We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,987)
Filter reviews
7,988 results
Traveller rating
2,121
3,322
1,590
617
338
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,121
3,322
1,590
617
338
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thermal baths grand old hotel free entry liberty bridge classic hotel the river art nouveau seen better days hotel guests beautiful building buda side breakfast was excellent excellent location tram stop breakfast room public transport spa
Filter
Updating list...
525 - 530 of 7,988 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2018

I enjoyed my three night stay in this hotel. It was well located right next to a Metro station and two tram line stops. My room was comfortable and excellent value. I thought that the breakfast was excellent as well with a fantastic choice of buffet dishes. I ate in the restaurant and the bistro and both meals were very good. Having a free entry to the spa was welcome and I enjoyed the experience so much that I returned the next evening.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank U4226JGpauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear U4226JGpauld,

I am eternally grateful to you for taking your time and sharing with me your experiences of my hotel! Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

It is amazing to read that you were fascinated by our beautiful location and from here you can get anywhere easily on foot or by public transportation too.
Furthermore, it pleases me to read that you loved your room as it was comfortable, I hope that it managed to provide your perfect comfort during your stay.
Not lastly, I was delighted to read that you were fulfilled with the delicious and plentiful breakfast buffet.

It would be really nice if we could welcome you again in the future, you can be totally sure that we will provide the same, high quality of everything all the time.

Warm regards,
Gellért Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

We have recently spent three days at this lovely hotel and can't wait to return.

The position and easy transport options are excellent, as are the staff, the breakfast, the meals both in the Panorama restaurant and in the Brasserie and the wonderful cake selection on offer in the Coffee Shop.

Entry to the famous thermal baths was included for one visit and if you wanted to use them again, then you only paid half price. The aim of our trip was to relax and so we took full advantage of these facilities. You go straight from your hotel room to the baths without having to go outside and so it's all very easy and relaxing.

We had a standard room and were pleased to have a partial view of the Danube and hill from our window and small balcony.

It's true that the bathroom is old and is in need of updating but we were able to gloss over that because of all the other positive aspects of the hotel. We asked for a kettle and were again pleased to have tea/coffee making facilities in our room.

The staff at reception were polite and helpful at all times and we would like to thank everyone for making our stay an enjoyable one.

We shall return.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank clarajane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear clarajane2,

Wow! What a lovely review! We would like to say a big thank you for writing down your honest opinion about our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are so happy that you chose Danubius Hotel Gellért, we hope that you had a really nice time here and overall in Budapest.
First and foremost, I am pleased with the fact that the location was absolutely to your liking as the tourist sights and great restaurants were within walking distance.
It felt especially amazing that you found this place really comfortable, we strive to do our very best every single day to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible.
Regarding the staff, it is lovely that they could prove their professionalism this as well, I am lucky to be a part of such a talented and hard-working team where the members motivate each other every day.

Last, but not least, it makes me so happy to read that you would like to stay again in our hotel and thank you very much for the recommendation.

Best regards,
Gellért Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

Great welcome by reception staff-a particular thanks to the Liverpool F.C. supporter! Love this hotel. May not be as modern as some but that adds to it’s appeal for us. Easy access to the Gellert baths is a plus. Perfect location. Stayed here several times. Wouldn’t stay anywhere else when in Budapest.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank busta55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear busta55,

The biggest compliment we can get is when our guests return several times to our beautiful hotel, we honestly hope that you will keep this nice habit in the future as well.

We are so proud that we managed to meet the expectations you had concerning Danubius Hotel Gellért, we hope that we could fulfil all your needs during the short time you spent here.
Also, we are grateful for highlighting our thermal bath department, as that is one of the great advantages of staying in our hotel, having direct access to the baths.

Thank you one more time for leaving a feedback about our hotel, we would be honored if we could be you host again during your next visit in Budapest.

Best regards,
Gellért Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Spending a weekend writing songs was a great experince. Delicious breakfast and lunch, spacy lobbies, inpriring architecture and atmosphere, quite a modest room with old furniture. The best spa of the city!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 896jukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Dear 896jukka,

For a start, we would like to express our thankfulness to you for being so kind to share your opinion about our hotel.

It is amazing that our hotel inspired you in writing songs. We are delighted to learn your found every meal delicious. Thank you very much for highlighting the charming atmosphere of our hotel. We are extremely happy you had a great time in our hotel. Our biggest accomplishment is our dear guests’ satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for writing a nice review if our hotel. We hope you will visit us in the near future again.

Warm regards,
Gellért Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

This was an interesting experience but not what I was expecting. The smartly dressed doormen are very polite and lead you through the antiquated reception area.

Pro's:

1) One of the oldest if not THE oldest in Budapest
2) Splendid location overlooking the river
3) One can only imagine the grandeur of this hotel in times gone past.
4) The breakfast is quite good - try to get a table overlooking the river.
5) A small quaint bar on the ground floor. Sadly was empty when I visited at about 8.00 pm.

Con's

1) The rooms let the hotel down. Small and poorly appointed.
2) The bathrooms are out of the 1960's, with external plumbing with cast iron radiators. Plastic sink, olive colored tiles and tangerine and chocolate glazed floor tiles.
3) Not very many electrical sockets although I managed to get an adapter from the Business Centre on the ground floor.
4) Beds have seen better days - overall very tired.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river. Avoid the single rooms unless you don't mind staying in a very small area.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Dear Graham B,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Danubius Hotel Gellért.

We are happy to see that our doormen did a good first impression on you. It is lovely you found the charming old atmosphere of our hotel appealing. Thank you for mentioning not just the beautiful view from our hotel, but also the tasty breakfast we provide. It is regretful you were so disappointed with your room. We are really sorry that we did not meet your expectations in this field. On the other hand, we are glad to learn that your electrical problem was easily solved by our friendly staff. We hope you had a wonderful time all in all.

Thank you once again for your review. Hopefully, we will have the opportunity of hosting you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Gellért Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews