We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic food”
Review of Firkasz

Firkasz
Ranked #309 of 3,460 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The name means scribbler in English; referring to journalists. Internationally known artists and writers preferred haunt one, this cozy Hungarian restaurant, where other celebrities are reversed. Every night the famous bar pianist Otto Okros provides the pleasant music for dinner.
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

We had limited time before a river cruise and found this authentic and old fashioned restaurant. Had goulash soup. V tasty and was brought relatively quickly. Generally not the fastest or most friendly service but v authentic and even had live music

Thank TravellerDWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerrest, Owner at Firkasz, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear TravellerDWM,
Thank you for choosing Firkasz in Budapest. We're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon. Please write me before you come next time (andras60@hotmail.com) and your welcome drink is free.
Sincerely,
Dr. Andras REVAY
co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2017

Discovered this place was within 5 minutes of our hotel so went there and they had a spare table. There was a group of about 20 celebrating a birthday but this did not seem ot slow down service. Staff were efficient and friendly and spoke good English. Food selection was extensive and our choices was great. Prices not cheap but you get what you pay for so was happy. Lovely Merlot wine - less full bodied than normal but still great. This place was so good we went back 2 days later.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerrest, Owner at Firkasz, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Dear Ms. Glyn W,
Thank you for choosing our restaurant and for the time kindly spent in writing your nice review. We are glad you could appreciate our high standard service and the typical taste of our meals. We hope to welcome you back again as our guest on your next visit to Budapest. Please write me before you come next time (andras60@hotmail.com) and your welcome drink is free.
Sincerely,
Dr. Andras REVAY
co-owner


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

delicious meats and a nice place,
Live music (piano music), fine wine, it's worth trying out.
we will return!

Thank Kis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerrest, Owner at Firkasz, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear Mr. Kis T,
Thank you for taking the time to write your impression. We are happy to read you were satisfied in our restaurant. We hope you’ll return soon. Please write me before you come next time (andras60@hotmail.com) and your welcome drink is free.
Sincerely,
Dr. Andras REVAY
co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

If you want fancy dining you are in the wrong place. If you want authentic Hungarian food, with nice atmosphere you are in the perfect spot.
We ordered a menu and there was no problems to make a few changes. The Gulasch soup was very delicious, my mother is a cook and her Gulasch soup has always been the best but this one could be the twin.

The Hungarian wine wasn't my favorite but I must say it tasted better with the food, than just drinking it waiting for the food.

Had a lovely beef, like I never gotten beef served before, tasty and homemade you could tell.

There was a piano player entertaining and his choice of music was perfect, a little melancholic and still in the background.

Hilton gave us this recommendation and reserved a table for us. Normally I'm always skeptic when Hotels are recommending restaurants, but this was a good recommendation.

Thank karin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerrest, Owner at Firkasz, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear Miss Karin B,
Thank you for choosing our restaurant and for the time kindly spent in writing your nice review. We are glad you could appreciate our high standard service and the typical taste of our meals. We hope to welcome you back again as our guest on your next visit to Budapest. Please write me before you come next time (andras60@hotmail.com) and your welcome drink is free.
Sincerely,
Dr. Andras REVAY
co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Hilton hotel recommended this restaurant to us as only a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
Very nice atmosphere greeted by friendly staff. Small menu but well done food. Also tried some very good Hungarian wine at their suggestion.
Also enjoyed the live music.
Not fine dining but a good meal.

Thank mikenz2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerrest, Owner at Firkasz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Mr. Mikenz2015,
We are happy, reading that you have such a good memories of our restaurant. We always try to give the best for the guests. But New Zealand is very far, we hope you’ll return a day. Please write me before you come next time (andras60@hotmail.com) and your welcome drink is free.
Sincerely,
Dr. Andras REVAY
co-owner


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Firkasz also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Firkasz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing