We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
7
37
16
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
37
16
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish glass bottom boat coming back sea life beautiful corals bread friends and family big balcony early morning cold spring bottled water dive shop marine sanctuary water activities villa bay diving
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Droppin' by for a lunch and to rest a while... The scenery, waves, foods, seem made my time from a very hot, super hot temperature. Made it more special time with my family around.
The crabs with coconut milk on it, completes the day.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Muriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

If your thinking of high end resorts then dont go here...
Medina is a small town and this place is on the rate of average.
But if you just happen to be here then spend some quality time with your family on a nice quiet beach with a great view.
They also have a glass boat so you could look at the fish sanctuary and feed them with your kids.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Namie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Medina is a sleepy town and when in the area the best place to stay would be Duka Bay Resort.

Good points: The best thing about the place would be it's amazing sunrise & sunset views as well as it's crystal clear waters. The fact there is also a spring nearby makes the water even better. Food is good and the price is reasonable. All the villas have sea views so you get to see the amazing sunrise regardless of which villa they will put you in.

The bad side: The rooms need improvements. The lines are old and threadbare. The shelving have cracked paints, and not once on my stay did the room service ever came to clean up. You have to specifically make that request. The air conditioning is old and too noisy. And they need more variety in that menu of theirs especially for those guests who are staying longer.

Room Tip: Any room that's far from the function rooms so you won't have all those noise.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

The best thing I like about Duka Bay is the clear, clean beach water which is a blend into spring water and the saline of the sea. It's kind to the skin and sunburn is less likely when compared to other beaches. The spring generously pours out into the beach and some oozes out from the beneath the shoreline which makes the water cool even during the hot, humid summer weather.

Next are the villas - not exactly luxurious but it's reasonably priced for the limited amenities available. Very spacious even for a family of six with a terrace good for a small group party.

Then the dive sites - fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank triple8ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

We availed of a junior suite and arrived late 3 in the afternoon. The floor was not thoroughly swept. It wAs rough and dampy. The linens looked and smelled old.

The bathroom was without any exhaust fan and foot rag. Again, the towels looked and smelled old.

I got electrocuted when i used the tv!! My gosh!! They have to replace their appliances pronto!!

The chairs in the verandah were already in a dilapidated state. I wondered why the management failed to replace it with something new.

The only good thing about the room was that their airconditioning was superb and they provided complimentary heater and bottled waters!!

About their service, it sucked big time! An ordered snack nearly took an hour before it was delivered to our table and they had the audacity to assure us that it would only take 15 minutes to do so. Next, we requested for a mosquito repellant from the housekeeping. Again, it took them an hour to deliver the baygon thingy to our room. We had to call the reception for follow-ups..

About their food, i have credit their cook that their cooking taste good. However, i find it weird that they had to charged 20% of the total amount of your orders as service charge. I think they should provide it for free especially that the terrains of the resort were bumpy and a bit mountainous, of which made walking in the dark difficult.

Their beach was a so-so. Lots of rocks that could injure one when swimming.

Overall, the resort lacked improvements. It definitely lost its grandeur, it may have had in the 90's..

I would say my family won't waste our money again in this resort.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
8  Thank Rhea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews