We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms with character in a perfect location in the old town”
Review of Mescanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mescanka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Perfectly positioned in the old town so that all the attractions are within a few minutes walk. We had a pretty room full of character with all the usual amenities including a fridge and tea / coffee pot.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2016

Location is very convenient. The apartments are on the river, with plenty of restaurants close by and walking to tourist attractions. Good sized rooms, very clean with compact kitchen (we ate out, so didn't need it, but if you're one for self catering, seems all the equipment and utensils you need are there. Although reception is not there 24 hours, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lautrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night and were completely comfortable. A full studio apartment was great space, although we spent most of our time in Ljubljana out in the streets. The bathroom was a little tight, but clean and functional. There are some pretty serious stairs up to the rooms so be prepared to haul your luggage up. Also, given how centrally located it is, it is also loud in the rooms while the nightlife continues outside, not a problem for us, but if you are an early or light sleeper... Overall great stay, friendly staff, etc.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mescanka, assistant manager at Mescanka, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear Sarah
We are glad you liked the studio. As you already explained Meščanka is in a heart of old Ljubljana. This is why we installed sound proof glass windows. The noise should not be a problem when the windows are closed. When you close the windows in hot days we recommend that you turn on an air-conditioning. It improves the temperature and the overall comfort of the air. Thank you for staying in Meščanka, hope to see you again soon. Petra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016

We had a river-view studio for 2 nights. Lovely view, double windows so noise wasn't a problem. Everything clean, plenty of room for the three of us, nice bathroom and kitchen. Loved being in the middle of the pedestrian-only area, as we were pulling our luggage to get here (5 or so minute walk from the taxi stand/bus stop) one of the free electric carts stopped for us and took us to the door. Out the door tons of charm and places to eat and hang out. Ljubljana couldn't have been more delightful, would love to come back someday. Only ding was the wifi worked poorly for us, we spotted the router just as we were leaving and it looked like it wasn't working. Should have said something so they could have fixed it early on.

Room Tip: Get a river view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rickandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Great location for visiting the old town, right in the centre of everything. Helpful staff and a quaint sizeable apartment with kitchen, lounge, bathroom and separate toilet.
We booked late and had a room without a view, it would have been nice to see the canal.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newlywedMay2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,125 reviews
2.4 km away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
406 reviews
0.5 km away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,823 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#17 of 31 in Ljubljana
933 reviews
0.4 km away
Old Town Rooms and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mescanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mescanka

Address: Kljuchavnicharska ulica 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range: $93 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the river, beneath the castle and between the two central bridges of the city, Meščanka apartments (pronounced 'Meshchanka', meaning City Lady) offer you the perfect place to stay to discover Ljubljana. You can choose between rooms, studios or fully equipped flats, all with private bathroom. The clean and cosy premises were completely renovated in 2011 to blend a great mix of old refurbished furniture and modern interior design. Come and stay in Meščanka and you will feel why people fall in love with Ljubljana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mescanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing