We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Encanta La Vida(Cabo Matapalo)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge(Cabo Matapalo)
US$485
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agua Dulce Beach Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$69
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$319
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cabinas Jimenez(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luna Lodge(Carate)
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Samoa del Sur(Golfito)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (667)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveller rating
600
49
14
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
600
49
14
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgehowler monkeysnight walkcosta ricaoutdoor showerosa peninsulawaterfall hikecoconut watersustainability tourobservation decklocal schoolthe general managerour honeymoonginger cookiesevery morningpuerto jimenezdolphin tour
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 667 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Our first (and by far the best) stop in Costa Rica on a 10 day trip. Lapa Rios is a special place and the staff make it even better. The attention to detail, especially the 6am coffee delivery, is over the top. A special shout out to Alex who surprised our daughter with a birthday cake on our last night after we casually mentioned she was turning 12 when we checked in. The wild life is stunning and the open air bungalows are 5 star! Loved the outdoor shower the most! Would come back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: There are stairs to climb if you are in one of the back bungalows.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

We can't really improve on the superlatives already expressed in previous reviews! Lapa Rios is a special place and we will remember it for a long while (given the chance!). The thatched bungalows are extremely comfortable and provide an excellent way of relaxing and watching the wildlife. The food was always extremely good (and plentiful) and we absolutely loved the Eggplant Parmesan starter! There are numerous trails with very well-informed guides and all the staff were wonderful-always polite, courteous and helpful. What a welcome sight when returning very hot from yet another amazing trip. Somewhere not to be missed! The concentration and variety of wildlife was probably better than anywhere else in Costa Rica.

Stayed: March 2016
1  Thank melton1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Dear Melton,
thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay with us. We are very grateful for your praise about the food, the comfort of the bungalows and the service of our staff. We work hard to create all the "creature comforts" that make the Lapa Rios Ecolodge experience as comfortable as possible for our guests so that they can have access to this amazing wildlife experience that you just experienced for yourself. A few years back, another guest told us that he had seen "more wildlife in the Lapa Rios parking lot that during the rest of his 2 week trip in Costa Rica". The Osa Peninsula and especially the Lapa Rios reserve located south of the Corcovado National Park is an obligatory stop for anybody looking for Costa Rica's best wildlife. It is no surprise that National Geographic selected us to be one of their "Unique Ecolodges of the World". And yes, most people leave Lapa Rios for "last" to end the trip on a high note. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Last stop on a 2 week trip. Very luxurious rooms/ great dining [all meals included] but the portion sizes are too large [the excess goes to feed their pigs, definitely do the 'Pigs,Twigs and Garbage' ecotour]. All on site tours are included, we tipped the guides at the end of our stay. Osa Trail was the best hike with Guillermo as guide. The morning bird tour is also especially recommended. Animals abound on the property, all 4 monkey species, lots of coatis/ agouti/ bats by the pool/ green & black dart frogs. On our last hike up the stairs we saw a tyra [black weasel, not common] and were 'escorted' on the steps by a troop of white face monkeys [perhaps 20, within 2-3 meters, with really sharp teeth so a little exciting]. One night had a presentation by Osa Wild Cat conservation which was excellent but sadly poorly attended. Our room [14] was down 250 stairs, so quite a hike in the heat. Closer rooms have perhaps 50 steps.The room however was perfect- nice bed, no A/C but well ventilated, with a great outdoor shower [never used the indoor one]. We had toucans [both species] and lapas in the trees over our room, and a howler monkey chorus at 4am most mornings. Coffee delivery to room at 6am is great. Good sized safe in room. WiFi [fast] only in guide hut, not in rooms. Pool was nice. Went to the beach once, not too easy to swim in as partly rocky shore.

Room Tip: Rooms 11-17 have a 250+ stair hike, but you get to see cool animals from the stairs.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Our experience at Lapa Rios was wonderful. The staff seem truly happy, and it shows in the customer service. The rooms/bungalows were lovely - and the outdoor shower and private decks were so nice! The food was also great and there were options for vegetarians. Best of all was the fact that the property is small (17 bungalows) and remote - to be there was a true escape from reality. And then there is the animals. You never knew what you were going to encounter when you left your room - it was just such a treat.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite a walk from the "lodge". Avoid bungalows 16 and 17 if possible.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kjb514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

I spent alot of time researching CR having visited before but this time on a mom/daughter trip with my 11 year old. I was a bit worried about the heat since we were traveling in June and seriously considered one of the fancy resorts with AC, etc. AND I AM GLAD I CHOSE LAPA RIOS. The place is amazing: the food, the staff, the guides who take you out on hikes, and even the owner and her family who just happened to be in house when we were. So gracious, fun and respectful of local culture and the environment! I learned so much about the flora and fauna. Do take the night tour to see the creepy crawly things and get up early for bird watching. Even me - a non birder - was amazed during the magic morning hours. Oh - and remember that you are a guest here. Funky and fascinating animals, reptiles birds and monkeys rule. You never know where or when they will show up but they always do. I have traveled to 100 plus countries and this particular lodge is one that I can honestly say I would re-visit!

Room Tip: The farther from the lodge that you are, the more likely you will see wildlife. If you are physically limited, book room close to lodge.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank HonoluluRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews