We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience, one you would not want to miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 April 2016

We started our trip at Lapas Rios and should have just spent the whole trip here, because nothing else lived up to this experience. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Alex to the moment we left, ALL the staff and our experiences were amazing. The rooms were spectacular in their simplicity and allowing you to enjoy your surroundings without interfering or competing with the magic of living in the rain forest. The food was fantastic and portions were the perfect amount. Really an experience not to be missed if you can.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank lsb2016155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2016

Our first (and by far the best) stop in Costa Rica on a 10 day trip. Lapa Rios is a special place and the staff make it even better. The attention to detail, especially the 6am coffee delivery, is over the top. A special shout out to Alex who surprised our daughter with a birthday cake on our last night after we casually mentioned she was turning 12 when we checked in. The wild life is stunning and the open air bungalows are 5 star! Loved the outdoor shower the most! Would come back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: There are stairs to climb if you are in one of the back bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

We can't really improve on the superlatives already expressed in previous reviews! Lapa Rios is a special place and we will remember it for a long while (given the chance!). The thatched bungalows are extremely comfortable and provide an excellent way of relaxing and watching the wildlife. The food was always extremely good (and plentiful) and we absolutely loved the Eggplant Parmesan starter! There are numerous trails with very well-informed guides and all the staff were wonderful-always polite, courteous and helpful. What a welcome sight when returning very hot from yet another amazing trip. Somewhere not to be missed! The concentration and variety of wildlife was probably better than anywhere else in Costa Rica.

Stayed: March 2016
1  Thank melton1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Dear Melton,
thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay with us. We are very grateful for your praise about the food, the comfort of the bungalows and the service of our staff. We work hard to create all the "creature comforts" that make the Lapa Rios Ecolodge experience as comfortable as possible for our guests so that they can have access to this amazing wildlife experience that you just experienced for yourself. A few years back, another guest told us that he had seen "more wildlife in the Lapa Rios parking lot that during the rest of his 2 week trip in Costa Rica". The Osa Peninsula and especially the Lapa Rios reserve located south of the Corcovado National Park is an obligatory stop for anybody looking for Costa Rica's best wildlife. It is no surprise that National Geographic selected us to be one of their "Unique Ecolodges of the World". And yes, most people leave Lapa Rios for "last" to end the trip on a high note. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Last stop on a 2 week trip. Very luxurious rooms/ great dining [all meals included] but the portion sizes are too large [the excess goes to feed their pigs, definitely do the 'Pigs,Twigs and Garbage' ecotour]. All on site tours are included, we tipped the guides at the end of our stay. Osa Trail was the best hike with Guillermo as guide. The morning bird tour is also especially recommended. Animals abound on the property, all 4 monkey species, lots of coatis/ agouti/ bats by the pool/ green & black dart frogs. On our last hike up the stairs we saw a tyra [black weasel, not common] and were 'escorted' on the steps by a troop of white face monkeys [perhaps 20, within 2-3 meters, with really sharp teeth so a little exciting]. One night had a presentation by Osa Wild Cat conservation which was excellent but sadly poorly attended. Our room [14] was down 250 stairs, so quite a hike in the heat. Closer rooms have perhaps 50 steps.The room however was perfect- nice bed, no A/C but well ventilated, with a great outdoor shower [never used the indoor one]. We had toucans [both species] and lapas in the trees over our room, and a howler monkey chorus at 4am most mornings. Coffee delivery to room at 6am is great. Good sized safe in room. WiFi [fast] only in guide hut, not in rooms. Pool was nice. Went to the beach once, not too easy to swim in as partly rocky shore.

Room Tip: Rooms 11-17 have a 250+ stair hike, but you get to see cool animals from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Our experience at Lapa Rios was wonderful. The staff seem truly happy, and it shows in the customer service. The rooms/bungalows were lovely - and the outdoor shower and private decks were so nice! The food was also great and there were options for vegetarians. Best of all was the fact that the property is small (17 bungalows) and remote - to be there was a true escape from reality. And then there is the animals. You never knew what you were going to encounter when you left your room - it was just such a treat.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite a walk from the "lodge". Avoid bungalows 16 and 17 if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kjb514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
2.7 km away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
12.5 km away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
363 reviews
0.5 km away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#5 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
643 reviews
30.5 km away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#2 of 11 in Golfito
119 reviews
20.5 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula

Address: Osa Peninsula, Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range: S$1,037 - S$1,703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 1000-acre private nature reserve in Central America's last remaining lowland tropical rainforest in Costa Rica, Lapa Rios Ecolodge overlooks the pristine point where the Golfo Dulce meets the wild Pacific Ocean, a destination matching everyone's idea of paradise. Much more than a luxurious eco lodge, Lapa Rios is a model ecotourism project and a sustainable tourism pioneer. Over the years, we have received many awards for social and environmental excellence. Home to a plethora of incredible wildlife, including monkeys, scarlet macaws, pumas, toucans, tree frogs and thousands of other creatures, a trip to Lapa Rios Eco lodges Ecolodges will be the experience of a lifetime. Lapa Rios is one of only 24 National Geographic Unique Eco Lodges of the World ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Hotel Playa Matapalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing