We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Locaton, Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Dientzenhofer
Ranked #66 of 365 Prague B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2007

As a backpacker, the rooms and suites were a little high for us, so we opted for the flat at only 1800 kc for 3 people. It was wonderful!
Great location, right on Karmelitska, the main thoroughfare in Lesser
Town. We had all we needed - a refrigerator stocked with breakfast items, a kitchen with pots and pans (we cooked one night, an easy way
to save money), a living room, bedroom and bathroom. The flat was booked for our first night there, and when I asked for a recommendation for another place for that night, they kindly set us up in one of their rooms for the same price. Before we arrived, I sent many emails with questions, all of which were answered within a few hours. They were extremely helpful. And you can't beat the location. It was great to be in a more residential area while still in walking distance from the busy old town. There is a great bakery on Karmelitska also that was extremely inexpensive. I wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank staceybeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2006

This cosy pension has a very charming exterior and is in embassy district not far from kampa island and Charles Bridge. It is simply a nice quiet area with a nearby park and a little river (the devil river), it's pretty close to public transportation, walking distance till the fabulous castle (Hradcany) , where you could spend at least half a day. Our room was big and clean. The pension is more like Hotel for me, and the building was like a mini castle-like structure.The building is from the 16th century. There is a cozy, homey feel to the small lobby. They got a elevator, and actually this pension are well situated for wheel-chairs. The breakfast room and breakfast were quite nice, and the people in the reception could not have been more helpful or pleasant.

When it comes to dining I will recomend Cafe Savoy for pastries or a late breakfast (we ate our breakfast here), and Olympia for good czech food and beer. They are both located in Vitezna street, a five minuts walk from the pension. If you are looking for more upscale dining: try the restaurant at Maltesky square (U Vladare) not far from the british embassy ( 1-2 minuts for the pension) or the Alchemyst restaurant around the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2006

Picked up at the airport by the hotel and transported to a traditional Prague house. We loved the atmosphere and the area was a delight. Friendly staff and fab that you could have breakfst until 12 noon.
Breakfast basic but light and traditional. Ground floor room had a lovely view over the park. Snow floated down over our four day stay but the pension was gorgeous warm and welcoming. Superb restaurants within walking distance. We have recommended this pension to many people, but we have told them it is traditional and not a 5 star impersonal tower block.

  • Stayed: January 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2006

I have just come back for spending 6 nights and the Pension and can't praise the owners and staff enough.
The place is seriously worth while considering and also caters for people with disabilities. The location being in Mala Strana side of town is a quiter more residential area a gets you away from the some time very intense hussle and bussle of the old town, while at the same time it is close enough you can be in the old town by walking for just under 10-15mins.

There are many fine restaurant in the area and it is a very central location. So should you choose to want to go to any of the other areas for dinner you can !
The staff are extremely helpful and the breakfast provided will keep you full till dinner. I would have no hestiation sending anyone there!

The rooms I stayed in were extremly spacious with HUGE bed ... so large that I could not extend my arms to reach boths side. Must have been like and Americian King.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2005

We stayed in the Dientzenhofer as it was recommended by friends and
in spite of some reviews in Trip Advisor which were disparaging. We arrived at Prague Airport very late after delays in London but Karl the taxi driver
used by the pension, was still waiting for us despite the hour. Good driver and a lovely man by the way.
We were greeted warmly by the "young" staff member and shown to our room. He did have to put in a new light bulb in the foyer of the room but did so quickly and without fuss despite the lateness of the hour. The 3 young
staff who work at Dientzenhofer were given a little bit of a rocket in
one review in Trip Advisor but in our book were very helpful and friendly and very able to organise theatre tickets or tours or anything we wanted. The room was clean and spacious and very European down to the short sheets and doonas. We loved the authentic feel to the place which had attracted some criticism in reviews.
It is a bit dark as mentioned in another review but it was only built
several hundred years ago so if you are looking for a Marriot or Hyatt you
are in the wrong place. We didn't find it overly smokey but if you were
sharing the pension with some heavy smokers it wouldn't surprise us if
there was some smoke drifting about. Europe certainly does not have the
same smoking restrictions as America or Australia. The location is superb -
only a short walk from the Charles Bridge and the old town. Prague is
simply the most beautiful place. Get your walking shoes on and go for it.
Breakfast by European standards was quite good. There is certainly enough
to keep you going for the day. The coffee could have been hotter but if
you find hot coffee anywhere in Europe let us know. Finally the value for
money for this pension is excellent. We were pleasantly surprised by the
cost particularly after we added a couple of tours and drinks from the bar
onto our bill.
The Pension is one of our favourite places on our two month tour of
Europe. It sort of makes a statement " Welcome to Europe and especially
Prague". This is a superb city and the Dientzenhofer, its staff and its
owner make you feel part of the place very quickly. When I was searching
for an Internet Cafe the Pension owner kindly allowed me to use the office
PC to link up with my E Mail. Don't hesitate, it is not 4 star but it is a
very pleasant experience and the location just cannot be faulted.

11  Thank Allan.G49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Aparthotel City 5
Aparthotel City 5
#5 of 646 in Prague
1,362 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Charles Bridge Residence
Charles Bridge Residence
#23 of 365 in Prague
365 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#11 of 691 in Prague
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#21 of 691 in Prague
905 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#523 of 646 in Prague
188 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#89 of 646 in Prague
3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Dientzenhofer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Dientzenhofer

Address: Nosticova 2, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range: $85 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Dientzenhofer 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Dientzenhofer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Dientzenhofer Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing