We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT FOR ANYBODY WITH MOBILITY PROBLEMS!”
Review of Mescanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mescanka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The Superior Apartment we booked was magnificent - but there were no banisters or stairs from the 1st floor to the 2nd, where our Apartment was located! As I have mobility problems and had recently had a fall - the lack of support when climbing up or down was not possible without serious consequences to my health. We asked the Manager, Petra, if she could give us an alternative on the 1st floor (which did have bannisters) but she said there was nothing available, and told us very abruptly that she would not refund our money we had already paid! I really panicked then and told her that we would take a single room (although had paid for 2 rooms and 2 toilets) without payment from them of the differential which was c.300e in total for the 11 days we were there! She "apologised" somewhat aggressively for the lack of bannisters & said she was not aware of this and would repair it in due course??? But she was quite adamant about not giving any compensation for our loss, So we stayed in one room having paid for 2 with 2 toilets and my partner was very angry about this and we went to the Tourist Information, who said that in Slovenia there are no laws about Health & Safety as in England??? \ Her attitude and lack of compassion was something I have not encountered before - and having admitted liability I would have thought at least a gesture of goodwill in refunding some of the moneys we had paid out would have gone a long way into making this a happy holiday for both of us. \ I will tell anybody who goes to Llubljana NOT to stay at these rooms & apartments which is something of an upmarket hostel. Our room was only cleaned once in 11 days - as it is their policy to only clean once each 6 days, and we stayed there for 11. So only had clean sheets and a cleaner in the room once! Shame on you!!! (I will enclose photos after these have been uploaded as only back now for 3 days)..

Room Tip: A good place for those under 40 or 50 - or particularly agile and disco-loving people - also for tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Catlover9cleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mescanka, Manager at Mescanka, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear Ms

We were really sorry to read your review, especially because we have tried everything in our power to assist you and make you feel good during your stay.

We have received a non-refundable reservation from you (we do have an option for a normal reservation with a free cancellation option for you to choose) and we were not informed about your disability. On your arrival we did everything we could to make you feel welcome and to assist you in every way possible. As soon as you made a request to move to a lower floor, we moved other guests that were already situated in other rooms and apartments around the house to make that possible. We are a small business and have only one Superior apartment on disposal and we offered you our Studio with the river view on the first floor to make it more comfortable for you. You made a move on your request and we made it possible right away, despite of having to change reservation for other guests.

We do not promote our property as suitable for disabled or say that we have an elevator, which we would love to have, but due to our location in the old city centre in a pedestrian zone and the type of proprety unfortunately (protected as cultural heritage) that is not possible. All pictures and plans of the rooms, stairways and the whole property are posted on our website and other sites, so you are clearly informed in advance and you know what to expect.

We are not a hotel, but an apartment/room rental and we offer cleaning every 5 days and changing of towels every 2 days on guest's request depending on the lenght of the guest's stay and we did that for you. We do offer extra cleaning service on guest's request for extra charges. All this information is posted on our page www.mescanka.si and also on booking.com where you made your reservation.


We make sure that all the staff working in Mescanka is polite, open and helps our guests as much as possible. We are glad other guests acknowledge that daily.

Hope you still had a nice vacation in Ljubljana and Slovenija.

Kind regards, Saša, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2016

Great apartment with easy check in and check out. Clean and extremely spacious. We also liked how central the apartment was, but also quiet with the windows shut. Keep in mind that it's right in the heart of the city so there will be a bit more noise. Loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keels O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

This quaint and comfortable small hotel is right above a restaurant along the riverfront. We were there for only one night, a Friday, and there was street noise (festive, still noise) until the wee hours. But the windows muffled the sound quite nicely. Charming and a perfect location, central to everything on the riverfront. Motor vehicles are not allowed in this part of the city. There is a company (Cavalier) which provides Old Town transportation in golfcart-like vehicles--and it's free, just don't forget to leave a nice tip. There is also a taxi stand a walkable (even with luggage) five minutes away,.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kazwaz811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

This was a wonderful choice. Right in the centre of the old town, right on the river. Comfortable bed and great shower. Spacious and good natural light. Large fridge and cooking facilities Very friendly, helpful staff. Everything you need. Loved it!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This cozy room was remarkably inexpensive considering it's location. The room we had was smallish but big enough with a great bathroom. I couldn't say enough about it's helpful,friendly staff. Certainly no need for a car. The hotel is in the middle of a charming area and you can walk to everything.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bisbeejudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#17 of 31 in Ljubljana
918 reviews
0.5 km away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
508 reviews
2.4 km away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,115 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,784 reviews
0.5 km away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#9 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mescanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mescanka

Address: Kljuchavnicharska ulica 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range: $93 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the river, beneath the castle and between the two central bridges of the city, Meščanka apartments (pronounced 'Meshchanka', meaning City Lady) offer you the perfect place to stay to discover Ljubljana. You can choose between rooms, studios or fully equipped flats, all with private bathroom. The clean and cosy premises were completely renovated in 2011 to blend a great mix of old refurbished furniture and modern interior design. Come and stay in Meščanka and you will feel why people fall in love with Ljubljana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mescanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing