We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,041)
Filter reviews
1,041 results
Traveller rating
416
269
178
97
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
269
178
97
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews groupon deal spa facilities hot tub wedding venue full body massage glass of prosecco evening meal wedding breakfast birthday treat four poster bed bridal suite relaxing stay the main house my mum one night stay an overnight stay lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,041 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Stayed here in 2015 so decided to give the spa another try as we loved it last time and were in the area so called and booked use of the spa facilities for £30pp. Arrived 11AM and left by 12:30. Nothing to do. Boring rooms. Pool area had 4 buttons to activate various jets and waterfalls etc 3 of which were broken and the general cleanliness of this area left a little to be desired, sadly, would not rush back.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kirky2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RookeryManor, Manager at Rookery Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Hi Kirky2k2,

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the facilities on offer in our spa. I feel confident in saying that had you spoken to our staff regarding the hydrotherapy pool jet activation this could have been rectified at the time. Our hot door hot tubs, steam room, relaxation rooms and more are usually praised by our customers. We are sorry you did not feel this way. Best wishes Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Not a good opinion on 1st arriving, no kerb appeal! Reception hidden and very basic and doesn't do the rest of the hotel justice. Our room was in the manor house, right at the top of building. Very uncomfortable bed, springs coming through the mattress definitely needs replacing as does the coffee table full of ring marks and a very shabby state. Lovely balcony to sit out on, over looking the very well kept gardens. The spa facilities make this hotel worth the visit. Very helpful staff who seem to double up as reception when at 4pm the main reception closed, saw a couple of incoming guest confused as to where to check in. Breakfast..... oh dear me, it all seemed a bit dried up, cheap sausages, only a few bits of bacon left., scrambled egg only egg option, the toast that you have to do yourself was the best bit for me. If the hotel was busy could of understood maybe. Plus side the restaurant looks stunning. Never ate there in the evenings, found a couple of near by pubs. We will return as the price and spa make it value for money.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank craneage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RookeryManor, Manager at Rookery Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Hi Craneage,

We apologise you found the bed in your room uncomfortable, we have since checked the room and rectified any issues found. I was surprised to read your comments regarding breakfast, we use a local butchers, other egg options are available on request and I am sure the chef would have cooked fresh and replaced all items had he been informed. We would like to thank you for your kind words. I love the manor gardens, especially at night and the spa is so relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best wishes Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

We have stayed at Rookery Manor before and loved it. Unfortunately this visit was a different experience. We stayed for two nights on the special deal which included dinner, bed and breakfast. On arrival we could not easily find Reception but eventually got checked into one of the lodge rooms. The lodge sits separate to the main hotel and has three rooms downstairs and three upstairs. Room was clean and modern with small patio area. No privacy nets which was not ideal. One towel each (worn and somewhat threadbare); no bath mat for getting out of shower. No chain or peephole on door and as the front door to the 3 downstairs rooms is unlocked we didn’t feel very secure (lodge is on quiet road). The walls seem to be paper thin and the upstairs floorboards creak excessively making for a noisy night if you are downstairs. Dinner was superb if somewhat disorganised but the friendliness of the two staff, Missy and Shawna, more than compensated. They made our evening so much fun! The chef and several staff are leaving shortly which is a shame – the wild mushroom risotto is one of the best I have had. Breakfast was a very good hot and cold buffet. And then it all went wrong… long story short we were forced to leave the hotel at 1am due to rowdy residents in the room next to us and above us. Tried calling the duty manager from our room (several times) and from our mobile (several times). No answer and no voicemail facility. So, went to Reception at 1am to find the door wide open and no one around. Again, a security issue in our minds. We left the key snd note, drove home, getting in at 3am. Also sent an email. Had an apologetic call from the duty manager the next morning and he assured me the owner/manager would ring shortly. I rang the hotel who said the manager would ring me straight back as he was dealing with a fire alarm issue. Still had not heard by afternoon so rang again – at lunch would ring back. Eventually got a call at 2.45pm. I was told that the rowdy residents had booked through a third party so the hotel had no control over the booking. The manager said our outstanding bill was £58 but he would cancel the bar bill of £13 leaving us a balance of £45 for dinners to pay. I explained we were on a special deal and he replied “oh yes – in that case I will cancel the bar bill of £13 to compensate and we are even”, Really????? So we have lost a nights bed and breakfast and we are even – I think not. VERY disappointed with hotel facilities and most importantly the total lack of customer care and concern. We will not be staying here again despite our previous good experience. The hotel is definitely on a downturn.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RookeryManor, Manager at Rookery Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Hello Debbie H,

I apologise you did not feel secure in your room, the exterior door to the Rookery Lodge has a self lock system. This means when the door is closed it will lock, from the inside no key is required, however externally you would need to unlock with the key. As long as the door is shut fully the door is locked, I apologise this was not explained at the time. I also apologise you were disturbed by noisy neighbours. We expect all our guests to behave in a respectful and courteous manner, however I am sure you can appreciate this is somewhat beyond our control. We were sorry to find you felt the need to check out early. I can only apologise for the disappointment you have expressed with regards to the customer service your experienced during and following your stay. We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and for your praise regarding the wild mushroom risotto. We hope to improve your opinion of us in the future. Best wishes Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

Last year we decided to start looking round at wedding venues. We came across rookery manor. So I emailed them asking for details etc and within the same day received a response. We went for a walk round and fell in love with the venue. We went for a sit down conversation with Kim the wedding co ordinator, we told her what we wanted etc and she gave us a price. We didn’t have the money that day to book our date, she kept on stressing To us that the prices are due to go up by £1000 soon so to get the cheaper price we had to hurry and book our date. We filled out relevant paper work and she said to phone her back by the end of the week with the deposit. Then the day after we received a lovely email saying how lovely it was to meet us etc. We paid the deposit at the end of the week, and no sooner than we paid the deposit it was like all communication stopped. We also kept checking the price of rookery and still no price rise at all!! They just wanted to get our money. We would email and wouldn’t get a reply, we called and no reply. It was like as soon as they received the money it didn’t matter. 5 months later Due to unforeseen circumstance we had to hold the date we chose and they said we could transfer it to another date. We then tried contact them again with possible dates and what we wanted and again nothing back! The lack of customer service as soon as they have your money is shocking.
My partner called again this morning after non reply of my emails and said that we aren’t happy and won’t be using rookery for our wedding. Kim just said oh ok not to worry but your £1000 is non refundable.
Disappointed and disgusting customer service. I wish we didn’t waste of money!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kayleigh9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RookeryManor, Manager at Rookery Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Hello Kayleigh9876,

Thank you for your kind words regarding the Manor and grounds. I am so sorry you found the need to hold your wedding and subsequently cancel. I can only apologise for the disappointment you expressed when dealing with our events team. We were troubled to hear you felt there was no communication once the deposit was paid. We hope that in the future you may allow us the opportunity to change your opinion of us. Best wishes Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Had a fabulous time. Room in Manor House was lovely, overlooking stunning gardens. Spa was very intimate and relaxing. Meal in restaurant was superb, cooked to perfection and good choice. Staff very accommodating and happy to please. Gardens even more beautiful at night. Loved the ceiling star lights in our room, so romantic. Peaceful nights sleep followed by a lovely breakfast. Great place to unwind and relax.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor in Manor House are lovely.
Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Trudi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RookeryManor, Manager at Rookery Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Hi Trudi B,

Thank you for your kind words, all our staff were pleased to be recognised for the hard work they do. The chef was especially happy you enjoyed your meal. He has since amended the menu, you will have to come back again and try something new. We are glad you found the spa relaxing and the manor gardens are one my favourite places, especially at night. Many thanks Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews