We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brier Island Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Cape View Motel and Cottages(Mavillette)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Voyageur Motel(Yarmouth)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Rancho Motel(Yarmouth)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakelawn B&B Motel(Yarmouth)
US$80
US$77
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$232
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
94
95
51
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
95
51
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomwhale watching tourbrier islandnova scotiaseal covesee whalesgreat viewsecond floorget awaydigby necksecond to nonescallopsstayed one nightseafoodbeautiful placesea birdswatch tv
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Brier Island Is on the Southwestern tip of Nova Scotia down the Digby Neck Peninsula, across Long Island into the Bay of Fundy. All the Brier Island roads lead to lighthouses on windswept, rocky coast lines, which are stunningly beautiful when they aren't fog-clad. They are good for walking and driving...there is no traffic problem on the Island. We stayed on Brier Island three days and stayed in the Lodge and ate breakfast and dinner there everyday. The kitchen is first-rate and integrates local items like Digby Scallops into the menu. The younger wait staff in the Resturant was generally inexperienced, but tried hard. The older wait staff did much better.

They make a phenomenal Seafood Chowder at the Brier Island Lodge!

Our room had a spectacular view of the passage between Brier Island and Long Island. The room was ample, had WiFi, but no TV, which was no matter to us. Staff was friendly and helpful. ,

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view in one of the out buildings, best views from second floor,
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbrower628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We booked with Brier Island Lodge as they offer a whale watching package. The whale watching was incredible but sadly the accommodation was not.

The lodge has incredible views and the staff were mostly friendly until we had a complaint.

We were put in room 17 which was nice until around 9:30pm when a horrendously loud noise started which caused the furniture in our room to vibrate. Assuming it was maybe the plumbing issue or similar we left it half an hour but when it didn't stop my fiancé went to reception to see what it was.

The woman on reception was rude and unapologetic and advised the room above ours has a jacuzzi bath and the guest above us was entitled to use it as long as they wanted. She didn't offer to move us or offer any solution other than to wait it out.

The following morning we went to reception again to ask if another room was available. The staff member, Ballan, was exceptionally helpful and moved us to a room on the top floor. The woman the night before was senior to him however she could learn a thing or two from his hospitality!

The room did not have a TV and the drink selection was limited with no milk for tea. The kettle was coffee stained. Also the dinner food in the restaurant was overpriced, small portions and bland.

All in all there are cheaper places to stay on the island and I wouldn't recommend staying here if you are hoping for a deal. Certainly don't stay in room 17!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank JCMtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We just spent 3 days at this lovely lodge. The owner and staff (especially Virginia) are personable and helpful regarding local activities and wildlife; the food idelicious; and the wildlife sublime! We watched whales from the dining room during our first breakfast - a great way to start our day and visit to Brier Island. We also saw an eagle that morning in front of the lodge from our room! The zodiac whale watching that day was terrific. We followed a mother and calf and saw another whale as well as birds (including a few puffins), seals and dolphins. We returned to the Brier Island Lodge for an amazing dinner including mussels, scallops and more! The following day we watched a whale incredibly close to our zodiac for many close up views! I strongly recommend Brier Island and the Brier Island Lodge to whale watchers, bird enthusiasts and hikers.

Room Tip: Room with a view of lighthouse!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elizabethhaberkorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Briar Island Lodge's restaurant is a must for those travelling to Briar Island for whale watching, hiking, etc. The food was out of this world! In a very simplistic lodge setting, the presentation of the meals to the quality was worthy of a Michelin star. I would say this is one of the best restaurants in Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kellymF7184IV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We stayed two nights during our whale watching experience. The rooms are clean, but simple. No TV. When the sun goes down, read a book or sleep. As there is nowhere else to eat, the hotel restaurant was the only option. The food was good, but staff seemed overwhelmed at both breakfast and supper. The restaurant had a spectacular view, but most room did not.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave2496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews