3 hours on the water, the last thing I wanted to do was get into my car and take 2 ferries to drive to another town to sleep. Brier Island Lodge was well-maintained, a large room, comfortable bed and bath. Nice restaurant. The photo shown makes the property look more plain than it is. It's a nice property overlooking the Bay of Fundy.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

From the moment we walked through the door we received the warmest of welcomes! The guy manning reception chatted, joked, offered to make us a cocktail and talked us through all the available walking routes in the island. All of the staff here have a real passion for the place which is lovely to see, and we felt at home right away.

After a lovely evening walk to seal cove we went to the restaurant not expecting much...and were pleasantly surprised by the delicious heartwarming food on offer. The cheesecake in particular is to die for.

The rooms are neat and well equipped and the location is stunning. Breakfast in the morning was just what we needed to set us up for a busy day of whale watching and the kind and attentive service really made our stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Brier Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brier Island Lodge

Address: 557 Water Street, Westport, Nova Scotia B0V 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Brier Island > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: $142 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brier Island Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brier Island Lodge offers 40 clean, comfortable rooms, most with an ocean/lighthouse view, along with a unique Nova Scotia regional dining experience and whale watching boat tours. Brier Island is famous for some of the best whale watching in the world, miles of coastal hiking trails, exceptional birdwatching, seal spotting, rock hounding, sand beach, traditional fishing village and three working lighthouses. A true maritime ecological paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Brier Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brier Island Hotel Westport
Brier Island Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing