We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely intimate place.”
Review of Firkasz

Firkasz
Ranked #344 of 3,515 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The name means scribbler in English; referring to journalists. Internationally known artists and writers preferred haunt one, this cozy Hungarian restaurant, where other celebrities are reversed. Every night the famous bar pianist Otto Okros provides the pleasant music for dinner.
Reviewed 28 November 2017

A cosy, authentic feel, with attentive staff and good food. Felt just right for a warm and intimate evening. Pity about the crowd of stag night boors who turned up halfway through our meal. These people would have completely spoiled our evening if the staff had not found us a table in the backroom. I suppose these stag crowds are unfortunately a hazard every Saturday night. My advice ... if you see a large table laid ask... have they booked a stag group.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank katefromglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerrest, Owner at Firkasz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Dear Katefromglasgow,
Thank you for choosing Firkasz in Budapest. We're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon. Please write me before you come next time (andras60@hotmail.com) and your welcome drink is free.
Sincerely,
Dr. Andras REVAY
co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2017

This is the kind of restaurant you go to if you want a memorable dinner. We had one. The food was delicious and was served by a very friendly and attentive wait staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerrest, Owner at Firkasz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Dear Michael P,
Thank you for taking the time to write your impression. We are happy to read you were satisfied in our restaurant. We hope you’ll return soon. Please write me before you come next time (andras60@hotmail.com) and your welcome drink is free.
Sincerely,
Dr. Andras REVAY
co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

First of all, prices are on a signifikant higher level than in other Hungarian restaurants.
This would be ok, but food doesn’t meet that level. Good, but only average.
Maybe the prices are for the live music...

Thank jtk1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerrest, Owner at Firkasz, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear Mr. jtk1962,
A bit about pricing: we work on 60 percent of Western European prices and our costs are almost equal. We always try to give the best for the guests. We hope to welcome you back again as our guest in your next visit to Budapest and give us the opportunity to change your impression about us. Please write me before you come next time (andras60@hotmail.com) and your welcome drink is free.
Sincerely,
Dr. Andras REVAY
co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Recommended by cruise host. Food very good. Good piano music and relaxing atmosphere. Would return again!

Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerrest, Owner at Firkasz, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear T H,
Thank you for taking the time to write your impression. We hope you’ll return soon. Please write me before you come next time (andras60@hotmail.com) and your welcome drink is free.
Sincerely,
Dr. Andras REVAY
co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

It was a pleasure the food in this place. Duck and goose were our choice. Pleasant atmosphere with the Piano player

Thank ANASTASIAGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerrest, Owner at Firkasz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear ANASTASIAGR,
Thank you for your review, your opinion is very valuable to us. We hope to welcome you back again as our guest in your next visit to Budapest. Please write me before you come next time (andras60@hotmail.com) and your welcome drink is free.
Sincerely,
Dr. Andras REVAY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Firkasz also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Firkasz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing