We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best city break hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #29 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best city break hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

The location of this hotel can't be beat - it's only a couple minute walk from the main square and maybe 10 from the Charles Bridge, but what really sets this hotel apart is the attention to detail. The staff were absolutely amazing - no request was too difficult and they were courteous and friendly at any time of the day or night. I was in Prague for a weekend with a friend and the twin room was perfect with a lot of little touches that really made the stay easy and lovely. There's an honesty bar in the lounge with drinks available 24 hours a day, various hot drinks set up in the lobby and the breakfasts were the best I've ever had in a hotel. There's an amazing buffet plus you can order from a selection on a menu. I really can't say enough about this hotel and I've already recommended it to a few people.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PittPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

all our team is grateful you took time to write such a kind review. Thank you for mentioning location, staff, breakfast and little touches.

Our guests' satisfaction inspires us for a further improvement. We are happy you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay, and had a great time in Prague.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in Hotel Maximilian!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,627
    460
    42
    16
    4
See reviews for
323
1,093
132
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have just returned from an excellent four day visit to Prague. What a wonderful city for sightseeing, with marvelous cobbled streets, beautiful buildings, and many hidden squares.
We stayed at the Maximillian Hotel which was the perfect place to be based, only a short walk from the Old Town Square, in one direction, and the Palladium Shopping Centre and Dept Store in the other direction.
The rooms are modern with a sense of understated luxury. The umbrella hanging in your wardrobe, the well stocked mini bar, the netspresso machine with a selection of coffees were only part of the enjoyment. The breakfasts were just fantastic. A superb buffet , but with daily specials and eggs to order from the menu.
The staff were excellent - worthy of special note was Peter, 'receptionist extrodinaire'. Nothing was a problem to him, he handled everything with a confident and helpful smile. The breakfast room supervisor looked after my wife and daughter's coeliac needs without a hitch. Josef managed to find a lost card in a room we had stayed in earlier in our stay. Truly excellent service.
We all (5 of us) voted on the way home that it could only be the Maximillian for our next stay in Prague. A memorable stay. Thank You.

Room Tip: Red house rooms are at the back which is quieter. Superior deluxe rooms give extra space, but the de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

let me kindly thank you for such a great feedback.

We are happy you have enjoyed your stay, namely the location of Maximilian Hotel, your room, breakfast, and all the services our hotel has to offer.

It is a pleasure to know you spend a great time in Prague.

All our staff, including Peter, are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here in October 2011 and really enjoyed it. The staff was very friendly and inviting. The location, in my opinion, is perfect. Close to the Old Town Square and on a quiet street with many different dinner options close by. As many other have written, the breakfast was really good. Best we had on our trip. Almost forgot, you can have a goldfish brought to your room. Very cool

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chap3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for such a nice review, mentioning the staff, the location and the breakfast.

Here in Hotel Maximilian we believe that having a goldfish as a temporary pet brings a feeling of coziness to the stay. We are happy you have enjoyed this little touch.

We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

As a solo woman traveler, I will say that this hotel treated me with much respect. The reception team were awesome and very helpful. The breakfast was incredible...probably one of the best in Prague, with outstanding service. The room was extremely comfortable, with oh so comfy pillows and covers. I slept like a baby, and felt totally safe and secure. The hotel is only a few minutes walk to old town, with several great restaurants in the area. You cannot go wrong with this hotel. Thank you Hotel Maximilian!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ckohoutova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

let me kindly thank you for such a great feedback!
It is a pleasure to know you had a great sleep, and enjoyed your room and pillows.

Thank you for mentioning breakfast and service. We are looking forward to your next stay in Hotel Josef!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Really like the hotel atmosphere, the staff are friendly. Room is nice, being welcomed by fruits and mineral water in the room. Bathroom seems to be clean and water pressure is good.

Just too bad no wifi in the room. Otherwise, everything is good. Room not too warm either, since often in Czech, they tend to put the heating quite high.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank famLin-ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for your feedback, mentioning the staff and a welcome treat.

Let me say that all rooms in Hotel Maximilian are provided with a complimentary wifi. I believe there was some technical error, or the settings on the computer were not correct.

It makes us happy you have enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel. We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#12 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#17 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#25 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price range (per night): $169 - $383
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing