We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Voyageur Motel(Yarmouth)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakelawn B&B Motel(Yarmouth)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hedley House(Smith's Cove)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
100
100
52
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
100
52
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomwhale watching tourbrier islandnova scotiasee whalesseal covegreat viewsecond floorenjoyed our stayget awaydigby necksecond to nonelong timestayed one nightseafoodcoffee makerbeautiful place
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Briar Island Lodge's restaurant is a must for those travelling to Briar Island for whale watching, hiking, etc. The food was out of this world! In a very simplistic lodge setting, the presentation of the meals to the quality was worthy of a Michelin star. I would say this is one of the best restaurants in Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kellymF7184IV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We stayed two nights during our whale watching experience. The rooms are clean, but simple. No TV. When the sun goes down, read a book or sleep. As there is nowhere else to eat, the hotel restaurant was the only option. The food was good, but staff seemed overwhelmed at both breakfast and supper. The restaurant had a spectacular view, but most room did not.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave2496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We were on the 4:30pm whale-watching cruise out of Brier Island and boy was I glad to have booked a room at the Brier Island Lodge. After returning about 7:30pm and 3 hours on the water, the last thing I wanted to do was get into my car and take 2 ferries to drive to another town to sleep. Brier Island Lodge was well-maintained, a large room, comfortable bed and bath. Nice restaurant. The photo shown makes the property look more plain than it is. It's a nice property overlooking the Bay of Fundy.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

From the moment we walked through the door we received the warmest of welcomes! The guy manning reception chatted, joked, offered to make us a cocktail and talked us through all the available walking routes in the island. All of the staff here have a real passion for the place which is lovely to see, and we felt at home right away.

After a lovely evening walk to seal cove we went to the restaurant not expecting much...and were pleasantly surprised by the delicious heartwarming food on offer. The cheesecake in particular is to die for.

The rooms are neat and well equipped and the location is stunning. Breakfast in the morning was just what we needed to set us up for a busy day of whale watching and the kind and attentive service really made our stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

This was our first trip in Nova Scotia, with our two kids (5 and 7). We did a few cities (Halifax, Lunenburg, Brier Island, Annapolis Royal), but the most breathtaking was definitely here, at Brier Island! Some of the trekking is well adapted for kids, the Lodge is well situated on the Island with probably the best view. If you are patient, you may as well see whales directly in the harbor from your room window! The owners, Virginia and especially her husband were very welcoming. The spacious family room is great for kids while your finishing your meal in the next room. Rooms are also very comfortable and the food very good. Only comment is that they seemed to have a lack of staff in the restaurant so don't be in any rush when eating breakfast or dinner there.

Finally, the company referred by the Lodge for the whale watching, Brier Island Whale and Seabird Cruises, was excellent. The weather was definitely on our side and we saw many whales, dolphins and seals. We were there only 2 nights and if we had to do it again, we should have stayed a few extra nights!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a better view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews