We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury room, helpful and friendly concierge - super location!”
Review of Callas House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Callas House
Ranked #79 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Great room with a luxury feel overlooking Opera House which is a 'wow'! Location is great, bar/restuarant is 'luxe look' and a rather nice start to one's day if you take the breakfast option. The photo's are accurate. Would recommend, thanks Callas House team!

Room Tip: A room oerlloking Opera House, great views and sunny aspect - worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SoLondon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017

Having never travelled to Budapest before I wanted to pick a hotel close to all the sites. I also like hotels that are a little more individual in style rather than the more bland chain hotels. Callas House was a delight. On arrival we were greeted with big smiles and very friendly helpful staff. As our room was not ready we were given a complimentary glass of champagne in the bar whilst our room was readied, a nice touch after our journey. We had a deluxe room that overlooked the Opera House, the room was spacious and beautifully furnished with quality fittings. As I had travelled with my sister I wanted a room with twin beds however the hotel does not have any rooms with twin beds but the large bed was made up with separate duvets and to be honest it was just the same as having twin beds pushed together so it was not a problem. The room had all the facilities you come to expect, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities etc. The bathroom was excellent with good size bath and very efficient power shower. Everything was spotlessly clean. The rooms were efficiently serviced daily in the afternoon. Breakfast was taken downstairs and was more than adequate. We ate at the restuarant where we were serenaded by wonderful musicians and enjoyed a lovely meal. The reception staff were very helpful and advised us on restuarants and getting around the city, nothing was too much trouble for them. All in all this is an excellent hotel in a good, central position and I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank susieq99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Hidden away on the upper floors in a grand old building on one of Budapest's more upmarket streets, nobody would guess this little hotel is there above the designer stores, just next to the opera house. It has been beautifully renovated around a central courtyard. We had a room overlooking the street which was quiet when the double windows were closed, if a little stuffy in the unseasonably warm weather. A very large bed was a bonus, as was the lift which avoided carrying luggage up all the stairs. The rooms are deliberately old-fashioned, but very clean and spacious. We loved its charm and seclusion, which recreated the feeling of a bygone age although everything is completely new. Continental breakfast with plenty of fruit, meat and cheese was served in the coffee house downstairs before it opened to the general public. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Beautiful rooms very centrally located next to the opera house within walking distance to most of the major sites. Desk staff were extremely kind and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and the coffee was fantastic. A little odd having to check in on the third floor but that is easy enough to manage. Only downside was the heat in our room was stuck on so we had to keep the window open which meant a lot of street noise. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the opera house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaseBanun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Hotel is well located close to the Opera. Hotel is at 3rd and 4th level but acces is easy.
Rooms have space and are quiet. Peple are very nice to suggest restaurant address or what to do in th city.
No parking
Internet is working well

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 224didierp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Casati Budapest Hotel
#6 of 336 in Budapest
1,295 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 336 in Budapest
1,493 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#37 of 336 in Budapest
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Pest-Buda - Design Boutique Hotel
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#5 of 336 in Budapest
1,542 reviews
12 Revay Hotel
#35 of 336 in Budapest
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callas House

Address: Andrassy ut 20., Budapest 1061, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $151 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Callas House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callas House has a prime downtown location right next to the Hungarian State Opera House on Andrassy Avenue which is Budapest’s finest thoroughfare and center of luxury boutiques, stylish cafes, and restaurants. It was built in 1881 and is classified as a historic architectural monument. On the ground floor, Callas Cafe & Restaurant was brought back to life in 2006 through the interior designs of the world-famous architect, the late David Collins. For the 10th anniversary of its rebirth, the owners have created 25 luxury hotel rooms on the top two floors of the building. The interior design of these was once more executed by the London-based David Collins Studio, the award-winning and market-leading interior architecture practice that has brought to fruition creative and inspirational hospitality, residential and retail projects worldwide. The comfortable, tasteful and classy rooms have been carefully custom designed with natural materials and a touch of Hungarian flair. Its agelessly elegant style combines the architectural and historical glories of the building with the bravura of the designers. Callas House opened its doors in 2016, it is multifaceted and inspiring, which we are very proud of. Our dream to perfection, the unique and intimate guest rooms give a true and unusual experience to all of our guests visiting us. Come and indulge in a real art deco style palace in Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Callas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing