We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$369
View deal
Booking.com
US$370
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Algotels
US$271
View deal
Hotels.comUS$369
PricelineUS$370
TravelocityUS$365
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,020)
Filter reviews
1,020 results
Traveller rating
499
205
127
96
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
499
205
127
96
93
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,020 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

You get an authentic feeling of being in an old castle. They did a good job on the decoration.
don't carry too much luggage if you stay in the upper rooms... no elevators!
For business, family and friends.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ernstdanieln
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
CasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Hello, how are you?

Many thanks for rating us on TripAdvisor.

We love to know you had a good experience with us. We work for the client to have a great stay, with excellent service!

We look forward to welcoming you on a new opportunity.

A big hug.
Team Itaipava Castle Hotel and Bistro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

The Itaipava Castel is really a folly of a person who had everything transported from Europe to build a European castle. The room we had was very nice, even though the design requires some getting used to.
The breakfast was pretty horrible, no service and total disorder, the few staff incapable of coping with the crowds that were swallowing everything.
Overall, I think it is overpriced and should really only be considered if someone wants to do something totally out of the ordinary, knowing that it has its deficiencies.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SommelierProSP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
CasteloDeItaipava, Gerente de relações com clientes at Castelo de Itaipava Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hello!

Thank you very much for evaluating us.

We were very happy to know that we had a good experience in our Hotel.
We will check your thoughts on the Bistro so that we can apply the necessary improvements.

A big hug.
Team Itaipava Castle Hotel and Bistro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The Castle is a curiosity, built 1920 with materials imported from Europe, the owner created a mock medieval castle. It is used today for events. It also has a hotel, but the hotel is really a sub-function of the event section: "normal" hotel guests are not allowed to the event areas (which occupy the major part of the castle) and are highly regulated. Rather than a real welcome, you get a paper that states in no uncertain terms what the rules are that you have to obey. You break anything in your room, you will have to pay a penalty of twice the value of the goods. Welcome to Itaipava Castle!

The greeting was average, I was told right away to park my car elsewhere since the space for unloading and loading was not meant as a parking space. Save that there wasn't any other space left, and we hadn't finished unloading. Very nice and welcoming.

We had ordered a roll-in bed for our daughter, which was supplied. They did not supply an extra set of towels for her. We asked for it again, were told that yes, it would be brought eventually, but it wasn't.

When making the reservation, my wife had indicated that we stayed for my 65th birthday, and she wanted a special table reserved in the restaurant. There being no response, she finally made other arrangements, and surely, the hotel did not even take ANY notice of her wishes.

Breakfast is in a room that is crowded with families with small children, which seems to be the main type of guest here. No service whatsoever, everything is self-service. Get your own plate, cutlery etc., save that plates were missing. Scrambled eggs were out. No more orange juice. There is only one person there, and she understood her role mainly as a control ward: what room number, don't break any dishes. Is this a youth hostel or a luxury hotel? Forget the luxury part. And forget the service. In Portuguese, o serviço é lixo.

The predominance of the event character of the place (there is a warning in the paper: we do not guarantee a quiet night, since we are an event place, and there may be noise all night) unfortunately overshadows the ancillary functions, like hotel.

Would we come back? No. Never.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SommelierProSP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Stayed here on an amazing deal and had an upgrade so I would give this 6 out of 5 for value. It certainly had the wow factor. Not sure I would say the same if I had paid at the going rate.

The double bed was in fact 2 beds pushed together and the sheets didnt quite fit over the entire two beds so we had to get up in the middle of the night to push the sheets back up over the mattress, which was annoying.

The bathroom had quality towels and the shower pressure was excellent. Good idea to place instructions in the shower as each bathroom seems to be different in Brazil.
Shampoo, soaps shower cap are all provided.

The grounds at the back were nicely kept though the approach via the dual carriage overlooks the huge car park making it seem seem a bit industrial. As this is a wedding venue I appreciate that they need a huge car park.

The swimming pool is for show only, not for use. There is a smalll central outdoor seating area with several jacuzzis. The ground floor rooms in the castle are beautifully furnished and make for a fabulous backdrop for weddings and functions. It was fun exploring and everyone was impressed with the setting. The staff are very friendly but not obtrusive, and the place is small enough for them to remember who you are.

The food however was a let down. When you arrive you think wow. So we expected the same from the food. I appreciate that the kitchen is some distance from the dinning room, but luke warm food is unacceptable. The fish was dry and tough like chicken and the tomato sauce reminded me of ketcup. As a result we only ate there once.

But for the bed and dinner I would have given this a 5. As this is a new hotel I am sure it just needs fine tuning, and next time I hope to give it a 5 as it is a rather special place.

Room tip: check various sites for prices as they vary enormously
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank goodtogethome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Although you may think that being old means being not luxury, you are wrong. The place is extremely well conserved. Nice the way they include new things without losing the old stile. It´s a place for couples mostly but if you stay in the main tower is fun to go with a couple of kids. The don´t have a good kids structure but you can use the nice hydro in the celling with children. They need some improvement in the restaurant (dinner) and need more structure at the hydro (towels and service).

Room tip: The main tower is wonderfull, with a nice view from the garden.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaylerErse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews