We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2017 holiday”
Review of Hotel Praha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Praha
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hrensko
Reviewed 23 November 2017

service was good, room clean, the location excellent, I just don't think it's a 4 star, due to that i was a little disapointed, but then it's the best hotel in Hrensko! food was also good. close to starting point for all hikes.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorotheasharmse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

First of all - it's a nice hotel in a nice location and we enjoyed our stay. But there were few disturbing things that I wouldn't expect in 4 stars hotel: no wifi in rooms, malfunctioning credit card payments, very small TV and quite unfriendly staff at reception.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Filip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

I was able to get a great room without a reservation because Hotel Hawel was mysteriously closed. This is a decent spot while you're hiking in the National Parks. Close to Pravcicka Brana and a 45 minute walk to Schmilke, on the German side of the park. The breakfast is free and the restaurant is open later than most others in the area. The rooms are large and comfortable. I wouldn't say this a 4 star hotel but it seems like the best option for the area.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

The Hotel Praha was nearly the end station of our hike through the Saxon and Bohemian Switzerland. First of all: If you are price oriented, thats it. For someone who knows the prices in Germany or other European Countries it is some kind of paradise when you cross the border to the Czech Republic. The best beers in the world cost just half the price, the room was cheap even when average and not 4 stars. Food is inexpensive. But....
We never had more unfriendly staff than there. There is no "How are you", no smile, just business as usual. Before reaching this station on our hike we had the feeling to be welcome guests. It took 10 minutes in this hotel to feel like "unwelcome". Anyhow: Food, drink and room was good.

Room Tip: The rooms in the upper floors are more quiet in the main season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hauro-no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed in a room on a higher floor with a nice view over the river/canal. The room itself was comfortable, with a lovely bathroom (seemed to have been recently renovated?) and a deep bath which I enjoyed after so much hiking! The room had a very comfortable bed, plenty of storage space and a small fridge which was useful too. The mini bar was OK in price and had nice things.
The young man in reception was very nice and helpful, explaining everything quite well despite our language differences.
The meal I had in the restaurant (chicken schnitzel and potato pancakes) was actually very nice; fresh, succulent and with good flavour. You do have to purchase your sides separately from the main, which was a little odd, but I guess makes sense if you don't want to waste food people don't eat. The waitresses were friendly also.
The breakfast was very nice, plenty of options to suit most people and bread fresh. You could also take a muesli bar and fruit and bottle of water, which is handy for later in the day.
The hotel is not a four star though, the services certainly do not match that rating. It is basic and nice enough, but not coming with features that would enhance. It lacks credible wifi, which is a key issue for many travellers these days. We rely on wifi to keep in touch with the world, plan our next maps for hiking, etc. There was wifi in some areas, but you had to be lucky to get online. My room did not have wifi, which was not pleasing at all. The TV was small, had only black and white channels and local only. Very poor reception. Ok, I would expect that for this area, being in middle of the rocks.
Now for the rest: I walked from the boat up to the hotel, which was an easy and interesting walk. There are numerous bridges across the river/canal, so if you want to walk on one side or the other and change your mind, no problem.
I did not find the rest of the town particularly engaging; the tourist office was friendly and helpful, so that was nice. the location is lovely and unique. You can easily travel to and from by boat, which is fun. But the markets taking up what seems the whole town spoiled it for me. I completely understand that people need to make a living and I have no doubt that if you needed some new clothes, cheap cigarettes, vodka or garden gnomes, then you were going to be in luck! It is a pity they do take up so much of the town. but it is what it is.
The Hotel Praha is happily located away from all those markets and an easy stroll to the start of hiking trails and also you can choose which bus stop to walk to, upstream or downstream.
If I had to stay in Hrensko again, you know, I would probably choose Hotel Praha again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Sporadic_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hrensko
4.9 km away
Hotel Mezni Louka
Hotel Mezni Louka
#2 of 2 in Hrensko
56 reviews
7.9 km away
Lindenhof
Lindenhof
#2 of 12 in Bad Schandau
62 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel Elbresidenz an der Therme
Hotel Elbresidenz an der Therme
#3 of 12 in Bad Schandau
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Hotel Ceska Koruna
Hotel Ceska Koruna
#1 of 3 in Decin
73 reviews
4.9 km away
U Forta
U Forta
#1 of 11 in Hrensko
88 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Labe
Hotel Labe
#7 of 11 in Hrensko
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praha

Address: Hrensko 407 17, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Usti nad Labem Region > Hrensko
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hrensko
Price Range: $114 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing