We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination Europe Approves!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #20 of 668 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Destination Europe Approves!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Destination Europe (www.destinationeuropeonline.com), visited this hotel during an agency trip in Europe in December 2011. This hotel is outstanding! The location is in the Lesser Town, which is very nice as it is away from the massive crowds that build in the Old Town.

Just minutes from the Charles Bridge, and just beneath the walls and hill of the castle. The location is the best and I much prefer this side of the city.

The breakfast here daily is a very nice spread of eggs, sausages, breads, cheese, fruits, pastries, etc. The breakfast room also serves as their restaurant. The attention at check-in was unlike anything I have experienced. We were welcomed with local spiced wine and hot towels - arriving on a cold and rainy December day made this extra special.

The hotels spa and pool facilities are amazing. The decor and features of this hotel are amazingly charming and elegant. The best boutique hotel I have ever stayed in.

Our room was so wonderful. The four poster canopy bed, the sitting area with attached garden terrace. The furniture in the room was elegant and regal. The bathroom was outstandingly huge - with a corner Jacuzzi tub, separate glass standing shower and separate area for the WC.

Out of several trips to Prague - this hotel, experience and location was by far the best. We have already recommended this hotel to many of our clients, so it was nice to stay and visit in person.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DestinationEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,442
    143
    29
    18
    3
See reviews for
181
1,036
72
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed here in Jan-Feb 2012 for 4 nts with friends. It's a beautiful hotel from the inside, a short 10 mins walk from the charles bridge. Beautiful rooms, some of them have the old wooden painted ceilings. Great service and an nice breakfast !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nik-Avi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

It would be redundant to write a lengthy review as everyone else has pretty much summed up the excellence of this hotel. This is my second visit to Prague and absolutely would recommend anyone looking for a great hotel experience to stay here. Close to everything (literally a few minutes walk to every major site) but on a quiet street without the tourist congestion a few blocks away. The hotel is very intimate and truly unique. Trust me on this one --I do ridiculously extensive research before I pick a vacation hotel --so save your time and just stay here. You will love it.

Room Tip: Book a junior suite --well worth the extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cicc5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rota, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

From the moment we booked our package directly with the hotel, I knew this would be a wonderful hotel. I had personal contact via email with many of the hotel staff in order to coordinate airport transfers, dinners, and massages that were included in our package. Each interaction was professional, courteous, and above and beyond anything I've experienced in other hotels throughout my extensive traveling in both the US and Europe. We were greeted by a driver at the airport who took who us right to the hotel and were again welcomed by all hotel staff. We were given a tour of the grounds by Emmanuel, who was sure to pass on tips and suggestions for our 4day holiday in Prague. The room was beautiful and clean. The breakfast was by far the best hotel breakfast I've ever had (which is saying a lot for an American). It is truly an enchanting, romantic hotel, and we will be sure to return to this establishment. All in all, a gorgeous hotel complete with splendid staff in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmericaninSpain508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were bought a two night stay at this hotel by our daughter/stepdaughter. what a wonderful present! We have stayed in lots of lovely hotels over the years but we thought that this one ranked amongst the best. The staff were so friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived and were offered a welcome drink and wet towels to clean our hands. The decor is totally over the top but warm and intimate at the same time. we had a junior suite - lovely big room, robes, slippers provided, large hall area and well equiped bathroom with bath and shower. the breakfast was superb - lots of homemade items, such as pate, butter etc; generous and varied buffet as well as an extensive menu to be ordered for freshly cooked food.

We ate in the restaurant one evening. The food was delicious. it isnt cheap, but reasonable for the standard provided.

Perfect location - all the main sights of Prague are in walking distance.

We felt truly pampered and agree with all the deservedly positive reviews. we would definately stay there again should we return to Prague and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

dont hesitate if you are thinking of booking this hotel - you wont be disappointed!

Room Tip: Recommend the junior suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieBarnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel
Aria Hotel
#9 of 668 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#2 of 668 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 668 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#17 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price range (per night): $293 - $801
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing