We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Mescanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mescanka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2016

This apartment is in the heart of Ljubljana and close to lots of restaurants. We came to Ljubljana without expectations and loved everything about this lovely city. The apartment was so spacious and quirky. The girls in charge of the place were extremely helpful and friendly. I will definitely come back to this lovely place.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tipsformytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2016

We stayed in two different apartments, because we extended our stay, and both were in best condition (clean, comfortable, quiet, good internet). The apartment is right in the centre of Ljublana, and all the central sights are within walking distance. We didn't hear any noise from the street, however there was only very little night-life (very cold nights in January) happening. The staff at the office was very very friendly and helpful. Since it was January I was concerned about feeling cold in the apartment, but the heating worked very well, and we were toasty warm when relaxing on the comfy sofa.

Room Tip: River views are fantastic. The apartment in the roof (Ljudmila) has a very small and low ceiling bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Clouds777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

These rooms are in a great location, in the pedestrianised old town, on the river and under the castle hill. We had a river view in a large clean, comfortable and well equipped room. The double glazing very effectively kept out the noise from the many waterfront bars and restaurants, which were in full Christmas swing. The pre-stay communications were excellent - for 20 Euros they booked a taxi to meet us at the airport, which is some way from Ljubljana's centre, and take us to the edge of the pedestrian zone for the short walk to the hotel; whilst the welcome and advice we were given when we arrived were also very friendly and most useful.
Well worth the money.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

I spent three nights in the Ivana Superior One Bedroom Apartment at Mescanka in December. This was probably the best accommodation I had during my entire trip to Europe!

The location is absolutely ideal. Steps away from the river, the pedestrian old-town are and countless restaurants/bars. It doesn't get much better than this.

The entrance to the building feels very safe and secure. The staff were very attentive and friendly.

The Ivana Superior One Bedroom apartment is located on the top floor and is absolutely massive!

There is a large open concept living room, kitchen and dining area. There are enough kitchen supplies to make meals within the apartment. There is also a small desk for working. The wi-fi connection was very strong! The view from the windows are gorgeous and look out onto the river!

There is a large walk-in closet in front of the bedroom which can easily fit enough clothes for 4 people. The bedroom itself is very cozy and the bed is quite comfortable! There is also a small loft in the apartment which could easily sleep one adult or two children.

There are two bathrooms within the Ivana One Bedroom Apartment. An en-suite bathroom with an extra large bathtub for two people and a small toilet room beside the apartment entrance.

If you like to spread out during your travels, this is the apartment for you. It is also well equipped for long term stays. Trust me, you'll want to move in after spending a few nights here!

Room Tip: Ivana Apartment Offers Great Views and is Spacious for a Family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ExploreWithMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2015

It was one of my best choice for accommodation until now. A place in a city can not be better location than Mescanka. It is just less than 1 minute walking distance to the citys Main Square called Preseren Square. The main places , restaurants , bars , everything is around Mescanka. Additionally it is located near the river.

Everything was clean, all details were well organized. Free WiFi is well done. The staff at the reception was more helpful and kind than i expected. I need some recommendations and she did everything she can do. I stayed for 2 days and i really satisfied with everything. If i come back to Ljubliana for sure that Mescanka will be the place that i will stay. The only comment : Please put couple bottles of water in the rooms that nobody can think if there will not be water in the room or not after a flight trip.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BrSbekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#17 of 31 in Ljubljana
909 reviews
2.4 km away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
400 reviews
0.5 km away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,107 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,755 reviews
0.1 km away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mescanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mescanka

Address: Kljuchavnicharska ulica 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range: $94 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the river, beneath the castle and between the two central bridges of the city, Meščanka apartments (pronounced 'Meshchanka', meaning City Lady) offer you the perfect place to stay to discover Ljubljana. You can choose between rooms, studios or fully equipped flats, all with private bathroom. The clean and cosy premises were completely renovated in 2011 to blend a great mix of old refurbished furniture and modern interior design. Come and stay in Meščanka and you will feel why people fall in love with Ljubljana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mescanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing