We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale watching and breakfast”
Review of Brier Island Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brier Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westport
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We had a long day of travelling and arrived late so we could not see the beauty of the island; but in the morning it was lovely.
The lodge itself was rustic but adequate and the manager was great and helpful but where they shine is the food. The breakfast was fantastic- by far they have the best porridge ever and could easily be shared and their fish cakes are to die for.
I only wish we had stayed 2 night to spend time on the island and eat there again

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Campscooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Brier Island Is on the Southwestern tip of Nova Scotia down the Digby Neck Peninsula, across Long Island into the Bay of Fundy. All the Brier Island roads lead to lighthouses on windswept, rocky coast lines, which are stunningly beautiful when they aren't fog-clad. They are good for walking and driving...there is no traffic problem on the Island. We stayed on Brier Island three days and stayed in the Lodge and ate breakfast and dinner there everyday. The kitchen is first-rate and integrates local items like Digby Scallops into the menu. The younger wait staff in the Resturant was generally inexperienced, but tried hard. The older wait staff did much better.

They make a phenomenal Seafood Chowder at the Brier Island Lodge!

Our room had a spectacular view of the passage between Brier Island and Long Island. The room was ample, had WiFi, but no TV, which was no matter to us. Staff was friendly and helpful. ,

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view in one of the out buildings, best views from second floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbrower628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We booked with Brier Island Lodge as they offer a whale watching package. The whale watching was incredible but sadly the accommodation was not.

The lodge has incredible views and the staff were mostly friendly until we had a complaint.

We were put in room 17 which was nice until around 9:30pm when a horrendously loud noise started which caused the furniture in our room to vibrate. Assuming it was maybe the plumbing issue or similar we left it half an hour but when it didn't stop my fiancé went to reception to see what it was.

The woman on reception was rude and unapologetic and advised the room above ours has a jacuzzi bath and the guest above us was entitled to use it as long as they wanted. She didn't offer to move us or offer any solution other than to wait it out.

The following morning we went to reception again to ask if another room was available. The staff member, Ballan, was exceptionally helpful and moved us to a room on the top floor. The woman the night before was senior to him however she could learn a thing or two from his hospitality!

The room did not have a TV and the drink selection was limited with no milk for tea. The kettle was coffee stained. Also the dinner food in the restaurant was overpriced, small portions and bland.

All in all there are cheaper places to stay on the island and I wouldn't recommend staying here if you are hoping for a deal. Certainly don't stay in room 17!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JCMtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We just spent 3 days at this lovely lodge. The owner and staff (especially Virginia) are personable and helpful regarding local activities and wildlife; the food idelicious; and the wildlife sublime! We watched whales from the dining room during our first breakfast - a great way to start our day and visit to Brier Island. We also saw an eagle that morning in front of the lodge from our room! The zodiac whale watching that day was terrific. We followed a mother and calf and saw another whale as well as birds (including a few puffins), seals and dolphins. We returned to the Brier Island Lodge for an amazing dinner including mussels, scallops and more! The following day we watched a whale incredibly close to our zodiac for many close up views! I strongly recommend Brier Island and the Brier Island Lodge to whale watchers, bird enthusiasts and hikers.

Room Tip: Room with a view of lighthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elizabethhaberkorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Briar Island Lodge's restaurant is a must for those travelling to Briar Island for whale watching, hiking, etc. The food was out of this world! In a very simplistic lodge setting, the presentation of the meals to the quality was worthy of a Michelin star. I would say this is one of the best restaurants in Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kellymF7184IV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
24.8 km away
Cape View Motel and Cottages
22.3 km away
A la Maison d'Amitie
A la Maison d'Amitie
#1 of 1 in Mavillette
22 reviews
18.0 km away
Chateau Sainte-Marie B&B
Chateau Sainte-Marie B&B
#2 of 2 in Little Brook
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 km away
The Olde Village Inn
The Olde Village Inn
#12 of 14 in Digby
5 reviews
39.2 km away
Churchill Mansion Inn
Churchill Mansion Inn
#3 of 5 in Yarmouth
36 reviews
0.0 km away
Basinview Motel
Basinview Motel
#2 of 2 in Smith's Cove
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brier Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brier Island Lodge

Address: 557 Water Street, Westport, Nova Scotia B0V 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Brier Island > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: $132 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brier Island Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brier Island Lodge offers 40 clean, comfortable rooms, most with an ocean/lighthouse view, along with a unique Nova Scotia regional dining experience and whale watching boat tours. Brier Island is famous for some of the best whale watching in the world, miles of coastal hiking trails, exceptional birdwatching, seal spotting, rock hounding, sand beach, traditional fishing village and three working lighthouses. A true maritime ecological paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Brier Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brier Island Hotel Westport
Brier Island Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing