We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people, not in Bled though! ”

Jakelj Backpackers House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jakelj Backpackers House
Ranked #78 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Bled
Reviewed 4 September 2014 via mobile

This place is actually located in Selo. Nice pizza restaurant nextdoor, they serve pretty large portions and pizza's and are familiar with the concept of doggie bags: your pizza dinner may well serve as lunch for the next day! Nothing much to do there but it's not very far from Bled, so if you're by car this will not be a problem. Rooms are a bit awkward (can't lock bathrooms) and very small for the amount of beds placed. Some of the beds are on the verge of collapsing so be careful if you're sleeping groundlevel with a heavy person above you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rudy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The hostel is pretty basic - there are no lockers and the bathrooms are in a pretty poor state. They smell, run out of loo roll, lack got water and don't have locks on the doors. The place could definitively do with a thorough clean. There are no kitchen facilities, however breakfast and hot drinks are provided every morning until at least midday. There is also a good reasonably priced pizzeria attached to the hostel - which is handy as the location is remote.

What makes up for all of this is the owner Niko. Not only does he pick you up from the station at whatever time you need (free of charge). He also provides a free shuttle to the lake and back every day. And is eager to help with any questions and concerns regarding the hostel, activities and places to visit.

Overall a great atmosphere - the bathrooms just need sorting out!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

As you can read from the other reviews, the owner is great. Really helpful and he picked us up from our transfer and dropped us off back in the bled the following morning. It was good value and breakfast was included. It was basic but did the job for some young, broke travellers. Having a bar/pizzeria attached the hostel was nice as it gave us a chance to meet some others staying in the hostel.
My major concern before coming the hostel was the location but I actually found this a plus because I enjoyed the raw setting we were in, a real Slovenian town, and thats what travelling is all about. Amen.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The owner is an absolute gem who is reliable about picking you up from your transport stop and getting you to and from the lake. The reason I love this hostel is that it's so easy to meet other travellers while on these free shuttle runs, and you get to see some beautiful countryside. I regret only staying one night, and highly recommend staying a few as there are so many amazing things to do in Bled. Highly recommend and can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Viva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I Loved it! Niko the owner is such a nice guy he gave us a lift to and from the train station and printed out our boarding passes for our flight home.
The hostel is about 5km from the lake but I preferred this location than right on the lake as the view is beautiful and there is a free shuttle to and from the lake each day, as well as bikes which are a bit dodgy but free so i can't complain. There is a small safe where you can put your valuables but the place seems pretty safe on the whole. There is a pizzeria attached to the hostel which also serves very nice pizza it was big enough for us to split 1 between 2. The only down side would be that there aren't any locks on the doors but we didn't really find this to be a problem. Everyone we met was really nice and I would highly recommend the hostel to anybody going to bled lake.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1willb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bled hotels
2.7 km away
Jazz Rooms & Apartments
4 km away
1A Adventure hostel
1A Adventure hostel
#7 of 93 in Bled
58 reviews
2.2 km away
Pension TTT
Pension TTT
#41 of 62 in Bled
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Penzion Lukanc
Penzion Lukanc
#6 of 62 in Bled
122 reviews
2.3 km away
Pension Vila Kolinska
Pension Vila Kolinska
#15 of 62 in Bled
77 reviews
3.4 km away
Ana Apartments and Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jakelj Backpackers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jakelj Backpackers House

Address: Selo pri Bledu 11a, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Bled
Price Range: $65 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jakelj Backpackers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing